Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


96 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now ask yourself that question!
Nowadays I purchase the latest edition of this book every year simply because I need to have the most up-to-date issue. My review, therefore, is similar to my previous assessments of this work. Similarly, some disparaging comments may also appear and all I would ask any potential purchaser is to consider (only consider!) my comments.

Firstly, the book is not...
Published on 28 Jun 2011 by Ned Middleton

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starting to lose it's relevence
As a directory of publications, agents, societies, awards etc with some very short opinion articles on how to get the best from the industries, you don't need to get a new copy every year - things just don't change that quickly.

Fifteen years ago I was advised to buy the The Writers' and Artists' Yearbook as an absolute must for trying to sell any work in those...
Published on 7 Mar 2012 by Rosey Lea


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

96 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now ask yourself that question!, 28 Jun 2011
By 
Ned Middleton (British professional underwater photo-journalist & author) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2012 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
Nowadays I purchase the latest edition of this book every year simply because I need to have the most up-to-date issue. My review, therefore, is similar to my previous assessments of this work. Similarly, some disparaging comments may also appear and all I would ask any potential purchaser is to consider (only consider!) my comments.

Firstly, the book is not perfect - if only because no book could possibly include every single element, nuance and minor detail about all aspects of publishing.

Secondly, Just read the following and `THEN' ask yourself this simple question; "Can I afford to be without a copy of this book?"

I am not an educated man and, when I sat down to write my first book in 1985, people laughed. I was serving in the army at the time and when the work was published, one senior officer actually said to me "By what right do you seek to write a book about Scuba Diving?" Whilst my response remains unprintable, I can now inform that man how my articles have been published all over the world, my 3rd book sold over 30,000 copies and my 4th was voted "Underwater Publication of the Year!" My point being; If the drive to write is strong enough, not only will you write - but you SHOULD write in spite of whatever opposition you encounter.

All aspiring writers need to appreciate the value of this product. This is not just a collection of addresses for various book and magazine publishers. Instead, it contains almost everything you might need to know when contemplating writing for those very different categories of; Newspapers, Magazines, Books, Poetry, TV, Film, Radio and Theatre. The advice given and lists of outlets in each of those areas is then followed by sections on; Literary Agents, Art & Illustration, Societies, Prizes and Festivals, Online, Resources, Copyright & Libel and Finance.

As I say, not just a book of addresses. It also contains helpful advice, explanations, getting started and simply explains many elements of the publishing world. As an example, if you write books and articles aimed at, say, the motor trade or bringing up children - then there is no point in submitting your work to a publisher who concentrates solely on, say, ancient architecture. In short, by studying the magazine format or the publisher's speciality, you will not only save a lot of time and postage but also a lot of personal heartache.

Nobody in the world knows all there is to know about the complicated subject of publishing. This book, however, will give the writer the widest possible appreciation. Had I been in possession of a copy in 1985, my own road ahead really would have been so much smoother!

Now ask yourself that question!

And good luck.

NM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This the first serious step to getting published., 28 July 2011
By 
S. BOSTON (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2012 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
If you are serious about becoming a published writer, then buy this book!!!!!

This book is as important to the would be author as a good idea, tenacity and a word processor. Not only does it give you the addresess that you need, it also gives you articles from published authors that inspire you to keep going. Sometimes we forget that published writers have struggled the way that we do. This book encourages, explains and helps put everything in perspective. It's also a no nonsense advice centre for anyone brave enough and determined enough to change their life and become a professional writer.

The fact that you are considering buying this book shows just how serious you are about getting published. You've got a great idea and you want to share it with the world. The next step is to get your work read by the people that matter. That's where this book is invaluable. It offers addresses of all the agents and publishers you need, along with the really important information such as: Who is prepared to accept unsolicited manuscripts. Who is looking for your type of book. And literary consultants who can help you improve your work.

It's also a great book for anyone interested in freelance journalism. There are lists of magazines and newspapers who are all currently looking for new and experienced writers to fill their publications with well written articles. There are television, film and production companies that are interested in reading your scripts. And even website addresses for people who want to see their work online.

There really is something for everyone in this book.

Everytime you open it up, there is something new to learn.

So, if you are serious about getting published, This is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you write, get this book, 22 May 2012
By 
D. M. Evans (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2012 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
I dislike using words like 'indispensable' but I'm tempted to do so for this publication. Its list of contacts, practical advice for writers, publishers and agents, and information on the writing trade are extremely useful for all writers; if you're an aspiring newcomer, like me, you really shouldn't do without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starting to lose it's relevence, 7 Mar 2012
By 
Rosey Lea (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2012 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
As a directory of publications, agents, societies, awards etc with some very short opinion articles on how to get the best from the industries, you don't need to get a new copy every year - things just don't change that quickly.

Fifteen years ago I was advised to buy the The Writers' and Artists' Yearbook as an absolute must for trying to sell any work in those sectors. At the time this was very good advice and I've been buying the Yearbook every other year, but things have moved on since then.

Looking at the 2012 Yearbook, so many of the entries for agents, publishers etc are missing crucial information or just say "see website". You can't use the Yearbook as a stand-alone resource any more. The helpful opinion pieces are much further into opinion and away from factual help than they ever were before, and the book is stacked to the brim with JK Rowling praise and aspiration. If you're not writing teen wizard fiction there's unfortunately not a lot about your markets here.

Google will give you much better, more up-to-date info than the current Yearbook, but it's worth borrowing a library copy to flick through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Writers' & Artists' Yearbooks, 26 July 2011
This review is from: The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2012 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
Bought my first W & A yearbook in 2010 on the advice of a major home study writing course provider with whom I am undertaking a course. The book was indeed a wise purchase and provided a wealth of information as well as the answers to many questions. I would recommend it to anybody with an interest in writing - no matter what their level of proficiency. I have bought the updated 2011 and 2012 editions -and will be buying future issues. It is also excellent value for money - happy reading !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something you cannot miss!, 2 Sep 2011
By 
Jennifer Loiske (Naantali, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2012 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
Someone said to me years ago that I should buy Writers' and Artists' yearbook, but I didn't listen. Huge mistake. This book contains everything you ever need to know about publishing a book. It doesn't matter if you write poems, scripts, short stories etc. You'll find all the answers you didn't even knew you needed from this book.

It guides you, step by step, how to write a decent synopsis, who to approache and what you should tell to the agent or the publisher to get yourself noticed. So,if you don't have this book already, don't waste your time struggling all alone in the world of fraudsters and vanity presses. Buy a copy immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than a reference book, 12 Nov 2011
By 
Burnt-user (Wiltshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2012 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook is a mine of useful information. It covers such a vast field that most people will dip into it to find information and advice relevant to their current needs. The addition of authoritative articles adds considerably to the book's value and should be essential reading for novices entering a highly competitive field. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars W&A Yearbook., 24 July 2011
This review is from: The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2012 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
This is a handy textbook for any writer or aspiring writer to have. It covers everything. I am going to find this very useful as I'm just starting out as a playwright. It even has a big section on UK Copyright Law which is very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Writer's and Artist's year book 2012, 24 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2012 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
An essential handbook for anyone trying to get a book published. It is authoritative,up to date and highly detailed with all the contact information needed for finding agents. Thee is plenty of advice on preparing scripts and advice on epublishing as well. Don't even try to submit a manuscript without reading this first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book to love and hate, 23 Jun 2014
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2012 (Writers' and Artists') (Paperback)
I write this as a professional author who rejected the novel market long ago for other more lucrative forms of writing, though I write plenty of fiction for the fun of it.

If you are an aspiring author, this has to be the most depressing, dispiriting book in the universe. I say that because it does a thorough job of rightly dispelling any delusions you might hold about your likely success as an author. I hold nothing against it for that, as the market is indeed a bear pit from which your treasured manuscript will almost certainly be ravaged and rejected, without reason or rhyme beyond some pithy reference to being "unsuitable".

Ever wondered why so few authors were previously literary agents? This books doesn't explain overtly, but it's all there between the lines. The publishing market is no place for anyone but the most determined, capable and lucky of authors - unless of course you happen to be famous, in which case any ink you care to spill on the page will likely be given a going over by a seasoned editor, before being published and lauded to the book-buying public as a literary triumph. Such is life in a celebrity-dotted culture, but if you are to get that book deal, you must join the bun-fight (or is that bin fight) and get your manuscript in front of those agents.

To that end, if you have a manuscript that you'd like to see in print, and the stomach for rejection, this book offers an essential directory of agencies for you to contact. The listings vary from the informative and complete, to the terse and off-putting. Advice about how to proceed is also contradictory, Should you contact just one agent at a time, and wait three months for the rejection slip before trying the next, or blitz them all and disk annoying them? I recommend the latter. If what you've got is good, and you get multiple interest, they'll fight it out anyway and you'll likely get a better deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2012 (Writers' and Artists')
The Writers' & Artists' Yearbook 2012 (Writers' and Artists') by Joanna Herbert (Paperback - 30 Jun 2011)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews