Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars67
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:£40.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 June 2014
Up to its usual high quality with the match reviews, opinions, and "cricketers of the year mini-bios ! Invaluable as a reference to catch up on those matches that you couldn't get to last year.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
This was bought for a present, this is always eagerly waited for by my partner, He had been desperate for it to arrive. It came when expected and in good condition. He has enjoyed it as always.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
The annual classic and the only cricket reference book you need. 45 years in a row that I have bought the almanac. I'll need another bookshelf soon.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
good price on a pricey book
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2014
The 151st Wisden and I have a copy (facsimiles of the early issues) of each one. Each year the editor's job gets harder with an increasing amount of cricket, along with the records and the features that have to be fitted into the near 1600 pages. Unfortunately the Test records section which as recently as 2007 season stretched to 141 pages is now restricted to 78.

The most important article in the 2014 almanack is Gideon Haigh's account about the carve-up in world cricket. All the Test matches played in 2013 are detailed. along with the usual coverage of county cricket. and overseas domestic matches. Unfortunately, the excessive amount of one-day and Twenty20 matches covered dilutes the influence of Test cricket.

For the second time the Five Cricketers of the Year features a woman. Charlotte Edwards. Claire Taylor was the first one in 2009. I feel this a mistake. Women's cricket is of a far lower standard than the men's game and it is a misjudgement that one of the five awards is given to a female cricketer. Shane Watson would have been a more worthy inclusion. There could be a separate women Cricketer of the Year award, when appropriate. As in previous years the women's cricket features are scattered around the almanack. rather than featuring in a special section.

Features like the book reviews and obituaries would be better placed at the end of the book rather than towards the beginning.

Therel should always be A Wisden and I look forward to next year's 152nd edition.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
it says what it is, does it brilliantly well
Your service excellent
Paper quality does not appear to be as good this year
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
Since my husband is looking at it at every opportunity I have assumed he is pleased. I did ask and received a very positive reply.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
This book is a must-have for my husband who has been collecting Wisden for many years. The price is very competitive here.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
A good book, as always. Requires reading for the cricket enthusiast at all levels. Spring is only here when Wisden arrives.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2014
I bought this book for my brother for his birthday who loves anything to do with cricket and especailly to do with stats.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Free Wisden Guide, Values & Forum Revamped after 8 years of service