Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Inspiration
This was an Impulse buy for me, but one I am very happy with. It goes way beyond the usual "1000 poses" type of book, and actually explains some of the thought process, ideas and impressions that certain poses give. As if that wasn't enough it is full of great high quality professional images covering the whole spectrum of posing situations.

and for £15 you...
Published on 15 Oct. 2012 by dai

versus
0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok But not brilliant
There was a book, sadly now out of print, published many years ago on this topic by Focal Press which was much more useful.
Published on 4 Mar. 2013 by Browser


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Inspiration, 15 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographing Models: 1000 Poses: A Practical Sourcebook for Aspiring and Professional Photographers (Hardcover)
This was an Impulse buy for me, but one I am very happy with. It goes way beyond the usual "1000 poses" type of book, and actually explains some of the thought process, ideas and impressions that certain poses give. As if that wasn't enough it is full of great high quality professional images covering the whole spectrum of posing situations.

and for £15 you can not fail to gain inspiration. This may not suit the professional, but for an enthusiastic studio photographer it is a great purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good - but not perfect, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographing Models: 1000 Poses: A Practical Sourcebook for Aspiring and Professional Photographers (Hardcover)
I think the problem with this book, and books like it, is it is at fault by it's very nature of trying to do and show so much. I think 30% of the poses are perhaps redundant - if that had been removed but the book left the same size, so more detail put in, it would have been better. The author, Eliot, you start off really liking, but by the end you realise he isn't as good as some of the contributors, and his work is a little flat - which is a shame as there's a lot of his work in here. He says his shoots are for jobs, but they look like they've been done for this book, and been done a little on the cheap. Yes they show the poses well, but the lighting is a little uninspiring, which goes against some of the poses - they might work better had the lighting been better. All that said, if you need some inspiration for a model shoot, chances are the pose you need will be here or will help you find it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photographing Models, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographing Models: 1000 Poses: A Practical Sourcebook for Aspiring and Professional Photographers (Hardcover)
I have wondered about ordering this book for months as I was unable to find any advertiser who allowed you to 'Have a Look Inside'. Then I found it was out of print, and going into print for a second time. I reasoned it must be good, And it is.
There are many styles of posing addressed, and some have small diagrams of the lighting used. In other cases whole pages show how important even small changes in the basic pose can make a tremendous difference in the final outcome. It is a book to show to aspiring models or family, when discussing possible poses. A book I am thoroughly pleased I ordered, and my only regret - not to have ordered in earlier !
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy addition, 18 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographing Models: 1000 Poses: A Practical Sourcebook for Aspiring and Professional Photographers (Hardcover)
I don't know what I was expecting from this book when I purchased it, maybe a few ideas of how to pose and direct models? It is so much more, firstly the quality, it is a solid decent sized hardback with over 300 pages, with as claimed a 1,000 poses. The photography is excellent, the writing simple to follow with reasons for and why certain poses work and with which clothing (e.g. great with jeans, model can use pockets to help position hands). The first chapter covers Technical knowhow and covers such things as camera angles, lighting, hair & make up and Digital correction and processing in lightroom etc. The remaining chapters cover various poses and gives examples of professional photographers examples such as Adam Goodwin & Elliot Siegel. A worthy addition to anyone interested in fashion, photography or human portraiture, at a great price too, I know mine will see me inspired for a few years and a book i will come back to time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying, 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographing Models: 1000 Poses: A Practical Sourcebook for Aspiring and Professional Photographers (Hardcover)
One of the better books i've purchased to join my collection. It's a quality hardback manual, loaded with good advise & pictures of poses to inspire you. I't's jam packed with very easy reading text to explain the why's & do's of posing etc, with occasional tips on camera settings & so on. It's a book you can pick up from any page & it'll help you to get that perfect shot with ease. It's improved my studio work ten fold so i'd recommend this book to even a pro, because even so called pro's get things wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good source of reference, 11 Mar. 2013
By 
Kevin H Thomas (Swansea, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographing Models: 1000 Poses: A Practical Sourcebook for Aspiring and Professional Photographers (Hardcover)
A great book full of ideas that you can use and chnage to suit your sot.
Very useful as well on a shoot when your trying to get the shots you want by showing the model what you are after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographing Models: 1000 Poses: A Practical Sourcebook for Aspiring and Professional Photographers (Hardcover)
This book is a really good read. I didn't know what I was going to get but not only does it give images of a variety of poses but a good deal of text and advice or what is good and what is not. It also gives some information on best lighting and what type of photography it goes with. It is full of inspiration and at a great price for it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish it was not so heavy, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographing Models: 1000 Poses: A Practical Sourcebook for Aspiring and Professional Photographers (Hardcover)
Every photographer and aspiring model should buy one of these books. I am not sure if there is a different version in the US but the UK one is excellent value. I often use with models and fashion designers as a starting point. Take a pose and amend it to make it your own. If you shoot people and buy only one book I would buy this one....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great on young females, nothing on males and older females, 6 Feb. 2014
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographing Models: 1000 Poses: A Practical Sourcebook for Aspiring and Professional Photographers (Hardcover)
Photographing Models offers technical insight into 1,000 poses for young female models with good general background on camera angle and lighting. It has nothing for photographing male models or older female models.

Subtitled 'the complete resource for any photographer seeking the best choice of poses', this is really a book of highly professional advice for non-professionals, and is geared for people who want to arrange model shoots with non-professional models when neither the photographer nor the model does this for a living, and where the aim is to create a shot of 'a model looking like a model', which generally means fashion or magazine cover modelling.

It has some value as a source book of poses for the professional, but the complete lack of attention to male models and older models means that it is not complete enough to be useful as a handbook. This is underlined by the section on processing, which is confined to Lightroom and does not acknowledge Capture One Pro or even Photoshop, although the screen shots in the next section are Photoshop.

All that said, it is very good at what it does, introducing the beginner to lighting and camera angles quite succinctly, giving some basic tips on post-processing, and then providing a series of well-explained, beautifully shot pictures of beautiful girls looking beautiful, with an emphasis on how the posing is accomplished.

Although catalogue work is an important staple for the working photographer, this book really only covers a corner of the work that someone shooting models professionally is interested in. Unless you are selling fashion products, very few of these poses will work in the bread and butter world of local and regional advertising. If you are already shooting national and international campaigns, this book is unlikely to tell you anything you don't already know.

Great, but only 1/4 of what it might be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book that is not just 'basics', 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographing Models: 1000 Poses: A Practical Sourcebook for Aspiring and Professional Photographers (Hardcover)
This hardcover book is nice enough to use as a coffee table book, even though it isn't. Lots of theory mixed with practical examples, makes this book a must for photographers that are getting into model/fashion photography.

Why is it missing the last star, then? Well, I personally find the layout slightly confusing. Boxes of text are scatterede around the pages. Some people like that layout. I don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews