Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars20
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 December 2011
This excellent book by Linda Bloomfield contains invaluable information about the formulation of glazes. Linda has a science background and a sure grasp of her subject. The writing is clear and informative. The Book is well structured and Linda explains the complexities of combining glaze ingredients with considerable insight. Stoneware, porcelain, earthenware, raku and crystalline glazes are all covered and the book is well illustrated with photographs. Example glaze recipes from a wide range of sources are included and I came away from the book with a renewed desire to make experimental glaze tests of my own. Although focused on electric kiln firing the book also has examples of live flame ceramics and glaze recipes for comparison. A comprehensive and well researched guide for anyone who wants to start making their own glazes and a worthy addition to the library of the studio potter.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
Of all the books about glazes I've read recently this is the best. It explains what each of the chemicals do and how to achieve different colours and surface qualities. Using this in conjunction with 'The Potter's Palette' (Constant and Ogden) and 'The Potters Recipe Book' (Cooper) I know have the confidence to experiment in a way that I never have before.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2012
A potter's journey is an experimental one, especially when it comes to the quest for a good glaze.The author achieves a good balance here. The right blend of technical and practical information and advice, with an array of useful illustrations.A text which gives me the confidence to continue the quest with an increased understanding of the processes involved and a desire to push the boundaries still further.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
The promotion for this book gave the impression that it would be useful for those wishing to develop further skills in glaze making however it turned out to be rather basic. Would be a good buy if your just starting out but even then there are more comprehensive books - I would recommend for example 'The Potters Palette'by Constant and Ogden which has much more informative general information on mixing and applying and a fantastic and beautifully presented range of recipes.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As a potter just beginning to get to grips with glazing, ths book is an absolute lifeline for me! It includes everythng needed to get to grips with the basics in a readable, easy to understand way. It covers all the basic glaze ingredients, explaining their function within a glaze. Full of clear and very helpful photographs, it then systematically goes through each colour, with recipes suitable for each type of clay. More technical information is included in the appendices.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
I would say, it's a beginner's guide on how to make basic colours. There is nothing in this book that one can't find on line (info about oxides, other materials, mixing ingredients, etc.). Pictures of test tiles next to glaze recipes give some guidelines on what to expect from the recipe, which might be useful (taking into consideration that the colour will depend on body, firing conditions,application and other factors). Otherwise, nicely presented and well illustrated book.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
It is very good in explaining the principles in glaze mixing and has helped a lot in understanding the processes. It was recommended by a ceramicist and I would agree that it is something of value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
Brilliant book, loads of great recipes and really useful information about glaze chemistry and what each ingredient adds to a glaze, love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
Lovely colour book with lots of different or unusual glazes in. I got it for the crystalline glazes. Very easy read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
A really great book just about all the glaze recipes you will ever need
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)