Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and unusual variety
Really unusual to see such a variety of artists and particularly interesting how the author included well known artists along side students. Excellent quality book, well laid out, nicely paced, good amount of text and rich with images. It also interests me to see how sketchbooks relate to final works, which is not shown in this book. For some of the artists that I...
Published on 12 Jan. 2012 by E Jacob

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
It's a problem buying a book unseen by a previously unknown author. I was hoping for unusual ways of creating sketch books but found a collection of different artist's sketch books. But, as I read, I discovered the variations possible and no one way is right. Each page is personal and fit for that person's needs. This has given me confidence to make my own marks and...
Published on 15 Dec. 2011 by Margaret Turner


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and unusual variety, 12 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts (Paperback)
Really unusual to see such a variety of artists and particularly interesting how the author included well known artists along side students. Excellent quality book, well laid out, nicely paced, good amount of text and rich with images. It also interests me to see how sketchbooks relate to final works, which is not shown in this book. For some of the artists that I particularly liked it left me wanting to see more of their completed works, but appreciate that's not what the book is about, it is more about showing a variety of different styles and ways of approaching sketchbooks. It is inspiring and good for students. Excellent value on Amazon for £12! I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary Sketchbooks -review, 25 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts (Paperback)
This is a truly excellent and enjoyable book,filled with high quality images and clear concise text,free from waffle. It highlights the value of sketching and other eperiments in the creation of a work of art. it shows why a sketchbook is an artits most valuable posession. The contrasting and varied range of artists reviewed shows that there are many varied approaches to visual creativity. I have no hesitation, as a designer and design teacher of over 40 years experience, in reccomending this book to anyone with an interest in this area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 21 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts (Paperback)
I love this book, it's given me so much to think about. I particularly appreciate the variety and range of artists' work shown - from young students through to established names. My sketchbook and the way I put together visual notes has improved no end. I can recommend this to anyone at whatever stage of their artistic development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary Sketchbooks, 22 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts (Paperback)
This book is a wonderful addition to my working library. Although a practicing artist, I have rarely used a sketchbook. I am now inspired to keep one, or even several. Here is book full of ideas and so diverse. It shows not only the work of heavy-weights artists like Henry Moore, but also lively pages by students. Marvelous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired students, 21 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts (Paperback)
Clear concise and well laid out, the author has allowed the work to do the talking. As a design lecturer I have found my students inspired particularly by the inclusion of other students work within the book. From the internationally renown Henry Moore to the never heard of him M. Sidki, Jane Stobart has shown just how personal and intimate the sketchbook can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC RESOURCE!!, 21 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts (Paperback)
As an Art teacher I felt compelled to shout about how fantastic this book has been for inspiring my students!! It really provokes thought on the potential a sketchbook can have. I particularly like the imaginative choice of artists demonstrating how versatile a sketchbook can be. My colleagues have also found this book equally as valuable a resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sketchbook Inspiration for all abilities, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts (Paperback)
This book has lots of new ideas for use of a sketchbook. Sometimes similar books are too precious in their content but this one shows spontaneous use of media and many examples are experimental. Also the range of ages and abilities illustrated gives readers confidence to be adventurous with their own ideas. Great ideas for presentation and use of media. Well worth having as a reference and source of inspiration and shpws that sketchbooks should be personal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring!, 29 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts (Paperback)
I enjoyed this - a really nicely produced book - in an attractive format. The book has a wide range of artists some well known and others almost unknown. There are lots of examples of sketches by each of the 30 or so artists represented. As well as the wide range of techniques illustrated here - there is a commentary with each artist which gives a bit of a backstory to why they sketch. This makes for lot of material - and will ensure that I will want to dip into it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 9 Jan. 2012
By 
This review is from: Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts (Paperback)
A really interesting collection of sketchbooks. I'm so pleased to have this book and get inspiration every time I look through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, a great resource!, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts (Paperback)
Wonderful! I originally purchased this as a prize to give out to pupils and ended up getting one as a resource to inspire sketchbook presentation / development in class too. A real mixture, as it says: 'inspiring examples from artists, designers, students and enthusiasts' and I love the way it juxtaposes such a contrast whilst demonstrating the diverse way in which to present a sketchbook. Probably more suitable for later KS3 and KS4 if used in this way. Beautiful, full colour images throughout and a really manageable size that is easy to carry about.
I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Extraordinary Sketchbooks: Inspiring Examples from Artists, Designers, Students and Enthusiasts
£16.99
Usually dispatched within 10 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews