Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever stuff, not just beautiful!
I was intially attracted to look at this book by its curiously beautiful cover. You too may be forgiven for initially thinking that this is just an immaculatley produced coffee table book with luscious images but it very soon reveals itself to be an insightful, intelligent and illuminating exploration of the creative process and the development of ideas. Significantly...
Published on 20 Dec. 2012 by Mark J-B

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Coffee Table Book
I bought this one at full price (rare for me) due to the book description that states, "an essential read for visual arts students, artists who want to use drawing differently or explore its potential in their practice". However, it's a showcase of inspiration rather than any practical exploration for the artist/student.

It covers many disciplines so in...
Published on 21 Feb. 2013 by Autumn M


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever stuff, not just beautiful!, 20 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Making and Drawing (Hardcover)
I was intially attracted to look at this book by its curiously beautiful cover. You too may be forgiven for initially thinking that this is just an immaculatley produced coffee table book with luscious images but it very soon reveals itself to be an insightful, intelligent and illuminating exploration of the creative process and the development of ideas. Significantly Kyra Cane concentrates on revealing the personal struggle an artists/maker takes between conception and completion which most of us take for granted when viewing a finished piece. Kyra's own drawings and pots are a perfect reflection of the writing in this book. Essential reading for anyone really interested in the process of making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is really inspirational, 5 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making and Drawing (Hardcover)
This book is really inspirational. It is beautiful to initially flick through yet can also be looked over again and again without becoming remotely boring. There is a real range of artists included working with many materials, making an interesting collection of work. It is really valuable to see how each artist relates their drawing to their making as many examples in the book challenge what 'good' drawing is perhaps expected to be. I think it gives readers confidence in their own drawing and as a result of the work shown encourages a more diverse and free attitude to what drawing can be. It makes me want to get on and create beautiful work - what better book is there than that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars draw to create, 12 Dec. 2012
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Making and Drawing (Hardcover)
I don't think I've ever since another book quite like this. Anyone interested in drawing would find this book of interest. I don't think it has a particularly strong cover, which is a shame - but do be tempted to take a look inside. As an artist, I had to teach myself to draw and sometimes still fail miserably. I admire anyone for whom drawing is a natural gift. All aspects of drawing are considered in this book on all manner of materials. It's all about how drawing is used to make objects, as part of the making process and not about drawing per se. The text is just as illuminating as the excellent photographs. This book showcases some excellent work and shows the dynamism and importance of drawing in finished objects. It's a book you'll return to more than once. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for many disciplines, 12 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making and Drawing (Hardcover)
The book examines the way artists use drawing in their work and provides an interesting exploration of this with many beautiful illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Coffee Table Book, 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making and Drawing (Hardcover)
I bought this one at full price (rare for me) due to the book description that states, "an essential read for visual arts students, artists who want to use drawing differently or explore its potential in their practice". However, it's a showcase of inspiration rather than any practical exploration for the artist/student.

It covers many disciplines so in that alone it may not inspire every artist. Ironically, the drawings, usually from inside a journal, are quite sparse or unenlightening. Few examples are truly exploratory in nature and therefore giving us very little, if any, insight into the artist's thought process or drawing approach. The focus is placed on the finished product and this is what makes it a coffee table book. It's lovely to look through, hence the 3 stars, but hardly what it claims to be and I never would have bought it at full price, if at all.

The only book that has, so far, given me practical ideas between drawing and art, is Drawn to Stitch by Gwen Hedley - most useful for abstract artists, especially working in mixed media, paper, or cloth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book, 20 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Making and Drawing (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book. It takes you to the heart of the connection
between drawing and making: translating what is seen, witnessed and
felt into something made. It is not a 'how to' book, and I was
surprised that one of the reviewers had expected this; it is an
exploration of the link between the art of drawing and the craft of
making whether that be ceramics, glass, textiles, models or any of the
other media covered. For an insight into the journey between the two
it is essential reading. The author's elegant, clear style is always
discreet and insightful allowing the reader to hear and be inspired by
maker.

Making and Drawing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making and Drawing (Hardcover)
interesting book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars something and nothing really..................., 10 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Making and Drawing (Hardcover)
Relatively interesting - a short resume on each participant's approach to drawing & making - up to you then to investigate them further. Thought it might be interesting as a reference/ source book but it's more like an up-market preview sales catalogue. A dearth of ceramics in it so for me, quite tedious.
Would I recommend it? not especially. Should have saved my money and bought chocolate instead..............................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Making and Drawing
Making and Drawing by Kyra Cane (Hardcover - 6 Dec. 2012)
£30.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews