Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars31
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£17.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 2006
As a relatively new convert to digital - I switched from film 12 months ago, I have struggled to find a "how to" book that gives the information I need without the jargon and an assumed knowledge that so many authors think you have. I need look no further, this book is quite excellent in explaining concisely and simply what can at times be a confusing and daunting subject, Tipling is an excellent teacher. The author passes on his hard won experiences, not least in the picture captions which are a mine of information, and what about those pictures, simply stunning! The chapters on processing a raw image and photoshop work hit exactly the right chord, giving the basics and explaining just how each tool can be used. In conclusion a beautifully produced book that works both as a manual and collection of sumptuous images.
0Comment|94 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2008
If you are looking for a comprehensive and easy to understand book on digital wildlife photography look no further. I have a couple of other books by this author, not only is his photography ahead of the field but he can write too. Whether you are reasonably experienced with the digital workflow or picking up a digital camera for the first time, this book is a mine of information that is easily understood and very accessible.

The chapters on RAW workflow were particularly helpful to me and have been written so they won't go out of date in a hurry. The artistry in the pictures is fantastic and the book is worth buying for those alone.
0Comment|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2009
I've not read any of his books before but would read more now. This book is great for the beginner it goes through all the steps for the digital wildlife photographer or (wannabe photographers!).. It goes from taking them to editing, storing and printing.

The pictures are great, he's been to some great places but he also tells you about steps you can do at home e.g using nuts to tame birds/squirrels and little bits of field craft to get closer to the animals/birds. The explainations of the various stages are written well and I highly recommend this book to the beginner (for instruction) and maybe for the accomplished photographer just for the pictures alone.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2010
This is an excellent book for both ambitious photographers who have recently acquired a DSLR and also for intermediates+ who have a fairly good grounding but have gaps in their experience. A little more information on the equipment and settings used would have raised the four stars to five stars. It's not only a good read but a useful reference book.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2009
Excellent book on wildlife photography. Goes into some detail about processing the raw data which is useful. Great pics and some good basic photographic information.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2010
This book gave me a clear idea about how to approach the subject, without going into too much technical jargon. Well written and sensibly sectioned, so one can 'dip in and out' as one wishes. Recommend it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2009
Superb book with many hints and tips on how to capture the "right" shot. Highly recommended - this book will give you inspiration and know how to go that extra mile!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought this book as a present for my husband who was just starting digital photography. He thought it was a terrific book and has made good use of it. Clear instructions, great photographs - both beginners aand more experienced photographers would gain something from this book.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2011
This book was brilliant, it offered great tips on taking wildlife photography and really helped to improve my understanding of my camera. I am now much more comfortable with taking pictures of wildlife in the wild and have taken some decent photos. I give 100% of my success to this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
Well written and informative although I think the book would benefit from not assuming every aspiring wildlife photographer has a DSLR camera. There are a huge number of photographers who by preference use compact cameras especially now the super zoom types have a lens with a focal length of up to 1200mm! I agree it would be challenging to take quality photographs with these cameras but who, apart from a professional, has the money for a 1000mm lens?

A book that concentrated on the use of modern compact cameras for wildlife photography is needed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)