Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book
A very enjoyable book. Its perhaps not the best place to start if a definitive story of Coppi is what you're after. What you get are numerous vintage photographs which roughly follow his career as a cyclist to his death. I particularly enjoyed the mini essays from his team mates - which not only gave their personal insight into Coppi, but also of an Italy pre and post...
Published 17 months ago by Bat Chain Puller

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting angle on the great championissimo
I ordered this book because Coppi was a teenage hero of mine. As the author says, there are countless books & publications about Coppi & the blurb promised something different - which it does in providing the views & experiences of many of the riders around at the time & still living. Interestingly, I learnt a lot about Coppi's great adversary, Bartali from the book who...
Published 16 months ago by Manager Man


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting angle on the great championissimo, 25 Feb 2013
By 
Manager Man (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coppi: Inside the Legend of the Campionissimo (Rouleur) (Hardcover)
I ordered this book because Coppi was a teenage hero of mine. As the author says, there are countless books & publications about Coppi & the blurb promised something different - which it does in providing the views & experiences of many of the riders around at the time & still living. Interestingly, I learnt a lot about Coppi's great adversary, Bartali from the book who is lauded generally for his work in the Italian Resistance during the war but from riders' accounts, seems to have been a skinflint.

Cycling historians or those interested in the Coppi era will find this book interesting but it doesn't provide a gripping read. 'Fallen Angel' by William Fotheringham provides a rounded critique of the great man, if that's what the reader wants
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coppi: Inside the Legend of the Campionissimo (Rouleur) (Hardcover)
A very enjoyable book. Its perhaps not the best place to start if a definitive story of Coppi is what you're after. What you get are numerous vintage photographs which roughly follow his career as a cyclist to his death. I particularly enjoyed the mini essays from his team mates - which not only gave their personal insight into Coppi, but also of an Italy pre and post WWII. In summary, a great book for anyone who has even just a passing interest in Fausto Coppi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coppi by Herbie Sykes, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coppi: Inside the Legend of the Campionissimo (Rouleur) (Hardcover)
This a great gift for any road bike lover.
The cycle legend Fausto Coppi is described through a fabulous collection of photographs which are complimented by way of memories from other cyclists of the era. The photographs also serve as a great snapshot into postwar Italy, the development of the Giro and how cycle gear evolved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift idea, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coppi: Inside the Legend of the Campionissimo (Rouleur) (Hardcover)
Fabulous book - loads of pictures that I've not seen in other books. Really unusual insight from other cyclists of the time. Lovely gift idea as such nice presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coppi by Herbie Sykes, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coppi: Inside the Legend of the Campionissimo (Rouleur) (Hardcover)
This is a fine tribute to one of my boyhood heroes. The book is full of interesting photographs and comments from Coppi's contemporaries. The colour of the title is Bianchi green, the colour of Coppi's bike. This is a coffee table book for enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Coppi books!, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coppi: Inside the Legend of the Campionissimo (Rouleur) (Hardcover)
This is one of the best books on Fausto Coppi with some really wonderful old black and white photographs of him in action. I've read a lot of rubbishy books on Coppi but I found this one really interesting and insightful of the man and his life. Its great to read what other riders of his time thought of him, which is something you don't get from other books on Coppi. As one of my boyhood heroes he was the greatest of them all at the time. I even bought a Bianchi frame when I first started road racing which got quite a lot of envious looks during that period. Thanks for publishing this book even though its a bit pricey. An excellent book to dip into when you have a feeling of nostalgia for the good old days of cycle racing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delighted to own another masterpiece by Herbie Sykes, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coppi: Inside the Legend of the Campionissimo (Rouleur) (Hardcover)
The book is a well thought through work which introduces you to the mortal riders who surrounded the majestic Coppi. In being constructed from sensitive interviews given from a carefully selected ever dwindling pool of Coppi contempories, it paints a very realistic picture of the harshness of the Italian racing scene among the workers. As in his previous works the author has scowered modern Italy to find these aged still lucid old men. The writing is so impressively faithful in carrying to paper the character of the interviewee that when coupled with the wonderful photographs I could almost hear the old boy speaking directly to me in rustic Italian. This book could be described as a " just in time " venture for during the period of time from requesting, setting up and taking the interviews, father time got the better of several potential contributors. In one case the interview was 7/8th completed when a halt was called due to tiredness. His son being so pleased with the way Herbie had coaxed from his dying father the tales of his exciting youth asked if it could still be used. JUST IN TIME. Fausto, from the horses mouth's, comes out as decent sort of chap with one or two exceptions !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Book, 21 Jun 2014
This review is from: Coppi: Inside the Legend of the Campionissimo (Rouleur) (Hardcover)
I cannot recommend this book enough. The photography and layout are superb.
Coppi was never one of the cyclists I was particularly interested in before this book. I was lucky enough to buy it as a return for only 7.50!
Not sure I would pay full price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Coppi, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coppi: Inside the Legend of the Campionissimo (Rouleur) (Hardcover)
Herbie Sykes presents a different perspective on the life story of Coppi by interviewing riders from his era that is also well illustrated with photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coppi: Inside the Legend of the Campionissimo (Rouleur) (Hardcover)
Bought this for my son for Christmas, and he was thrilled with it. The pictures are superb, a lovely 'coffee table ' book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coppi: Inside the Legend of the Campionissimo (Rouleur)
Coppi: Inside the Legend of the Campionissimo (Rouleur) by Herbie Sykes (Hardcover - 8 Nov 2012)
24.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews