Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic !The guide to gemstone settings is a gem!, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guide to Gemstone Settings: Styles and Techniques (Paperback)
This book is amazing, I have been studying jewellery for about five years now and have never come across such a comprehensive enjoyable book as this one - and I have MANY books! Thanks again Amazon. The stone section is not only informative, it gives similar stones - so , you read about the qualities of an emerald for instance, she lists everything you need to know, and then list stones that closely resemble emeralds! I was ripped off with an emerald that was not an emerald, so I value this information. CAD is explained, settings of every type are detailed but easy to follow, with great tips. There are loads of design ideas and cold connections as well as soldered ones. I am VERY glad I bought this book. The photos and drawings are very clear. I think I'm in heaven xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, 5 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guide to Gemstone Settings: Styles and Techniques (Paperback)
This book is truly fantastic - clear explanations, great step-by-step guides, and inspiring. This book shows you all the standard gem setting techniques, but also goes further to showcase & teach more creative settings or settings that use different techniques from the norm. Each setting is explained in a variety of ways including a step-by-step guide, examples of various artists' work, explanations of gems & metals best suited to this setting, great images showing various stages, and 'cross section' diagrams (which were particularly helpful). There's also a full list of gemstones & their properties, and a tools list. This book is great for someone with limited gem setting knowledge as well as those with more advanced knowledge.
My only slight negative would be that the images of the pave setting aren't as clear as other images in the book, and I found the explanation a little hard to understand - though this is one of the most difficult settings so I know it couldn't be a totally in-depth explanation.
Otherwise, a totally amazing book that I would highly recommend! Really pleased I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 4 May 2012
By 
J. Neufeld (Europr) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guide to Gemstone Settings: Styles and Techniques (Paperback)
Really well made book. Helpfull for design and for making jewellery. It provides ideas to stone setting and has step by step puctures which is excellent. Besides that it also lists tools and how to use them,which are needed for stone setting & juwellery making which is fantastic for beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well written sourcebook for the keen amateur, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book to be a wonderful resource for anyone interested in jewellery making and looking to experiment with gemstone settings. Like other silversmithing publications it has a comprehensive section on tools and a very useful section on gemstones which I found helpful.
I would say that most of the techniques are somewhat advanced and if you are starting out in jewellery making there are other more helpful books but in saying that the descriptions are easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 22 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guide to Gemstone Settings: Styles and Techniques (Paperback)
THe book gives detailed instructions on how to do it in an excellent way for all settings you have dreamt about and a few you never would have thought about.
The working instructions are in steps , with photos and easy to understand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars practical yet nor boring, 30 April 2012
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Guide to Gemstone Settings: Styles and Techniques (Paperback)
With excellent examples of all styles of work, this book is a complete practical guide to using gemstones on any metal setting. A whole range of styles from traditional to contemporary are shown. Even if you are a beginner, all the techniques are amply demonstrated with step-by-step instructions. There is also an illustrated glossary. This is a wonderfully inspiring book with fine examples of work. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guide to Gemstone Settings: Styles and Techniques (Paperback)
Ms Young has produced a really helpful and informative book useful for both beginners and advanced metal workers/jewellers.
Great photos, explanations, easily understandable and I would recommend this book to any jewellery students and also for those of us who may need a little inspiration from time to time. Great reference book to keep nearby your workbench.
Total thumbs up! ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable, 1 July 2013
This review is from: The Guide to Gemstone Settings: Styles and Techniques (Paperback)
We have many jewellery books on our shelves but Anastasia's books are often the first point of reference when seeking in depth assistance on how to approach new techniques. This is another classic, an essential reference for the workshop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very welcome book to my library., 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Guide to Gemstone Settings: Styles and Techniques (Paperback)
This book helped me design and make my first setting for some earrings I had to make for a new customer.
It has lots of pictures that show what is supposed to be going on, very helpful.
I now have a few books in my workshop written by Anastasia Young, a very helpful addition to my workshop library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brilliant book, lots of good ideas for projects to help me learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Guide to Gemstone Settings: Styles and Techniques
The Guide to Gemstone Settings: Styles and Techniques by Anastasia Young (Paperback - 12 April 2012)
Used & New from: 75.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews