Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating - great stocking filler for your bloke this Christmas!
Really enjoying this book. If you are interested in both business and football (which is a reasonably common combination!) I think you'll find it a fascinating take on the normally rather hidden world of football management. The book draws heavily on extensive quotes from recent candid interviews between the author (Mike Carson) and many world class football managers,...
Published 15 months ago by Jon C

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only a quarter of the book is worth reading.....
The rest is true waffle.

It's written like a student who is desperate to furfil their word count on an assingment.

Some parts are great, but those parts are the manager's own words. The rest is just someone re-iterating that point and then repeating themselves again and again.

A poor book.
Published 8 months ago by S. J. Williamson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating - great stocking filler for your bloke this Christmas!, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Manager: Inside the Minds of Football's Leaders (Hardcover)
Really enjoying this book. If you are interested in both business and football (which is a reasonably common combination!) I think you'll find it a fascinating take on the normally rather hidden world of football management. The book draws heavily on extensive quotes from recent candid interviews between the author (Mike Carson) and many world class football managers, which are interesting in themselves (amazing how he managed to get access to them all!). Mike then does a good job of drawing out "management themes", which have various parallels with the regular challenges in day-to-day business that we all face, helping making the whole topic accessible and bedded in reality for us the fans. Wouldn't surprise me if it ended up in a number of blokes' Christmas stockings this year ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and logical insight into the world of football management, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Manager: Inside the Minds of Football's Leaders (Hardcover)
As a football coach myself I was eager to get my teeth into this book and I was not disappointed.

First off the organisation and structure of the book is fantastic, each chapter leads onto the next in a logical order and is easy to follow. Each of these chapters are packed with in depth and rich information about the world of management from a number of world renowned managers such as Jose Mourinho, Sir Alex Ferguson, Arsene Wenger and Carlo Ancelotti.

The book offers no jargon, instead all information is specific but easy to follow. The book is broken into 5 sections with 2-3 chapters (based on a specific manager) within those sections.

The chapters themselves offer fantastic insight with invaluable reflections from each manager of certain situations they have faced and how they were overcome.

This book is a must buy for anyone interested in sport business, sport coaching or just a behind the scenes look at some of their favourite managers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only a quarter of the book is worth reading....., 19 April 2014
This review is from: The Manager: Inside the Minds of Football's Leaders (Hardcover)
The rest is true waffle.

It's written like a student who is desperate to furfil their word count on an assingment.

Some parts are great, but those parts are the manager's own words. The rest is just someone re-iterating that point and then repeating themselves again and again.

A poor book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What makes our favourite footie managers tick?, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Manager: Inside the Minds of Football's Leaders (Hardcover)
A gripping read, not only to hear how as individual characters they react under the unique kind of pressures modern football managers face, but also in drawing out leadership themes that help us all operate, whether as the manager of a big team, as a stand alone employee, or even managing our own family team in our households!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love football and i take a big interest in educating myself on managers and tactics and trying to gain and understanding of as much as i can. This book is clearly for people that have just found football or have no idea. This does not give you an insight into the mid of the managers, talks about how some managers find it important to have people he trust working with him etc, well thank you thats obvious. This book is more about some bloke writing for the sake of it, any quotes from managers are found elsewhere easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not the kind of treatment you often see CEO's or senior leaders of companies like M&S being subjected to outside of an AGM, 13 Dec 2014
As I write this review Arsene Winger has recently been in the news after being lambasted by peeved off fans at a train station, not the kind of treatment you often see CEO's or senior leaders of companies like M&S being subjected to outside of an AGM. This is what has always fascinated me about football managers -how they go about their business under the intense glare of the media with their futures dependent on extremely short term outcomes measures like how well they have done over a few months, or even weeks.

Having read this book I emerged with a bit more insight.

The author's approach was to interview 30 football managers and glean nuggets of information relating to football management, so the book has chapters on:

The scale of the task, creating a winning environment , delivering results, personal leadership and 'great challenges'. Each of these themes have sub-sections dominated by one manager in particular. So when it comes to handling "outrageous talent" who better to speak to than Jose Mourinho?

Overall this makes for a really interesting read. What is not surprising is how many of the tips are lessons that can be applied in almost any leadership setting. It seems the techniques wherever you go are pretty much identical, it's just that football is exceptional with its ultra short term expectations which makes for a football managers ultra-short professional life expectancy.

At the end I came away with a bit more insight into football management and I think a lot more sympathy for likes of Wenger and Moyes et al.
Some of the material is redundant and repetitive and some of the managers don't seem to be exemplars of good leadership unless you're looking to learn from their mistakes, but all in all a pretty interesting read.

Who will like it?

Football fans.
Those interested in management and leadership of any sort.

Who may dislike it?

Some with a lot of knowledge on this topic as it may be deemed superficial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top 'business book'!, 4 Nov 2014
By 
This book will resonate with anyone engaged in leadership that is even remotely curious about football; as well as anyone engaged in football, that is even remotely curious about leadership. Right from the kick-off, truth and sincerity ooze from the pages and the result is a compelling read.

The quotes are relentless and broad ranging. Their context is meticulously well considered, giving a balanced and thoughtful account from start to finish and I found the whole book completely inspiring. The wide use of quotations however does not align this book with the wealth of 'footy biographies', so many of them so often quoted for their salacious gossip as to 'who slagged who'!

The Manager sets itself apart from such gossip fodder - focussing entirely upon the positive and the productive. Far from a 'Best of the Biogs', The Manager, I'm sure would be more at home on the shelf with any of the top notch business books on 'leadership'. In my career I have spent a fair amount of time exploring leadership development in practice and I have always enjoyed that time well spent. In The Manager I found, page after page teaming with familiar lessons and echoes of real life experiences from my own (non-sport related) business.

To conclude, in choosing to favour the positive line and highlight the pro-active side of football management, I reckon that the book develops its own strength. In this vein the generous use of direct quotations promotes the theme of humility above all things. In keeping with the fundamental message from the contributors...The Manager thus positions itself amongst the best and most inspiring of 'proper business books'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I purchased this book at the Amazon discount price, ..., 27 Oct 2014
By 
Adam Samuel (Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this book at the Amazon discount price, and it proved to be a bargain. As football spectators and supporters, we are reliant on post match interviews or skewed media stories and reports for our information. Yet, clearly, there is a lot more to football management than meets the eye.

“Managers” is the word generally banded about to describe the likes of Ferguson, Mourinho, Wenger, Ancelotti and co but Mike Carson through his extensive research and interviews with numerous managers of the ‘great game’ demonstrates how they are in fact more akin to leaders.

It is the behind the scenes insights and little gems of information that made this book a captivating read for me – partly one of the reasons why it only took me a couple of days to finish. For example, Fergie’s encyclopedic knowledge of the game that was an inspiration to his fellow peers and players of the game. David Moyes pursuit of professional development, travelling around France on a limited budget, occasionally sleeping in his car in order to observe some international training sessions. Harry Redknapp pouring his heart and soul into everything he does both football and family.

The book is not an ode to the stars of the game . It is balanced and unbiased, attributing time to a myriad of individuals rather than just focusing on those running the top teams.

It also deals with peritinent issues in an informative and measured way. For example, how has technology affected and enhanced the game? How have managers dealt with this change?

After reading this book you will be under no illusions that the day to day job of these ‘leaders’ entails picking the team on match day and leading a few training sessions. Carson shows how there is not a once size fit’s all. Each of these leaders is an individual. Their success can’t be bottled and sold but is the result of oodles of passion, resilience, vision, knowledge but perhaps most importantly, their awareness and acceptance of their own vulnerability in favour of the team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a football fan don't bother getting this. If you are into management speak and thinking outside the box and then ticking that and other boxes get it. It's a bit misleadingly marketed as its a corporate management bloke who has a lot of ideas about management and then he picks quotes from football managers to back himself up. Thus, there is no great insight, it gets quite tedious and the things they say are pretty bland like 'If you are stressed, you need to be able to handle the pressure'. Deep...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant business read, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best books I have ever read providing a fascinating insight to football management & how the same principles can be applied to other business management & leadership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Manager: Inside the Minds of Football's Leaders
The Manager: Inside the Minds of Football's Leaders by Mike Carson (Hardcover - 29 Aug 2013)
£12.87
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews