Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for beginners, well thought out, 24 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Self Sufficiency Manual: A Complete, Practical Guide to Living Off the Land (Paperback)
When I chose a book about becoming self-sufficient, I expected a gardening guide. I got so much more. Right from the word go, the book talks about land, showing how much you will need to be truly self-sufficient, but also making the point that you can grown fruit and veg using pots and hanging baskets.

Not only does this cover the basics of gardening, planting your own veg, and which plants grow well together, it also covers how to use plants as a natural pest control. It has also has a section on the seasons, informing the reader of what they should be doing at certain times of the year - not just planting which seeds / bulbs, but also with regards to general garden maintenance.

As well as gardening and growing your own fruit and veg, it also covers livestock - pigs, goats, chickens, and fowl mainly. But it covers all the bases, with information on how to care for the animals, and the legalities of keeping livestock, moving them, and having them slaughtered.

Since you're growing your own food, you need to know how to harvest, preserve, and store them. This book gives you good advice on how to store vegetables correctly, and how to create jams, chutneys, wines, and ciders.

The final part of the book covers energy. I have to admit skimming over this, as it wasn't something that I'm looking at right now. But, it does cover solar power, heating, and water - something that I will be going back to once we have bought someone a little larger!

Overall this is a great, modern book that anyone considering self-sufficiency should invest in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Life you can live, 25 Nov 2011
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Self Sufficiency Manual: A Complete, Practical Guide to Living Off the Land (Paperback)
If you have ever been tempted by The Good Life, here's your chance to find out what it's all about and go and live your dream. This book will help you establish a successful smallholding or realise the true potential of your existing garden plot. Used efficiently, this book claims that even a well-maintained tiny back yard can produce enough food to see you self-sufficient. I wholeheartedly agree with that as I have done it myself at one time. All the essentials are here for planning your small, no matter what the size. Planning, preparation and cultivation are dealt with in detail. Keeping animals and foraging. This is a lovely book for anyone who wants to escape the rat race and really grow and rear their own food. I like it. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book!, 15 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Self Sufficiency Manual: A Complete, Practical Guide to Living Off the Land (Paperback)
This book is a must for anyone out there interested in exploring a more sustainable self-sufficient lifestyle. It will encourage you to take the first steps, guide you with simple instructions and inspire you through creative ideas. I have no hesitation in recommending this book to anyone.. whether you are just starting out or well along the self sufficiency pathway you will thoroughly enjoy reading it and I bet within weeks you too will have multiple projects planned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is an absolutely fantastic book. It covers all the topics you are ..., 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Self Sufficiency Manual: A Complete, Practical Guide to Living Off the Land (Paperback)
This is an absolutely fantastic book. It covers all the topics you are ever likely to need to know in a really practical way. Everything from the best place to site a greenhouse to which authorities you need to contact if you ever want to keep a pig.
It is very well written with very few wasted words. Unlike some other books on the topic, Alison Candlin is not relying on any celebrity status to give credibility to her book but relies on pure content and presentation.

Having recently moved from the town to the country, I have not yet found a subject I need to read up on, which is not covered in her book.
Brilliant !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, loaded with great advice and information for ..., 4 Oct 2014
By 
Mrs M J Hunt (Uttoxeter, Staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Self Sufficiency Manual: A Complete, Practical Guide to Living Off the Land (Paperback)
Excellent book, loaded with great advice and information for anyone wishing to grow anything at all, from parskey on a window ledge to pigs on a smallholding.
Woukd recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Self Sufficiency Manual: A Complete, Practical Guide to Living Off the Land (Paperback)
Christmas present for someone interested in self sufficiency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love it, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Self Sufficiency Manual: A Complete, Practical Guide to Living Off the Land (Paperback)
Everything you could want to inspire or dream about the good life. Very informative and interesting to read. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Self Sufficiency Manual: A Complete, Practical Guide to Living Off the Land (Paperback)
Bought this as a present for my brother who wants to become more self sufficient . He likes it. Came quickly and with good packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars self sefficiency, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Self Sufficiency Manual: A Complete, Practical Guide to Living Off the Land (Paperback)
great book with some great tips and advice on self sufficiency helped me to deside on what to do with my life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Self Sufficiency Manual: A Complete, Practical Guide to Living Off the Land
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews