Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars46
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2012
This is an excellent first book of birds for children to find out the names of the birds they are looking at as it is very clear
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2012
Bought for my granddaughter, aged 6. Good clear illustrations and type easily read, with good identification points. However, it is unlikely that she will see a puffin (etc) in our inland, countryside setting, or her home (suburban)garden. Selection of birds otherwise good for starters. Good value for money.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
Bought it for a young family who just moved over from Canada.
Pictures are very good Text informative but simple enough for kids.
they love it
Very good as they are home schooling so helps with observational skills, recording skills etc.
I would reccomend it to get your young ones interested.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
I was looking for a picture book for a very young granddaughter rather than a field guide but thought "first book" might be something that she could grow into over the next few years when she starts to read.
As a book it is OK but I question "first book".
It starts by saying "Birds are everywhere" but not all of the 35 are everywhere and some that seem to be everywhere are missing from this book. No Jackdaw or Rook but Crow, Jay and Magpie from Corvids are listed! No Dunnock to compare to House Sparrow. Buzzard seems a bit ridiculous placed as 4th bird listed.
Of 35 birds included I might expect her to see 8 for certain in our garden when she visits and may be another 5 as occasional visitors so this appears to be a book for a child who intends pursuing birdwatching across all habitats.
For me, on that basis it is not an introduction to birds themselves.
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
These books are the perfect gifts for children aged three years to about nine. Just the right size with simple descriptive text and beautiful pictures. Would highly recommend any of the books in this series of First Books of ... Well worth five stars!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
Fab book, got this and the tree one, spend ages looking out conservatory window spotting different birds and trees, my daughter loves it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
Very nice book. Very easy to understand. Excellent for children who are just starting to learn about birds (or adults).Short description,bright colours.
In the back of the book there are few pages with pictures of all birds from the book and basicly you,or a child can test yourself of how many birds you can find in your garden or the park,and you can tick the box next to that birds picture. I thought that was excellent idea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
This book has beautiful colour pictures of many common birds. There is enough information on each page to interest a beginner. My 3 year old grandson loves it. He's already marked the birds he's seen on the tick-box page at the back, but still loves looking at the pictures. Was delivered quickly and is very reasonable priced. Also bought the "Mammals" version. There are others in the series, which I will also buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2016
This really is a first birder book. Some surprising omissions and the order is very odd. No Red Kite which is one of the most obvious birds over much of the western Home Counties. Suggest you supplement with I Spy Birds to add the excitement of collecting points and it has a bigger selection for travelling birders.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2016
This is perfect has a lovely list of birds for a young bird spotter. My son loves it and loves the checklist in the back so he can tick off the different birds he has seen. The words are in a good size clear font so it is easy for my son to read independently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse