Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing after only 9.79 seconds
Ever since my January 2012 pre-order for this book, I have found myself counting down the days to finally read about the sporting moment that transfixed me as a young lad. I have read many sports biographies over the years and never anticipated one as much as this. Over 20 years on, the 1988 Olympics men's 100m final and the aftermath are as resonant as ever, so it was...
Published on 12 Jun 2012 by SportsBioFan

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A nice reading but...
... the author falls a bit short when reporting some important facts. Overall it is an interesting reading, filled with anecdotes and profiles of people involved in the arguably most famous rivalry in the history of track and field. The background of Carl Lewis is mainly an extrapolation of Sports Illustrated articles from the '80s and the Ben Johnson's one is sourced...
Published 7 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dirtiest Race in History: Ben Johnson, Carl Lewis and the 1988 Olympic 100m Final (Wisden Sports Writing) (Paperback)
Great book, well written a real insight into the dirty world of past drug cheating athletes, really makes you think who is NOT on performance enhancing drugs, is it going on today, you can bet your bottom dollar it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling read, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dirtiest Race in History: Ben Johnson, Carl Lewis and the 1988 Olympic 100m Final (Wisden Sports Writing) (Paperback)
For me the 1988 was my first real Olympics - I was 16 at the time and although I recall both 1980 and 1984 well they were both marred by the USA and Soviet boycotts. 1988 had the world there for the first time in 12 years and I lapped it up. The 100m was and is the Blue Ribbon event and after the worlds in Italy and Johnson's world record everyone was watching Seoul. Before reading the book, it was the aftermath I recall more than the race itself but this brilliant book brings it all back.

The book isn't about pointing out drug cheats, that's too simple (and let's face it that is what tabloid newspapers do). It does a lot more, it documents the reasoning, the attitudes, the beliefs that some coaches and athletes didn't class what they where doing a cheating. It also touches on the need of the sports authorities to have winners and their willingness to turn a blind eye.

I came away from the book actually quite liking Ben Johnson; a juxtaposed position because I hate cheating and anything underhand.

If you love sport read this book, fascinating stuff.

(I was fortune to meet the author Richard Moore a few weeks ago. He is extremely interesting to talk too and a thoroughly nice guy.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 13 Nov 2013
By 
G. Thomas (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dirtiest Race in History: Ben Johnson, Carl Lewis and the 1988 Olympic 100m Final (Wisden Sports Writing) (Paperback)
Fascinating and interesting read. A lot more to the race than I realised. Shame he wasn't able to interview Lewis at length but it adds to the mystery surrounding him. Good book, would definitely recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating insight ., 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting read which may have ruined my childhood memories of athletics. This book opened my eyes to what was going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliant book, even for those like me with a passing interest In athletics without any active involvement with track and field. Would strongly recommend the book to anyone fond of sport and good writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dirtiest Race in History: Ben Johnson, Carl Lewis and the 1988 Olympic 100m Final (Wisden Sports Writing) (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyed another of Moore's books. Well written, insightful, clearly done his research. Always like the way he takes a subject and steps the reader through the personal stories behind the big event. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome and believable account of a fascinating clandestine era of sport

Truly a must read for anyone even vaguely interested in sport
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 31 Oct 2013
By 
M. Pink - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very well written book about one of the greatest moments in Olympic history. As a 12 year-old I wondered how Johnson had managed to run so fast and why his eyes looked yellow, days later the truth came out. Drug use was so common place in athletics that it needed this high profile moment to raise the profile to breaking point in the media, cheats should never prosper...
However in Johnson's case its not totally black and white and only 2 of the 100m 88 field were never caught taking drugs in their careers at some..level and point. Really enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dirtiest Race in History: Ben Johnson, Carl Lewis and the 1988 Olympic 100m Final (Wisden Sports Writing) (Paperback)
Just finished the Dirtiest Race in History, in spite of the fact that most of the facts are already in the public domain this book grips and takes you inside the minds of the main protagonists.People like Calvin Smith have the spotlight shone on them and it was fascinating to learn about Joe Douglas, the shadowy mentor to Carl Lewis, who seemed to exert great and sometimes undue influence in his career.Carl Lewis comes across as a selfish and evasive figure whilst the writer evokes a degree of sympathy when it comes to the sad figure of Ben Johnson. As Calvin Smith says of himself, he should have won the gold medal, with the exception of Robson Da Silva, the rest of the field had failed drug tests of one type or another.Highly recommended and you don't need to know anything about athletics to enjoy this book as its really all about the personalities involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very topical now too!, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read. You realise how little the public really knows of the how widespread is the use of drugs in sport
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews