Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good all-rounder
I gave this rating to the book because, although it focuses on a small group of subjects, it does explore these very well. The book starts at the beginning of the process and step by step, works it's way through the different stages to the end. Each stage is artistically repressented with illustrations as well as helpful text so that the student can compare their...
Published 18 months ago by Barbara Payne

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Basic basics
A very basic guide to Botanical Illustration, too much detail on paper & materials and not enough instruction on actual drawing and painting.
Published 17 months ago by Christmas Carol


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good all-rounder, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Botanical Illustration: The First Ten Lessons (Paperback)
I gave this rating to the book because, although it focuses on a small group of subjects, it does explore these very well. The book starts at the beginning of the process and step by step, works it's way through the different stages to the end. Each stage is artistically repressented with illustrations as well as helpful text so that the student can compare their progress with the author's.
Teaching in this way not only gives experience to the learner but also makes them realise there is no hurry to get to the last stage but that they can achieve small goals first, with practice.
Botanical illustration touches on all the things a botanical illustrator would want and need to know to produce fine work but is also all about relaxing and enjoying the subject. - what I would call a good all-rounder. It will be a book that i refer to over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to botanical art, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Botanical Illustration: The First Ten Lessons (Paperback)
I've given this book four stars as it is clearly presented and would be an ideal book for a person starting out in botanical art or who wanted to go over the basics again. There are many books on botanical art with stunning pictures of plants and flowers but they assume a huge amount of experience and competence already.

It is presented as the title says as a series of lessons and I liked that format as each lesson can be worked through. They are very clear and detailed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful botanicals, 16 Nov 2012
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Botanical Illustration: The First Ten Lessons (Paperback)
Learn all about the basics of botanical illustration with this professional guide. It's like having a teacher by your side. This book tells you all about the equipment you need and how to prepare yourself to approach a painting or illustration. It talks about composition, flower structure and perspective. Before you start, you may need to trace an image, which is also dealt with. The lessons are: accurate drawing, leaf, apple, mushrooms, onion pencil study, michaelmas daisy in pen and ink, Cosmos, foliage, berries and an orchid. In each one, you are building up your skills. Each section includes excellent text to guide you accompanied by step by step photos and a critical assessment. It covers a wide range of subjects and should give the reader a thorough background and enable them to tackle projects of their own. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's gardening website
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring book for any artist., 24 April 2014
By 
Lacetune (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Botanical Illustration: The First Ten Lessons (Paperback)
I have given this book a high rating because it is inspiring. The author has presented some fresh approaches to drawing and painting which I found challenging and helpful. I believe if you do the groundwork you will improve your abilities in this area. I also like the fact that the book is not used as a showcase of skilled artwork which would put me off trying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really good starter book, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Botanical Illustration: The First Ten Lessons (Paperback)
Wow so stacked with info will give me a great start to my new interest of botanical painting, being a long way from any personal tuition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Botanical Illustration: The First Ten Lessons (Paperback)
I think it is good value for money - interesting and helpful. I will try to follow the exercises closely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Basic basics, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Botanical Illustration: The First Ten Lessons (Paperback)
A very basic guide to Botanical Illustration, too much detail on paper & materials and not enough instruction on actual drawing and painting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Botanical Illustration: The First Ten Lessons (Paperback)
Arrived on time, essential read for beginner in botanical painting and drawing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bove books reviwed, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Botanical Illustration: The First Ten Lessons (Paperback)
golden age of flowers rather disappointing for £130 lovely quality but could have been a bit more of it.
bot illustration good as it does exactly what it says on the tin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Botanical Illustration: The First Ten Lessons
Botanical Illustration: The First Ten Lessons by Valerie C. Price (Paperback - 8 Nov 2012)
£15.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews