Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little book highly recommended
This is a very understated little book which actually contains a mine of information. The look is contemporary, the work hightly individual and that of highly experienced and qualified textile designer/artist. It covers a number of techniques in a matter of fact way, using easily available materials such as baking parchment, collage pictures from magazines, oddments of...
Published 17 months ago by trishthedish

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stitching Pictures
Don't understand how this has so many good reviews. Perhaps it is aimed at those textile artists just starting out on their creative journey. I sent mine back.
Published 10 months ago by Monty7


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little book highly recommended, 3 Feb 2013
By 
trishthedish (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stitching Pictures (Paperback)
This is a very understated little book which actually contains a mine of information. The look is contemporary, the work hightly individual and that of highly experienced and qualified textile designer/artist. It covers a number of techniques in a matter of fact way, using easily available materials such as baking parchment, collage pictures from magazines, oddments of fabric and multi media drawing and painting materials. This isn't really a book to lead you step by step to making a copy of anything here, it more about showing you how to use some multi media techniques as you might learn in art school, but very much for your own ends. A lot of the advise, about choosing a theme and colour choice, for instance appear to be lightly dealt with, within a few words, but those words provides better information that many books of much greater length. The approach never talks down to the reader as a lot of books of this nature do, but rather encourages real creativity and thoughfulness in a highly thoughtful and helpful way, so you can find your own contemporary style. A great little book, I would highly recommend it to all my students on the BA Textiles course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars stitching pictures, 11 Jun 2012
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stitching Pictures (Paperback)
This book is all about creating images with thread and a wide range of mixed media. The work isn't like that of artists that come to mind when I think of creating pictures with thread - Alice Kettle and a host of similar artists that have followed. Or the work of Jan Beaney for instance. This work is more arty. If you want to experiment with a number of different materials, then this is a good book to try. This review first appeared on yarnsandfabrics website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stitching Pictures, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stitching Pictures (Paperback)
Don't understand how this has so many good reviews. Perhaps it is aimed at those textile artists just starting out on their creative journey. I sent mine back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational for beginner textile artists, 24 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: Stitching Pictures (Paperback)
As a mixed media textile artist I find this book invaluable. The author has a Goldsmith College background and has exciting textile ideas.I really like the idea of the easy things to be found round the house ie coffee, other dyes etc and the monoprinting, which I hope to have a go at I liked her contemporary stitching techniques and use of metals such as safety pins. I liked her interest in handmade paper too.

I would like my art to be a legacy and I was wondering how on we can preserve textile art and the backgrounds that are dyed with coffee as there has to be some life expectancy in textile art. I am not sure what sort of things to go for. I would certainly like a bit of information on how to preserve our art.

I love this book, it is a bit like having a 'friend' in the house who likes textile art and can come up with some exciting ideas.

I would love to see a new book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not sure who this would appeal to., 4 Jun 2013
By 
C. Cole (Leigh-on-Sea, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stitching Pictures (Paperback)
Nicely laid out book but all the work is the author's and in her house style. The author is an illustrator and this shows in the designs as they look sketchy and incomplete. The instructions are minimal e.g. Think of design, get paper, get pencil. Techniques are nothing special either. I received 'The Sketchbook Challenge' at the same time which was far more stimulating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stitching Pictures
Stitching Pictures by Sandeep Jandu (Paperback - 24 May 2012)
16.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews