Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very clear...
Looking through the Cross is the Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book for 2014. In the introduction Graham Tomlin writes, `This book is an act of two kinds of looking - looking at and looking through'. In the first two chapters he looks at the cross, first, as the place where God's wisdom is revealed in apparent foolishness and, second, where God heals the wound at the...
Published 2 months ago by M Carlisle

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My judgment
Well worth reading and re-reading during Lent. Through the lens of the Cross it focuses on nine areas: Wisdom, Evil, Power,
Identity, Suffering, Ambition, Failure, Reconciliation and Life.
There is only one, passing, reference to Divine Judgment but that is a teaching avoided by all these days. Our Lord did not shrink from it (sheep and goats, wheat and tares...
Published 24 days ago by emptor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very clear..., 19 Jan 2014
This review is from: Looking Through the Cross: The Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book 2014 (Paperback)
Looking through the Cross is the Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book for 2014. In the introduction Graham Tomlin writes, `This book is an act of two kinds of looking - looking at and looking through'. In the first two chapters he looks at the cross, first, as the place where God's wisdom is revealed in apparent foolishness and, second, where God heals the wound at the heart of creation through an unfathomable act of self-emptying love. The rest of the book is a series of meditations on how our vision might be enlarged as we look through `the lens of the cross' and begin to look at the world with fresh eyes. He explores how the cross affects our perceptions of power, identity, suffering, ambition, failure and reconciliation. The final chapter looks at the significance of our lives in light of the cross and resurrection of Christ.
Tomlin is a very clear writer who weaves together insights from a vast array of sources in order to shed light on the implications of the cross for Christians. He draws on the bible, history, theology, literature and current affairs with a real lightness of touch that does justice to the subject and encourages the reader to take the risk of engaging more deeply Jesus' call to take up our own cross and follow him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read - shame about all the typo's, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well written and cogently argued. Have read it in the run-up to Lent and it has given me some clear ideas about how to focus on some important aspects of my life and faith in this season.

I read it as an e-book and it has been sloppily proof-read somewhere along the line. At points it seemed there was a typo on almost every other page.

Despite this, a really stimulating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking Through the Cross: The Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book 2014 (Paperback)
would appeal to anyone who thinks about Christianity on an intellectual as well as spiritual level. good any time of year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great read, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a thoroughly enjoyable and thought-provoking read. It will make you marvel again at how amazing the cross of Christ is and the many ways in which our lives can be transformed by the work of Christ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Controversial or convincing?, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking Through the Cross: The Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book 2014 (Paperback)
Looking through the Cross presents an assessment of how a Christian's perspective on failure, suffering and dealing with evil can be balanced with reconciliation and having life more abundantly, especially when the motivation for Jesus's crucifixion was God's love for our inadequacies. Well researched and clearly written. There is a wonderfully up-beat final chapter which underlines Christ's promise that death ends in life - not the other way round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars worth reading slowly, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent read but only if applied to ones life. It is not a source of information. It is a source of living a new life.
Life does not lead to death. Death leads to life . This everywhere evident and it intrude for us. I commend this book as a means for growth as a person.e
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and engaging, 7 April 2014
By 
Pilgrim (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this a very helpful book, full of insight and depth. But clear and easy to follow. It is an ideal read in the run up to Easter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Led to this book by grace. How it has magnified my understanding of the Christian's role. Fruitful reading for Lent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile Lent Book, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought provoking and challenging invitation to relate the Cross to all aspects of life - a good read and not just for Lent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book good service, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looking Through the Cross: The Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book 2014 (Paperback)
Excellent deal.arrived here 8n good condition and wel lpackaged too-as books always,are from Amazon. I have yet to read it all but so far so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa481ce4)

This product

Looking Through the Cross: The Archbishop of Canterbury's Lent Book 2014
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews