Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best start with this book ...., 7 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: Guide to Beekeeping (BBKA Guides) (Paperback)
There is a fascination with bees currently with many turning to keeping bees as the perfect antidote to the stresses and strains of life. I am a beekeeper of seven years and it is an immensely rewarding hobby. The thing I like most about this book is that is genuinely useful and I think a good starting point for anyone thinking of taking it up. There are a few new, what I call 'fluffy' books about beekeeping out there but for the most practical of interests you need a book with meaningful content. And this has it in spades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good first book, 19 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. J. Horsfall (sheffield, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guide to Beekeeping (BBKA Guides) (Paperback)
Having read a few starter bee books and looked at a few more, this is amongst the better. It is up to date (ie has lots of info on bee disease), and is well produced (lots of nice photos). There are a few typo's that need correcting before the second edition, but these are few. It covers all the areas you'll need to know about in your first year or two of beekeeping.

It is a very good book for a starter beekeeper, but should be supplemented with a course and reading some of the FERA information on bee diseases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good well illustrated guide, 6 Nov 2012
By 
P. Ryder (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Beekeeping (BBKA Guides) (Paperback)
endorsed by the BBKA (British bee keepers association) it is a very good guide if you are just starting to keep bees, want to find out more before you decide if bee-keeping is for you, addresses a number of FAQ's and also helps to brush up on your existing knowledge. It is a good reference work and the illustrations are generally informative and well produced. An ideal bee book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Guide, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Beekeeping (BBKA Guides) (Paperback)
I know from experience that there are many books that are offered on this subject but this is very good and I will lend it to other beekeepers. As ever delivered promptly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding beginners book, 4 April 2014
By 
David (Stockbridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Beekeeping (BBKA Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent book, clearly explained and full of information. Everything is laid out well and a good range covered. Perfect for a beginner like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best beginners guides I've encountered., 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Beekeeping (BBKA Guides) (Paperback)
Well written with clear up to date advice on beekeeping. Wether you are a complete beginner or an improver, this guide is the perfect companion to help you with your beekeeping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but a bit dry, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Beekeeping (BBKA Guides) (Paperback)
This book is OK though there is nothing unique about it. Other books I bought either offer more deep knowledge or written with good sense of humour which makes it easier to read. We are in our beginning at bee-keeping with 4 hives and I am going to take Basic examination course at BBKA - this is the only reason I bought this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BBKA Book, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Beekeeping (BBKA Guides) (Paperback)
This book is the only one endorsed by the BBKA, and gives a comprehensive guide to Bee Keeping, Excellent.value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top book, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Beekeeping (BBKA Guides) (Paperback)
A good all round book on bee keeping.If you only want to buy one book buy this one.It is new and up to date and very helpfull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent gift., 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guide to Beekeeping (BBKA Guides) (Paperback)
You can't go wrong with a BBKA guide and if you're a beekeeper, you should be a member - even if you're thinking about it. This is an excellent guide for starting and continuing with bee husbandry with lots of information including a section on diseases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guide to Beekeeping (BBKA Guides)
Guide to Beekeeping (BBKA Guides) by Roger Cullum-Kenyon (Paperback - 16 Aug 2012)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews