Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary Sketchbooks -review
This is a truly excellent and enjoyable book,filled with high quality images and clear concise text,free from waffle. It highlights the value of sketching and other eperiments in the creation of a work of art. it shows why a sketchbook is an artits most valuable posession. The contrasting and varied range of artists reviewed shows that there are many varied approaches to...
Published on 25 Nov 2011 by Auto des

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
It's a problem buying a book unseen by a previously unknown author. I was hoping for unusual ways of creating sketch books but found a collection of different artist's sketch books. But, as I read, I discovered the variations possible and no one way is right. Each page is personal and fit for that person's needs. This has given me confidence to make my own marks and...
Published on 15 Dec 2011 by Margaret Turner


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary Sketchbooks -review, 25 Nov 2011
This review is from: Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts (Paperback)
This is a truly excellent and enjoyable book,filled with high quality images and clear concise text,free from waffle. It highlights the value of sketching and other eperiments in the creation of a work of art. it shows why a sketchbook is an artits most valuable posession. The contrasting and varied range of artists reviewed shows that there are many varied approaches to visual creativity. I have no hesitation, as a designer and design teacher of over 40 years experience, in reccomending this book to anyone with an interest in this area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and unusual variety, 12 Jan 2012
This review is from: Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts (Paperback)
Really unusual to see such a variety of artists and particularly interesting how the author included well known artists along side students. Excellent quality book, well laid out, nicely paced, good amount of text and rich with images. It also interests me to see how sketchbooks relate to final works, which is not shown in this book. For some of the artists that I particularly liked it left me wanting to see more of their completed works, but appreciate that's not what the book is about, it is more about showing a variety of different styles and ways of approaching sketchbooks. It is inspiring and good for students. Excellent value on Amazon for 12! I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 21 Dec 2011
This review is from: Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts (Paperback)
I love this book, it's given me so much to think about. I particularly appreciate the variety and range of artists' work shown - from young students through to established names. My sketchbook and the way I put together visual notes has improved no end. I can recommend this to anyone at whatever stage of their artistic development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired students, 21 Dec 2011
This review is from: Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts (Paperback)
Clear concise and well laid out, the author has allowed the work to do the talking. As a design lecturer I have found my students inspired particularly by the inclusion of other students work within the book. From the internationally renown Henry Moore to the never heard of him M. Sidki, Jane Stobart has shown just how personal and intimate the sketchbook can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary Sketchbooks, 22 Dec 2011
This review is from: Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts (Paperback)
This book is a wonderful addition to my working library. Although a practicing artist, I have rarely used a sketchbook. I am now inspired to keep one, or even several. Here is book full of ideas and so diverse. It shows not only the work of heavy-weights artists like Henry Moore, but also lively pages by students. Marvelous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 9 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts (Paperback)
A really interesting collection of sketchbooks. I'm so pleased to have this book and get inspiration every time I look through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC RESOURCE!!, 21 Dec 2011
This review is from: Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts (Paperback)
As an Art teacher I felt compelled to shout about how fantastic this book has been for inspiring my students!! It really provokes thought on the potential a sketchbook can have. I particularly like the imaginative choice of artists demonstrating how versatile a sketchbook can be. My colleagues have also found this book equally as valuable a resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sketchbook Inspiration for all abilities, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts (Paperback)
This book has lots of new ideas for use of a sketchbook. Sometimes similar books are too precious in their content but this one shows spontaneous use of media and many examples are experimental. Also the range of ages and abilities illustrated gives readers confidence to be adventurous with their own ideas. Great ideas for presentation and use of media. Well worth having as a reference and source of inspiration and shpws that sketchbooks should be personal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring!, 29 Dec 2011
This review is from: Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts (Paperback)
I enjoyed this - a really nicely produced book - in an attractive format. The book has a wide range of artists some well known and others almost unknown. There are lots of examples of sketches by each of the 30 or so artists represented. As well as the wide range of techniques illustrated here - there is a commentary with each artist which gives a bit of a backstory to why they sketch. This makes for lot of material - and will ensure that I will want to dip into it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts (Paperback)
This book helps with ideas for sketchbooks and gives you an insight of what a good sketchbook should look like!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews