Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars369
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2012
For anyone new to birdwatching or just want to know what species you have in your garden this is perfect. It Is informative, colourful and extensive. Great purchase.
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
bought this for my partner, who enjoys the countryside, but never knows what the bird are that he takes photos of!! This is small and pocket size - with good categories in the front to help identify British birds. It gives descriptions of appearance and call, shows where they are generally found, and what they can be mistaken for. perfect for country walks and basic bird watching.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
The illustrations are very detailed, which include male, female and juvenile descriptions of the particular bird you want to identify.
Full of information on where to go and what time of year you are most likely to see different species. Easy to use format. Small enough to slip in a pocket or leave in the car. Great book for anybody who, like me, wanted to identify birds visiting my garden, and when I'm out and about. Reasonable price.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2012
This is a very good book allowing you to put a name to all the common garden birds that may visit your garden. Well worth the money paid for it.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
I bought this book as I have alot of different birds coming to my garden to use the feeders and water tables. Since it arrived a few days ago I have seen fourteen different types of bird on my garden and six of them I didn't know what they where.

Each page has alot of information on each species from the size of the bird to what they look like in flight. Each page also has between three and five highly detailed pictures of the birds showing patterns and colours aswell as the differance between male and female aswell as any seasonal changes.

Aswell as useful information on habitat,voice etc it also has a little mini map showing you the best places to see the birds it also has a great little feature named Confusion Species which tells you which other birds you might confuse them with.

I was watching a bird which I thought was a sparrow with a strange pattern when it turned out to be a female Chaffinch. The Confusion Species reads 'Female and immature are sparrow-like, but plain upperparts, pale wing-bars, pale outer tail feathers and greenish rump distinctive.'
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Super little reference book, great in a backpack for being out and about. Well laid out and illustrated. Definitely recommended.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
Just right for a backpack, and contains as much information as the larger version of the book. A great product.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
Bought this as a gift, already have one myself but it is so good felt have to share my joy
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
If you want a reference guide to take with you when out twitching can recommend this one. The colour plates aren't bad & shows the birds in flight as well as variations in plumage for M/F & seasonal variations. A bargain at £4.49 !!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
Yes, for a small carry around book, I would recomend it. To be a little bit critical, I have seen better illustrations in bird books, and would rather have paid a little more for better pics. Info was good delivery ect….can't fault
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)