Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating - great stocking filler for your bloke this Christmas!
Really enjoying this book. If you are interested in both business and football (which is a reasonably common combination!) I think you'll find it a fascinating take on the normally rather hidden world of football management. The book draws heavily on extensive quotes from recent candid interviews between the author (Mike Carson) and many world class football managers,...
Published 16 months ago by Jon C

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only a quarter of the book is worth reading.....
The rest is true waffle.

It's written like a student who is desperate to furfil their word count on an assingment.

Some parts are great, but those parts are the manager's own words. The rest is just someone re-iterating that point and then repeating themselves again and again.

A poor book.
Published 8 months ago by S. J. Williamson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a waste of fantastic material ..., 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Manager: Inside the Minds of Football's Leaders (Hardcover)
This book promises so much, and truly on the face of it offers exactly what your average footie fan would most like to know.

But sadly in my view it places Mike Carson and his views and analysis at the forefront, and all these much more interesting managers well in the background. The approach of cobbling together quotes from assorted people and a bit of desk research to support management theory feels very laboured and, to me, offers very little insight. It looks clever, it feels like it ought to be clever, but actually I'm afraid I don't think it is. Maybe it's just me and I'm not smart enough to get the point.

I'm not usually this negative and there are some other fantastic footie books out there: inverting the pyramid, soccernomics. Any chance of the LMA handing the interview material to someone else so that it can be presented in chapters for each manager? That's how we would really learn what they think ... would be so much more interesting this way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Only a partial success, 21 July 2014
By 
R. H. Yule "Bob Yule" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Manager: Inside the Minds of Football's Leaders (Hardcover)
There is some good material in this book, in the form of various anecdotes and quotations from the managers themselves. Clearly a lot of hard work has gone into this.

Unfortunately, Mike Carson's attempt to parcel these insights up into a structured theory of good football management is only intermittently successful, and can be quite tedious. It might well have worked better had he analysed the approach of each manager one by one, rather than attempt to use their quotations to illustrate a theoretical point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Leadership in Football, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clearly written and a helpful addition to the many books on leadership out there. Carson has done an excellent job and he uses examples from a wider range of managers than one would initially expect. What emerges is that the sheer strength of the manager's personality and his willingness to 'stick to his guns' really matters even in the modern age. Football may represent a more traditional model of leadership with everyone showing great deference to 'the gaffer' but Carson also highlights that the managers are still willing to innovate and find new ways of going about their near impossible jobs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Manager: Inside the Minds of Football's Leaders (Hardcover)
An excellent read for any football fan, but also worth having on any management shelf as there are. Some great lessons to be taken for any business leaders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Repeats itself a bit and drags out some aspects. Good initial insight into football management. Interesting read, but not all the way through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Class, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book that reveals the realities of coaching and managing football at the elite level in the modern game. It illustrates how the game is changing and how management and leadership must evolve with the changes. The interviewees have all achieved success at the top and this book reveals why. A must for a young aspiring Coach
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and Informative, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book which I found both informative and educational in terms of really understanding what goes on behind the public face of football management at the top level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars purchased as a gift, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Manager: Inside the Minds of Football's Leaders (Hardcover)
This item was purchased as a gift so I cannot comment on it other than to say it arrived promptly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GReat book, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Manager: Inside the Minds of Football's Leaders (Hardcover)
Its a very interesting read and has got my brother back in to readin g after years of no time for books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inside the minds of football's leaders, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this was a thoroughly exciting insight into the minds of those most under pressure in the modern game, the ups the downs, the highs and lows of being a football manager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Manager: Inside the Minds of Football's Leaders
The Manager: Inside the Minds of Football's Leaders by Mike Carson (Hardcover - 29 Aug 2013)
£12.87
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews