Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgive me for repeating my comments about earlier editions!
I am a product of the pre-CSE, pre GCSE `Sec Mod' era which provided no formal qualifications whatsoever - not even a certificate of education. So, when I sat down to write my first book in 1985, people laughed. I was serving in the army at the time and when the work was published, one senior officer actually said "By what right do you seek to write a book about Scuba...
Published 23 months ago by Ned Middleton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful..
Helpful for what you need it for..as a good reference book or require data or information about publishing articles or books.
Published 15 months ago by Christine Gallacher


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgive me for repeating my comments about earlier editions!, 10 Nov 2012
By 
Ned Middleton (British professional underwater photo-journalist & author) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2013 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
I am a product of the pre-CSE, pre GCSE `Sec Mod' era which provided no formal qualifications whatsoever - not even a certificate of education. So, when I sat down to write my first book in 1985, people laughed. I was serving in the army at the time and when the work was published, one senior officer actually said "By what right do you seek to write a book about Scuba Diving?" Today, my articles have been published all over the world, my 3rd book sold over 30,000 copies and my 4th was voted "Underwater Publication of the Year!" I am now working on my first work of fiction.

YOU can do the same if YOUR drive to write is strong enough. And if it is, you should laugh in the face of opposition

That said, we all need some help and, having read this review, you should ask yourself a single question; `Can I afford to be without a copy of this book?'

This work is not just a collection of addresses for various book publishers and magazine editors. Instead, it contains almost everything you might need to know when contemplating writing for very different categories such as; Newspapers, Magazines, Books, Poetry, TV, Film, Radio and Theatre. The advice given and lists of outlets in each of those areas is then followed by sections on; Literary Agents, Art & Illustration, Societies, Prizes and Festivals, Online, Resources, Copyright & Libel and Finance. Altogether, the wide ranging degree of helpful advice covers almost every element of the publishing world.

Only this week I learned that if your manuscript is not presented correctly (A4 paper, double spaced typing with a 3mm margin all round) prospective publishers are not even likely to read it. Why? Because they get so many and they really do not have time. In other words, these people are saying "Do it my way and I may get around to reading it but, irritate me, and I can't be bothered!"

As a further example of how this book works, if, like me, you write books aimed at the scuba diver, there is no point in submitting your work to a publisher who concentrates solely on, say, religious architecture (or whatever). You get the point - and save a lot of time, heartache and unnecessary postage into the bargain!

Nobody in the world knows all there is to know about the complicated subject of publishing. This book, however, will give the writer - especially the aspiring writer (and artist!) the widest possible appreciation. Had I been in possession of a copy in 1985, my own road ahead would have been so much smoother - really!

Now ask yourself that question!

And good luck.

NM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Writers and Artists Yearbook 2013, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2013 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
Superb guide for any writer including novels, biography, poetry, and playwrighting with excellent advice on how to approach agents and publishers. A must for aspiring writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book that shows you're serious about being a writer., 5 Sep 2012
By 
S. BOSTON (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2013 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
If you are thinking about buying this book, then you are serious about becoming a published writer. It really is as simple as that. This is your very first step to making your dream a reality. And you can make your dreams come true with this book. You only have to read some of the articles written by successful authors to know that, just like you, they started their careers with this book. They dreamed, just like you, they wrote, just like you, and they bought this book, just like you. They made it happen. And if you are buying this book, you can make it happen too.

This book is as important to the would be author as a good idea, tenacity and a word processor. Not only does it give you the addresess that you need, it also gives you articles from published authors that inspire you to keep going. Sometimes we forget that published writers have struggled the way that we do. This book encourages, explains and helps put everything in perspective. It's also a no nonsense advice centre for anyone brave enough and determined enough to change their life and become a professional writer.

The fact that you are considering buying this book shows just how serious you are about getting published. You've got a great idea and you want to share it with the world. The next step is to get your work read by the people that matter. That's where this book is invaluable. It offers addresses of all the agents and publishers you need, along with the really important information such as: Who is prepared to accept unsolicited manuscripts. Who is looking for your type of book. And literary consultants who can help you improve your work.

It's also a great book for anyone interested in freelance journalism. There are lists of magazines and newspapers who are all currently looking for new and experienced writers to fill their publications with well written articles. There are television, film and production companies that are interested in reading your scripts. And even website addresses for people who want to see their work online.

There really is something for everyone in this book.

Everytime you open it up, there is something new to learn.

So, if you are serious about getting published, and you obviously are, congratulations on buying this book. I'll see you at your first book signing.

Good luck!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great For Aspiring Authors, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2013 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
This book gives aspiring writers everything they need to crack the business. Addresses, phone numbers, email addresses, connections to agents, websites, magazines, publishing companies, etc. It has it all. On top of that, in between all of the information, are sections of advice, written by published authors. So if you want to get published, just read the advice, take it on board, then contact the relevant person from the lists of agents/publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It depends what you need, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2013 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
The Writers and Artists Yearbook has long been the standard reference work for all those involved in writing and publishing. It would be churlish to criticise it when it clearly provides a unique and valuable service. It is interesting though to see how the focus is always so much on the writing of fiction - the assumption that what everyone is writing is a novel. I write poetry and I wanted to learn more about the process and feasability of having my work published. The space devoted to poetry is very small and the comments, while quite truthful, are not greatly motivating. They could be sumarised as "If you're not already famous, forget it." I appreciate, sadly, that in this country most people buy very little, if any, poetry and that they tend to stick to a few famous names, often preferring rhyming verse. However I would have felt I had got a little more value for my money if more attention had been spared for aspiring poets. All that said, this book remains the unchallenged authority on writing and getting published. If you're a hopeful too, I wish you well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Writers and Artists Yearbook - We take old friends as they are..., 5 Dec 2012
By 
Onlooker (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2013 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
I almost quarrelled with the very first words in the new edition - the ancient Writers and Artist Yearbook running theme of the horrendous difficulties of becoming a writer and the impossibility of getting an agent. Or being a "writah" as it is expressed in breathless tones on the BBC phonies services.

Truth is, I sold my first short story on first offer-out in 1952, and the same with my first article. Since then I have produced every kind of writing there is, with the exception of professional stage, and even became involved in that as a 'helper'. No, I am not world-famous, and it is by no means all I did to survive financially all these years, but no amount of words ever threw me either. Having also been editor and publisher, I frankly would not want to have to start again, dealing with the many pretentious, frequently obnoxious and clueless 'executives' who now infest publishing and the media.

Truly, there once was a time when Publishers could be fine, helpful, supportive, honourable gentlemen who cared about fine writing, and published material that was impeccably checked for accuracy. Read any recent books without infantile errors in them lately? I would still back the people behind the Writers and Artists Yearbook to care enough to get such things right, even today.

My main hatred and contempt for the successors to those traditional Publishers and Editors lies in the way they have used electronic production to kill off the careers and livelihoods of superb illustrators all a thousand times more creative than they will ever be.

Not long ago a Doctor who yearns to write asked me what I write: I told him that since I would not necessarily bother at all nowadays, I reply not in the 'art and beautieh' mentality so derided by the iconoclastic and incomparable Jack Woodford down the years, (his books are still readily available on Amazon and I think i have most of them) but in pro. writing terms: "What do you want; how many words, by when, what are you paying?' (Not necessarily in that order.)

But, look; I do not need the money; I do not need the creep element in the 21st Century media. Could I write and sell something immediately if I so chose? Of course I could! Any true 'pro' can.

Getting an agent: Impossible? Sorry; but the truth is that I was accepted immediately by a very senior and prestigious New York agent on the strength of early published work. She did not even require sight of the stuff. American 'can-do' applied; their British equivalents now hold endless meetings to 'discuss', it seems to me. That was admittedly half a Century ago, so how it is now I would not know - but the 'impossibility' sentences seem to be set in stone in the Writers and Artists Yearbook. To be fair to the folk at the Yearbook, they probably collide with far more of the new mobsters than I ever shall.

Why then buy the new 2013 edition ? Because it can be invaluable, that's why. No individual can possible research and update all the mass of information and advice it contains. I do not myself now know how the new breed of pretentious decision makers want the stuff presented before they will deign to read it. I DO know that The Old Pals Act, and the Cosy Little Friends Circuit, seem to operate as never before. And I do know how beginners and amateurs (the most insulting word I know, that) stumble and fall over frankly silly doubts about layout and technicalities...

What I will get out of my new 2013 copy delivered this day by Amazon courier, I do not yet know. Heck; I bought a Roget's Thesaurus and some style/usage books about the time of the Boer War, and never needed any of them. But I will say without hesitation that to produce the Yearbook, in such depth and quality, at the Amazon asking price, is a superhuman effort of dedication by people who know! Care, even! And since one commercial sale should more than cover the price, and the secret of writing is, and always was, W R I T E, why deprive yourself of all that mass of knowledge?

And no; I am not airing this comment under any of the various pen-names I have used down the years. Nil desperandum still applies. And if Nil Ilegitibus carborundum ever applied anywhere, it does more so in this context than in almost any other racket I know - and that is many. I wish you luck in trying to check that dog-Latin spelling, because the 'nice' little people who compile reference books do not seem to approve of the phrase. More likely, exemplify it.

By contrast, the Writers and Artists Yearbook can be a true friend in your corner as you seek to punch it out with the pretentious and the obnoxious. Perhaps you CAN write - it is a stone cold certainty that THEY, and Lecturers in Literature, cannot. I am told that is a great loss to Mankind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2013 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
Reliable source of information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book for any writer, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2013 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
this is a fantastic book full of everything a must buy for all you writers out there :) xxxx i am definitely buying the next one and at a great price xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always dependable, 3 May 2014
By 
A. Jones (Ashtead Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2013 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
This is indispensable for anyone in the arts and especially for a writer or actor. It doesn't ensure that anyone will respond to your approach, but it helps you plan your contacts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any serious or budding writer, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2013 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
Packed with useful information, this book has all the addresses and the inspiration you will need to start writing commercially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2013 (Writers' and Artists')
The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2013 (Writers' and Artists') by Www Writersandartists Co Uk (Paperback - 5 July 2012)
£13.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews