Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, well written
Gives a great insight into the Indian cricket gambling market and is particularly enlightening on the subject of the match-fixing trial centred around the 2010 Lord's test. Well-researched and well written, somewhat frustratingly the author doesn't (or can't) name names but cricket fans will enjoy.
Published 21 months ago by GB's mum

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring
An awful lot of bluster, no real facts, more a documentary on the Indian betting market. Could barely finish it.
Published 4 months ago by Darren


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, well written, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gives a great insight into the Indian cricket gambling market and is particularly enlightening on the subject of the match-fixing trial centred around the 2010 Lord's test. Well-researched and well written, somewhat frustratingly the author doesn't (or can't) name names but cricket fans will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Troubling reading for cricket fans, 20 Aug 2014
By 
M. V. Clarke (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is a troubling yet engrossing book for any cricket fan. Hawkins explores the mysterious world of illegal gambling on cricket in India, presenting a picture of an organised, trust-based system that is far removed from stereotypes, and perhaps the more worrying for it. He deals with match fixing, focusing closely on Pakistan and their world cup semi final against India. Once again, popular perceptions are shown to be false, and the complexity of the problem is clearly highlighted. The ICC's ACSU comes in for some justified criticism, and this book indicates that cricket has a lot of investiagtive work to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pinch of salt needed but a great book nonetheless, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book after reading the review in The Cricketer magazine. I didn't know what to expect and am not a gambler myself. I quickly realised that this is a book written with gamblers in mind, but I loved it anyway, perhaps because of my interest in stats. Hawkins allows you to see first hand how easy it is for a player to be corrupted, without even knowing it themselves, and has an intriguing twist on the Pakistan spot-fixing case in London. You won't find any hard and fast incriminating facts in here that should have players trotting off to jail, and you must take many of the conversations he has with a pinch of salt given the line of work of the people he is speaking with, but it kept me gripped from start to finish and is now going around my office being read by everyone else. They have all found it equally enthralling. The book explains the process of the illegal betting industry in India, and also looks at the people working in cricket to try and rid it of any corruption. I'd like to see a follow up in a couple of years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An awful lot of bluster, no real facts, more a documentary on the Indian betting market. Could barely finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bookie Gambler Fixer Spy: A Journey to the Heart of Cricket's Underworld (Paperback)
We bought this book for our son for Christmas and he absolutely loved it. We'll be looking out for other books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Will change the way you watch cricket forever, 18 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The back cover blurb for Bookie Gambler Fixer Spy boasts that the reader 'might never again watch a cricket match without suspicion'. For once, the back cover blurb is not exaggerating. This is a detailed, brave and balanced exploration of corruption in cricket, mainly focused on India's illegal betting markets. Highly recommended for anyone who loves cricket or who is interested in organised crime.

One complaint - do we really need to be told four times that former ACSU general manager Ravi Sawani admitted to not knowing what a 'bracket' was during the Southwark spot-fixing trial? Surely once would have been enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book - truly unputdownable!, 19 Jun 2013
I took this book on holiday and couldn't put it down. It is a brilliant insight into the other side of cricket - not sure I will ever be able to watch cricket without suspecting someone of 'influencing' the result. It's a real 10 out of 10 read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Insight, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this on the spur of the moment having read an article in a newspaper that contained excerpts of the book. I wasn't disappointed, a great read and very interesting to get insight in to the reality of Indian illegal betting and match fixing versus what has been talked about in the press.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Stuff, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book reads like a thriller, with a travel story flavour, and just a hint of the maths behind the betting industry. I couldn't put it down.

I am a cricket fan, which no doubt added to my interest, but I'm not a gambler and some of the intricacies of the betting markets went over my head. No matter, it doesn't detract from the thrill of it. If you are into cricket and/or gambling you simply have to read this.

If you aren't a fan of either there's a good chance you'll be gripped by it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for those of us that like a bet on cricket matches, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author has travelled the breadth of india meeting up with his twitter cricket betting contacts and manages to get meetings with some high profile but decidedly dodgy individuals. I found the book very interesting but was saddened by the extent to which bracket fixing and match fixing goes on. I got burned recently when betting on Pakistan who were cruising effortlessly to win a third ODI v India only to somehow end up losing. This book explains why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bookie Gambler Fixer Spy: A Journey to the Heart of Cricket's Underworld
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews