Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 150 Not out
Wisden reaches its one-and-a-half century with the almanack running to 1586 pages, 32 more than the previous year. Part one of the deals with the book's history.

The order of contents is similar to the two previous years, with a full record of all Test played last ytear and a full record of the 2012 county season. The Five Cricketers of the Year are Dale Steyn,...
Published 24 months ago by Trevor Newstead

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Damaged book received in poorly packaged material.
This new book, received with damaged(slightly torn) dust jacket and bruised board end corners. Product despatched wrapped in sellotaped corrugated paper insufficiently substantial to protect the weight of the book whilst in transit.
Return procedure initiated; agreed full refund payment awaited.
Published 18 months ago by ian glover


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 150 Not out, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 (Hardcover)
Wisden reaches its one-and-a-half century with the almanack running to 1586 pages, 32 more than the previous year. Part one of the deals with the book's history.

The order of contents is similar to the two previous years, with a full record of all Test played last ytear and a full record of the 2012 county season. The Five Cricketers of the Year are Dale Steyn, Hashim Amla, Nick Compton, Jacques Kallis and Marlon Samuels. It seems illogical to have the book reviews and the obituaries in the middle rather than the end of the almanack. The women's cricket features would be better in one section rather than odd pages scattered through the book.

One major change from the past is how cricket books are reviewed. When John Arlott was in charge, he looked to say something positive about each submission. This year's reviewer, Guardian journalist John Crace, seems to be more interested in giving a kicking to people he finds dislikeable than giving a considred account of the previous year's publications Freddie Trueman, Geoffrey Boycott and Ian Botham are three of the objects of his criticism and a fourth, Robin Jackman is criticised for living in South Africa, even though his wife comes from that country. It seems that even the Guardian has to have one sexist journalist. One hopes a more positive reviewer will be used next year.

Despite my criticisms, I look forward to the 151st edition next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Chapter Of Cricket, 12 April 2013
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 (Hardcover)
This publication is always eagerly awaited but perhaps more so being its 150th edition. I don't doubt that this will mean more to the fans who have bought before. This time, however, we have not only the worldwide statistics and records but essays of figures and events that have influenced the game. My recollections go back to the 'Fifties' when cricket was politely applauded. The game now has catapaulted into a financial world. Wisden, and its editor, have kept a realistic and objective view of events.

The remarkable expansion of global television coverage started with the Packer era but to my mind the crucial event was the Basil D'Oliveira political storm. I was right behind the MCC, but of course it opened the floodgates for comercialism. These are carried throughought the book. The expansion of technology, corruption, and the popularity of the shorter forms of the game are here including the influential IPL with its auction for players and supernational mass market appeal. There is little written of 20/20 cricket. Attractive to many and if a lead for youngsters into the game, fine, but the nitty-gritty of a 5 day test match still is my thrill.The presentation is first class as are the ingredients. A more than life time joy but send it out before the first ball is bowled in county matches, please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great present for cricket fans, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 (Hardcover)
I had never heard of these books but after googling 'gifts for cricket fans' as I was stuck for a Birthday present I bought this one. It is amazing- it contains loads of reviews, accounts and stories about important cricket events and it's all really well written. I agree the font may be a little small for some, but myself and the guy I bought it for found it fine, and if it was much bigger the book would have to be massive to fit in all the great stuff! It's presented really nicely too.
Was also chuffed to find andy321 selling it for just £30 so placed an order with him. It arrived really quickly and he was kind enough to send an email himself when it was dispatched, in addition to the amazon.com one. There are a couple of tiny bits of damage to the cover, which was a little disappointing, but the person I gave it to didn't notice, and for such a bargain price I can't complain much.
A must buy for any cricket fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cricket bible, 12 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 (Hardcover)
While many people wish for different things from the bible ; wisden is no different. The strength of this annual it covers so many areas in good detail and meets most needs. Like the bible if you want to study in greater depth you need to go to the source. For most people the answers are in the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 150 Not Out! That's a hell of an average, 11 April 2013
By 
Quiverbow (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 (Hardcover)
Some people buy many books over the course of a year; some people buy enough to warrant a decent bookcase whilst others treat themselves a handful of times. There is also another group of people that buy just one publication each year. The time has come when they shut themselves away from the world and indulge in a passion only understood and related to by fellow adherents. Yes, that ultimate reference book is now available: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack. And how ironic. The day Wisden finds its way onto the shelves and whaddya know; it's raining and the start of the second day of the first round of County Championship matches is being delayed. Oh well. At least this way we know the cricket season has actually begun.

The first 54 pages looks back on those 150 years and includes ten moments that Wisden think changed cricket. Surprisingly, the advent of 20/20 isn't one of them, something which beget all other similar competitions, including the IPL. Both the editor (in his notes) and Patrick Collins have a go at Kevin Pietersen's belief that he is the only player that matters. Unfortunately, it seems he doesn't realise his arrogant attitude makes him thoroughly dislikeable, "I gave up the Captaincy for the good of English cricket." I don't think so. More like you realised you couldn't play in the IPL otherwise. For what it's worth, I think the ECB should have told him to get lost. The saddest section of the Almanack is always the obituaries, and this year Tony Greig is honoured with four pages.

Lawrence Booth's second outing as editor shows `the bible' is in capable hands and is the usual high standard you expect (could it be anything but?), containing everything you expect, including something unique (as far as I'm aware). In last years Almanack, readers were asked to submit a piece for inclusion this season and that honour (from 100 entrants, all of whom are name checked) goes to Brian Carpenter, who is given a page for a piece about South Africa. In their wisdom, the competition is to continue next year.

The rest is what you envisage and this can only be given five stars for one reason: you will only buy it if you're a cricket fanatic, and you will never be disappointed. Actually, there is one disappointment for me and it's a continuing gripe of mine; why isn't Wisden published before the start of the domestic season. It's only a matter of ten days or so, so I'm sure it can be done.

Right, I'm off to email the Editor about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good almanack., 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 (Hardcover)
It was good, easy to follow, plenty of interesting articles. It had plenty of international cricket coverage, plus domestic, would like to see minor counties cricket coverage a bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very comprehensive book, 10 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 (Hardcover)
I purchased this book as a birthday present for a relative who is a very keen follower of the sport. I have to admit that I know very little about cricket, but I can say that the book is well laid out with plenty of illustrations and loads of data for the fanatic. A good long read (approx 1500 pages) to keep most occupied for a long time! The book was delivered well before the estimated time and arrived well packaged and in perfect condition, to be recommended for the most ardent cricket fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you're into Wisden, how could this not be 5-star, 18 Dec. 2013
By 
Amazonian Eve (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 (Hardcover)
Got this during the Black Friday week as a Christmas present for my husband. It was reduced to £17.50 from £35, which was greatly reduced already from £50. I would never have paid £50 for it, but I know my husband probably would have done, so I'm happy. I have to be honest and say I don't get the point of Wisden (I am soooo sorry to all the cricket fans out there), but I know it really is a must for any self-respecting cricketer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wisden 2013, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 (Hardcover)
The product, of course, is as I'd expect. The book arrived speedily. My only real quibble is that the packing was not quite tight enough and so movement of the book caused some minor damage (folding over of page corners and a small tear to the dust jacket). The recipient of the gift did not feel he wanted it replaced, but there is a salutary lesson to be learned here about tightening the pack before posting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Annual Pefection, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 (Hardcover)
Each year since 1970, Wisden Cricketers' Almanack has been an essential purpose. It evolves as the game evolves and never fails to deliver. There is little point in giving a detailed review as most people know what to expect. Highlights of this year's edition are mostly related to the 150th anniversary. The 5 Cricketers of the early years prior to it becoming an annual feature was particularly interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013
Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 by Lawrence Booth (Hardcover - 11 April 2013)
£50.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews