Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars10
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£27.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 June 2013
This book is really inspirational. It is beautiful to initially flick through yet can also be looked over again and again without becoming remotely boring. There is a real range of artists included working with many materials, making an interesting collection of work. It is really valuable to see how each artist relates their drawing to their making as many examples in the book challenge what 'good' drawing is perhaps expected to be. I think it gives readers confidence in their own drawing and as a result of the work shown encourages a more diverse and free attitude to what drawing can be. It makes me want to get on and create beautiful work - what better book is there than that?
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
I was intially attracted to look at this book by its curiously beautiful cover. You too may be forgiven for initially thinking that this is just an immaculatley produced coffee table book with luscious images but it very soon reveals itself to be an insightful, intelligent and illuminating exploration of the creative process and the development of ideas. Significantly Kyra Cane concentrates on revealing the personal struggle an artists/maker takes between conception and completion which most of us take for granted when viewing a finished piece. Kyra's own drawings and pots are a perfect reflection of the writing in this book. Essential reading for anyone really interested in the process of making.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 12 December 2012
I don't think I've ever since another book quite like this. Anyone interested in drawing would find this book of interest. I don't think it has a particularly strong cover, which is a shame - but do be tempted to take a look inside. As an artist, I had to teach myself to draw and sometimes still fail miserably. I admire anyone for whom drawing is a natural gift. All aspects of drawing are considered in this book on all manner of materials. It's all about how drawing is used to make objects, as part of the making process and not about drawing per se. The text is just as illuminating as the excellent photographs. This book showcases some excellent work and shows the dynamism and importance of drawing in finished objects. It's a book you'll return to more than once. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2016
This is such a super, inspirational book that inspires and informs. Beautifully presented and although not a 'how to' in any depth it certainly gives an insight into how the featured artists work in their chosen medium. Especially loved the wire drawing/work. A must for artists new and experienced and gave me a kick back into experimenting with old and new techniques.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
This is a wonderful book. It takes you to the heart of the connection
between drawing and making: translating what is seen, witnessed and
felt into something made. It is not a 'how to' book, and I was
surprised that one of the reviewers had expected this; it is an
exploration of the link between the art of drawing and the craft of
making whether that be ceramics, glass, textiles, models or any of the
other media covered. For an insight into the journey between the two
it is essential reading. The author's elegant, clear style is always
discreet and insightful allowing the reader to hear and be inspired by
maker.

Making and Drawing
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
The book examines the way artists use drawing in their work and provides an interesting exploration of this with many beautiful illustrations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
Fascinating insight into artists' approach to making their ideas reality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
I bought this one at full price (rare for me) due to the book description that states, "an essential read for visual arts students, artists who want to use drawing differently or explore its potential in their practice". However, it's a showcase of inspiration rather than any practical exploration for the artist/student.

It covers many disciplines so in that alone it may not inspire every artist. Ironically, the drawings, usually from inside a journal, are quite sparse or unenlightening. Few examples are truly exploratory in nature and therefore giving us very little, if any, insight into the artist's thought process or drawing approach. The focus is placed on the finished product and this is what makes it a coffee table book. It's lovely to look through, hence the 3 stars, but hardly what it claims to be and I never would have bought it at full price, if at all.

The only book that has, so far, given me practical ideas between drawing and art, is Drawn to Stitch by Gwen Hedley - most useful for abstract artists, especially working in mixed media, paper, or cloth.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
interesting book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
Relatively interesting - a short resume on each participant's approach to drawing & making - up to you then to investigate them further. Thought it might be interesting as a reference/ source book but it's more like an up-market preview sales catalogue. A dearth of ceramics in it so for me, quite tedious.
Would I recommend it? not especially. Should have saved my money and bought chocolate instead..............................
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)