Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Expositions of all aspects of Christianity In Today's World
Rowan Williams takes the questions that trouble the people today in these universal exacting times and applies to them the Christian viewpoint and values. He tackles the problems to social order - or, if you like disorder, the secularism in its varied forms. It is a carefully thought through reply to these problems beginnig from the simple first beliefs in God and the...
Published 15 months ago by Brian Reifer

versus
2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Difficult book to read
I'm afraid that I gave up on this book early early on as it was too difficult to get into
Published 17 months ago by Cynthia Hebden


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Expositions of all aspects of Christianity In Today's World, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faith in the Public Square (Hardcover)
Rowan Williams takes the questions that trouble the people today in these universal exacting times and applies to them the Christian viewpoint and values. He tackles the problems to social order - or, if you like disorder, the secularism in its varied forms. It is a carefully thought through reply to these problems beginnig from the simple first beliefs in God and the Creation and leads on from there.

It is a book that challenges preconceptions.

It is a book for the inquiring mind lost and seeking some solutions to unanswered questions & half spoken beliefs.

Built up through a series of individual chapters; each can be read as a stand alone piece of writing on the issues of today whether they be economics, multiracial societies or the place and need of the Church's influence in government today.

This is the best book of its kind and a necessary document in our time.

In the short time I have possessed it this book has opened my eyes to many aspects of the role of the church and its importance to our daily lives at all levels of the community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars faith in the public square, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faith in the Public Square (Hardcover)
This is a collection of essays and lectures, but it hangs together beautifully. A profound and stirring contribution to public debate by a truly great man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sensible, well-thought through and relevant, 5 Mar 2014
By 
S. Meadows (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faith in the Public Square (Hardcover)
I was aware of the existence of 'Faith in the Public Square' a little while ago, when it seemed to cause a minor stir among some Anglicans but it seems to have little longer-lasting impact. The first thing to note about it, however, is that it’s not a book that Rowan actually set out to write. Instead, it’s a collection of transcripts of various sermons and lectures he gave between June 2002 and February 2012. Much of the vernacular used for a public address has been kept; in fact, I’m not certain how much editing was done to the transcripts at all, apart from the staff at Bloomsbury occasionally omitting spaces whenever they thought italics were most appropriate, something I hope they will correct in any subsequent print runs.

As the title suggests, the book is largely about how issues of faith and religion play out in public life. The lectures have been ordered by theme, rather than by the order in which they were first given, so as to try to give some kind of coherency to discussions on a quite wide variety of topics. The first two parts of the book, which are the longest and, I think it’s fair to say, the most intricate, are about secularism, multiculturalism, pluralism and the different ways these are perceived, coupled with Rowan’s own thoughts about which is the right path to walk down.

If anything though, these chapters could be skipped, as Rowan summarises it all very nicely in the Preface. The rest is more filling in the details. Crucial to this point of view is the distinction between what he refers to as “procedural secularism” and “programmatic secularism”. The former is a stance where no religious (or non-religious) position is given undue privilege in places of public life, such in government or media. The latter is (though Rowan, if I recall from those early chapters correctly, does not use the phrase) “aggressive secularism” – a term that is too often used, more often than not, incorrectly. It denotes the idea that religion ought to have no place in public life; it should be out of sight, out of mind. In so doing, he singles out the French for having this view.

Rowan advocates procedural secularism whilst rejecting programmatic secularism, as well as those who advocate the latter under the guise of the former. Though he does not mention by name the National Secular Society, the inference is all too easy to draw.

After this opening, which I warn you gets a little turgid, the book moves onto the application of religious (though mainly christian) thinking into other areas of public life. i.e. after having advocated that christians be allowed a voice in a liberal democracy, here is what one influential christian has to say on matters of environmentalism, justice, finance and community.

What he has to say is well thought through, effortlessly sensible and immensely thought-provoking. That said, it’s not going to be everyone’s cup of tea. Despite the back cover’s claim that he is “the finest theologian in Britain” there is very little theology here. This more ‘applied’ theology than ‘pure’ theology, to bring in a mathematical analogy. I suppose it is inevitable that the book would appeal to a christian secularist, such as myself, though I would be interested in reading the thoughts of an atheist secularist on the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought and faith provoking, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faith in the Public Square (Hardcover)
A dense read but worth the effort. Some real gems here from a man of great faith. Inspirational work that repays the effort of reading thoughtfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rowan Williams on key issues, 6 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faith in the Public Square (Hardcover)
Rowan Williams brings together a wide range of commentary on a series of key contemporary issues. All of the articles are thoughtful and bring a strong analytical intelligence to matters of concern to all who are seeking the common good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly engaging and intelligent book., 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faith in the Public Square (Hardcover)
This is a book of collected addresses by the former Archbishop of Canterbury, and it raises some very important themes. It is not a pot-boiler of popular hot-button topics, but needs to be read slowly, one chapter at a time and thought about carefully.

I think that it is an excellent book and well worth the investment of time and energy in reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faith in the Public Square (Hardcover)
probably any comment on this book should be considered superfluous. The book speaks for itself and the author is a wise man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well constructed views, 10 Jan 2013
By 
Mrs. A. Kapoor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faith in the Public Square (Hardcover)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading Faith in the Public Square, some of it a bit of a challenge but it was a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faith in the Public square, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have enjoyed this book very much - it downloaded easily as an ebook and was very good value for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Challenging Read, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faith in the Public Square (Hardcover)
I bought three copies as Christmas presents & look forward to reading my husband's copy in the New Year, if I can get my hands on it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Faith in the Public Square
Faith in the Public Square by Rowan Williams (Hardcover - 15 Nov 2005)
16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews