Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Chapter Of Cricket
This publication is always eagerly awaited but perhaps more so being its 150th edition. I don't doubt that this will mean more to the fans who have bought before. This time, however, we have not only the worldwide statistics and records but essays of figures and events that have influenced the game. My recollections go back to the 'Fifties' when cricket was politely...
Published 15 months ago by ACB (swansea)

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Damaged book received in poorly packaged material.
This new book, received with damaged(slightly torn) dust jacket and bruised board end corners. Product despatched wrapped in sellotaped corrugated paper insufficiently substantial to protect the weight of the book whilst in transit.
Return procedure initiated; agreed full refund payment awaited.
Published 6 months ago by ian glover


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Chapter Of Cricket, 12 April 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 (Hardcover)
This publication is always eagerly awaited but perhaps more so being its 150th edition. I don't doubt that this will mean more to the fans who have bought before. This time, however, we have not only the worldwide statistics and records but essays of figures and events that have influenced the game. My recollections go back to the 'Fifties' when cricket was politely applauded. The game now has catapaulted into a financial world. Wisden, and its editor, have kept a realistic and objective view of events.

The remarkable expansion of global television coverage started with the Packer era but to my mind the crucial event was the Basil D'Oliveira political storm. I was right behind the MCC, but of course it opened the floodgates for comercialism. These are carried throughought the book. The expansion of technology, corruption, and the popularity of the shorter forms of the game are here including the influential IPL with its auction for players and supernational mass market appeal. There is little written of 20/20 cricket. Attractive to many and if a lead for youngsters into the game, fine, but the nitty-gritty of a 5 day test match still is my thrill.The presentation is first class as are the ingredients. A more than life time joy but send it out before the first ball is bowled in county matches, please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 150 Not out, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 (Hardcover)
Wisden reaches its one-and-a-half century with the almanack running to 1586 pages, 32 more than the previous year. Part one of the deals with the book's history.

The order of contents is similar to the two previous years, with a full record of all Test played last ytear and a full record of the 2012 county season. The Five Cricketers of the Year are Dale Steyn, Hashim Amla, Nick Compton, Jacques Kallis and Marlon Samuels. It seems illogical to have the book reviews and the obituaries in the middle rather than the end of the almanack. The women's cricket features would be better in one section rather than odd pages scattered through the book.

One major change from the past is how cricket books are reviewed. When John Arlott was in charge, he looked to say something positive about each submission. This year's reviewer, Guardian journalist John Crace, seems to be more interested in giving a kicking to people he finds dislikeable than giving a considred account of the previous year's publications Freddie Trueman, Geoffrey Boycott and Ian Botham are three of the objects of his criticism and a fourth, Robin Jackman is criticised for living in South Africa, even though his wife comes from that country. It seems that even the Guardian has to have one sexist journalist. One hopes a more positive reviewer will be used next year.

Despite my criticisms, I look forward to the 151st edition next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cricket bible, 12 Nov 2013
This review is from: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 (Hardcover)
While many people wish for different things from the bible ; wisden is no different. The strength of this annual it covers so many areas in good detail and meets most needs. Like the bible if you want to study in greater depth you need to go to the source. For most people the answers are in the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good almanack., 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 (Hardcover)
It was good, easy to follow, plenty of interesting articles. It had plenty of international cricket coverage, plus domestic, would like to see minor counties cricket coverage a bit more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 150 Not Out! That's a hell of an average, 11 April 2013
By 
Quiverbow (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 (Hardcover)
Some people buy many books over the course of a year; some people buy enough to warrant a decent bookcase whilst others treat themselves a handful of times. There is also another group of people that buy just one publication each year. The time has come when they shut themselves away from the world and indulge in a passion only understood and related to by fellow adherents. Yes, that ultimate reference book is now available: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack. And how ironic. The day Wisden finds its way onto the shelves and whaddya know; it's raining and the start of the second day of the first round of County Championship matches is being delayed. Oh well. At least this way we know the cricket season has actually begun.

The first 54 pages looks back on those 150 years and includes ten moments that Wisden think changed cricket. Surprisingly, the advent of 20/20 isn't one of them, something which beget all other similar competitions, including the IPL. Both the editor (in his notes) and Patrick Collins have a go at Kevin Pietersen's belief that he is the only player that matters. Unfortunately, it seems he doesn't realise his arrogant attitude makes him thoroughly dislikeable, "I gave up the Captaincy for the good of English cricket." I don't think so. More like you realised you couldn't play in the IPL otherwise. For what it's worth, I think the ECB should have told him to get lost. The saddest section of the Almanack is always the obituaries, and this year Tony Greig is honoured with four pages.

Lawrence Booth's second outing as editor shows `the bible' is in capable hands and is the usual high standard you expect (could it be anything but?), containing everything you expect, including something unique (as far as I'm aware). In last years Almanack, readers were asked to submit a piece for inclusion this season and that honour (from 100 entrants, all of whom are name checked) goes to Brian Carpenter, who is given a page for a piece about South Africa. In their wisdom, the competition is to continue next year.

The rest is what you envisage and this can only be given five stars for one reason: you will only buy it if you're a cricket fanatic, and you will never be disappointed. Actually, there is one disappointment for me and it's a continuing gripe of mine; why isn't Wisden published before the start of the domestic season. It's only a matter of ten days or so, so I'm sure it can be done.

Right, I'm off to email the Editor about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wisden, 18 May 2014
By 
Martin Cook "Martin" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 (Hardcover)
This is truly the cricket lovers bible. Nothing more needs to be said. You either love it or hate it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cricket lovely cricket, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 (Hardcover)
what can you say about this BOOK, its for the cricket nut who breaths cricket day and night and travels the world following cricket
full of facts about the game so brilliant for the stats man........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wisden Cricketers'Almanack, 19 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. R. D. R. Scott (Hexham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 (Hardcover)
Bought for grandson, although last year's edition, a great price, dispatched promptly and in excellent condition. All very well pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't go wrong with this if you are a Cricket fan, 26 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. C. R. Blanchard (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 (Hardcover)
This is the Cricketers bible, and this was excellent value for what can be an expensive item, came in good time and was well packaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You Know What You Are Getting, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Anthony M. Knight (Solihull, West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 (Hardcover)
Wisden is nothing but delightfully predictable and this copy is just as good. Anyone who has never read it is missing a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013
Wisden Cricketers' Almanack 2013 by Lawrence Booth (Hardcover - 11 April 2013)
32.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews