Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very clear...
Looking through the Cross is the Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book for 2014. In the introduction Graham Tomlin writes, `This book is an act of two kinds of looking - looking at and looking through'. In the first two chapters he looks at the cross, first, as the place where God's wisdom is revealed in apparent foolishness and, second, where God heals the wound at the...
Published 6 months ago by M Carlisle

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My judgment
Well worth reading and re-reading during Lent. Through the lens of the Cross it focuses on nine areas: Wisdom, Evil, Power,
Identity, Suffering, Ambition, Failure, Reconciliation and Life.
There is only one, passing, reference to Divine Judgment but that is a teaching avoided by all these days. Our Lord did not shrink from it (sheep and goats, wheat and tares...
Published 4 months ago by emptor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very clear..., 19 Jan 2014
This review is from: Looking Through the Cross: The Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book 2014 (Paperback)
Looking through the Cross is the Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book for 2014. In the introduction Graham Tomlin writes, `This book is an act of two kinds of looking - looking at and looking through'. In the first two chapters he looks at the cross, first, as the place where God's wisdom is revealed in apparent foolishness and, second, where God heals the wound at the heart of creation through an unfathomable act of self-emptying love. The rest of the book is a series of meditations on how our vision might be enlarged as we look through `the lens of the cross' and begin to look at the world with fresh eyes. He explores how the cross affects our perceptions of power, identity, suffering, ambition, failure and reconciliation. The final chapter looks at the significance of our lives in light of the cross and resurrection of Christ.
Tomlin is a very clear writer who weaves together insights from a vast array of sources in order to shed light on the implications of the cross for Christians. He draws on the bible, history, theology, literature and current affairs with a real lightness of touch that does justice to the subject and encourages the reader to take the risk of engaging more deeply Jesus' call to take up our own cross and follow him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read - shame about all the typo's, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well written and cogently argued. Have read it in the run-up to Lent and it has given me some clear ideas about how to focus on some important aspects of my life and faith in this season.

I read it as an e-book and it has been sloppily proof-read somewhere along the line. At points it seemed there was a typo on almost every other page.

Despite this, a really stimulating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking Through the Cross: The Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book 2014 (Paperback)
would appeal to anyone who thinks about Christianity on an intellectual as well as spiritual level. good any time of year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great read, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a thoroughly enjoyable and thought-provoking read. It will make you marvel again at how amazing the cross of Christ is and the many ways in which our lives can be transformed by the work of Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My judgment, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well worth reading and re-reading during Lent. Through the lens of the Cross it focuses on nine areas: Wisdom, Evil, Power,
Identity, Suffering, Ambition, Failure, Reconciliation and Life.
There is only one, passing, reference to Divine Judgment but that is a teaching avoided by all these days. Our Lord did not shrink from it (sheep and goats, wheat and tares etc) and the Scriptures abound in the topic but political correctness trumps orthodoxy!
But for that perceived deficiency it might have had 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and interesting reflections, 27 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. P. G. Mccarthy (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Looking Through the Cross: The Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book 2014 (Paperback)
The strength of Tomlin's book is the sheer level of insight he has into the impact of the Cross for the Christian life. The book is probably important enough to be read at any time (not just Lent). In all our reading it can be easy to forget matters of real importance. This is a book worth mulling over slowly.

The many typos don't really distract, but given the importance of what is under discussion, it would be far better without them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Looking through the Cross, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was attracted to the cover of the book because it is an image of Christ crucified that leaves much to the imagination; like a modern day stained glass window. It seems most appropriate to the title of the book, and definitely helped me to 'look through the lens of the cross'. The introduction highlights the difference between 'looking' and 'seeing' and talks of 'reflection in a mirror' and 'looking through something', and 'through the lens of the cross'. To me these words alone led me to expect quotations and references to St Clare of Assisi's 'mirror mysticism' and her letters to Agnes of Prague. However, this was not to be, but it did not detract from the excitement of the book, which was difficult to put down.
Although the book was intended for Lent study 2014, it is deffinitely a book of all seasons, a book that can be, and should be read any time, and again and again. It can also be dipped into as needed. Tomlin has done a great job.
I strongly recommend the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring books come in small packages, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a great book, not in any simplistic praise, but as a real tribute to the author, and to the contents - I found this a tremendous inspiration during Lent, and shall keep it to re-read in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enlightening and edifying, 13 May 2014
By 
curtis sonny (Grimsby,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking Through the Cross: The Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book 2014 (Paperback)
I found this book very explanatory and inspired when i read. I would recommend to anyone looking for a closer understanding of their faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A different approach to a Lent book, 10 May 2014
By 
B. Bampton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Lent books I've read before either have a session a day or a long session a week. This book broke away from that concept, which at first I liked but then decided was a flaw. i wanted to read it throughout Lent and I couldn't work out how much to read each day. I didn't finish it. There are some very good ideas in it so perhaps I will try again next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Looking Through the Cross: The Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book 2014
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews