Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Very Good...A Must Read For All Endurance Athletes
I have read a lot of triathlon training literature and consider myself pretty knowledgeable. This is the first book I've read that comes anywhere near looking at strength and conditioning with the same level of thought and insight that goes into the rest of my training. Personally I found it very easy to read and I've already started to incorporate some of the ideas into...
Published 22 months ago by Greg Howard

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not enough to build a strength and conditioning programme around
The book contains some good information. Unfortunately, there is not enough information to allow you to prepare your own strength and conditioning programme. While there are a large number of reasonably well described exercises in the book, there is limited advice on how to fit them into a training programme. For example, while warning about the overuse of circuit...
Published 3 months ago by C. Chute


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Very Good...A Must Read For All Endurance Athletes, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strength and Conditioning for Triathlon: The 4th Discipline (Paperback)
I have read a lot of triathlon training literature and consider myself pretty knowledgeable. This is the first book I've read that comes anywhere near looking at strength and conditioning with the same level of thought and insight that goes into the rest of my training. Personally I found it very easy to read and I've already started to incorporate some of the ideas into my training. Highly recommended for any endurance athlete who wants to get better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have...!, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strength and Conditioning for Triathlon: The 4th Discipline (Paperback)
Easily the best book available to guide Triathletes through their strength and conditioning! Well written, easy to understand with clear diagrams and pictures, it has made a huge difference to the way I train and probably been the biggest factor in my improved splits and strength in the later stages of events. It's probably not coincidence that my various injuries(knee, hip and back) have also settled down. Given what I've spent on bike parts to shave valuable seconds of my splits this book is great value for money and a truly must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strength and Conditioning for Triathlon: The 4th Discipline (Paperback)
A very detailed and up to date summation of the best training methods for Triathletes. I was very impressed, excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must For Triathletes and Involved Coaches, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strength and Conditioning for Triathlon: The 4th Discipline (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book that details the application of an effective strength and conditioning programme based on a detailed needs analysis of the sport and its sub disciplines in a clear and easy to understand format.
A must for coaches and athletes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb guide, 26 Mar 2013
This review is from: Strength and Conditioning for Triathlon: The 4th Discipline (Paperback)
Superb guide that makes difficult training concepts accessible and properly sets out the benefits a well designed S&C programme can bring to your triathlon training
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars READ IT!!!!!!!, 4 Jan 2014
I actually do triathlons and would recomend this from strangers to the sport to pros. a must read for all people interested.ENJOY!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for enduranc athletes and asprining coaches, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strength and Conditioning for Triathlon: The 4th Discipline (Paperback)
Bought this book after a hearing about Mark on a podcast. Really helped me to become a better coach and athlete. Read it from cover to cover in about 5 days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not enough to build a strength and conditioning programme around, 17 Sep 2014
By 
C. Chute (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strength and Conditioning for Triathlon: The 4th Discipline (Paperback)
The book contains some good information. Unfortunately, there is not enough information to allow you to prepare your own strength and conditioning programme. While there are a large number of reasonably well described exercises in the book, there is limited advice on how to fit them into a training programme. For example, while warning about the overuse of circuit training, the author fails to give enough information to make use of any other type of training. While it is true to say that each individual is different, if no example training plans are offered, there really is not much to work with. There is also no advice on nutrition in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome book for triathletes, 25 Jun 2013
By 
ManchesterMonkey (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strength and Conditioning for Triathlon: The 4th Discipline (Paperback)
I've already read this book from cover to cover, and used a number of the exercises. The information is well laid out and explained without being too simplistic or complex. I have a much better appreciation of how a dedicated S&C regime can help my overall training.

The only thing I would have wanted more of would be running drills and exercises

As ever, I now want to learn even more. A good introductory book which I'd recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very useful, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed the book and have added many of the exercises to my workouts. Seeing more improvements since adding exercises
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Strength and Conditioning for Triathlon: The 4th Discipline
Strength and Conditioning for Triathlon: The 4th Discipline by Mark Jarvis (Paperback - 14 Feb 2013)
£14.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews