Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2013
I bought this to replace the 1982 version I had, which I have used almost every day since I got it, but which is now literally disintegrating, (despite my efforts with the Selotape over the years,) as it has been used so regularly. The new version is of course even better, with more comprehensive lists and also some new categories. I am very much enjoying finding my way around this new book and discovering the new features it contains. I have always regarded my original purchase as one of the best book buys I have ever made. It contains such a wealth of easily accessible information, which I have used during the process setting Trivia Quiz questions, as well as for the more usual everyday crossword solving purpose. I am sure that this new book will more than compensate for the demise of my old 'friend'.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2012
I purchased this book but when it arrived I thought this is not what I wanted, then I sat down and scaned though it and what every home should have, this book is great all you want to know in one book thank you
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
I had a copy of this book that I bought 20yrs ago and it was falling to pieces. I bought this hoping it would have been updated and indeed it has. I use it for helping to solve crosswords but it goes much further than that and, when I was setting a quiz for a family quiz this Christmas I was able to use it to find the answers! Very very useful
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
excellent it has everything you could ask for in it, not just a solver but a mind of information, i`m so impressed with it
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
I bought this book to replace an older Book of Lists by the same author which has served me very well but has become outdated. The Lists part of this new book is absolutely fine and I'm sure will be very useful. However, be advised that the Solver section, which takes up approx half the considerable thickness of the book, is just an alphabetical list of words arranged by increasing length. This is probably the least useful format for actual crossword solving – I already have other Solvers which highlight various other letters apart from the first one in each word – this more closely reflects the real situation you find in solving a crossword. I suspect I'll hardly ever use the second half of this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
I am really pleased with this book, originally I was just looking for a thesaurus and came across this on my search. What a lucky find! Not just for crosswords this is an excellent source of info...listings from Nobel winners to Kings and Queens. I will now be ordering more copies for friends and family!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
Bought this - really looking forward to out-shining my wife at crosswords. Unfortunately, weeks later, I still have not fathomed how to use the Kindle version.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
Have previously bought an earlier edition,and needed to update. Have given to friends as Christmas presents who also like various quizzes and puzzles
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
Easy to read and find the information you require. Crosswords can be oblique and this book gives puzzlers a lot of help.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
As usual book info brilliant so useful if like me you cannot spell properly and understand all the very new modern words,texting computing and such. we old ones need help sometimes.....80 Odd years is a long time to recall everythingSo a big thank you Amazon for making things possible through your organisation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)