Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and well researched
This excellent book by Linda Bloomfield contains invaluable information about the formulation of glazes. Linda has a science background and a sure grasp of her subject. The writing is clear and informative. The Book is well structured and Linda explains the complexities of combining glaze ingredients with considerable insight. Stoneware, porcelain, earthenware, raku and...
Published on 4 Dec 2011 by Reading Age

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beginner level
The promotion for this book gave the impression that it would be useful for those wishing to develop further skills in glaze making however it turned out to be rather basic. Would be a good buy if your just starting out but even then there are more comprehensive books - I would recommend for example 'The Potters Palette'by Constant and Ogden which has much more...
Published 14 months ago by The Rev


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and well researched, 4 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Colour in Glazes (New Ceramics) (Paperback)
This excellent book by Linda Bloomfield contains invaluable information about the formulation of glazes. Linda has a science background and a sure grasp of her subject. The writing is clear and informative. The Book is well structured and Linda explains the complexities of combining glaze ingredients with considerable insight. Stoneware, porcelain, earthenware, raku and crystalline glazes are all covered and the book is well illustrated with photographs. Example glaze recipes from a wide range of sources are included and I came away from the book with a renewed desire to make experimental glaze tests of my own. Although focused on electric kiln firing the book also has examples of live flame ceramics and glaze recipes for comparison. A comprehensive and well researched guide for anyone who wants to start making their own glazes and a worthy addition to the library of the studio potter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last I understand, 29 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour in Glazes (New Ceramics) (Paperback)
Of all the books about glazes I've read recently this is the best. It explains what each of the chemicals do and how to achieve different colours and surface qualities. Using this in conjunction with 'The Potter's Palette' (Constant and Ogden) and 'The Potters Recipe Book' (Cooper) I know have the confidence to experiment in a way that I never have before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really useful text, 11 Mar 2012
By 
S. V. Barker "Lancastrian Reader" (Lancaster UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour in Glazes (New Ceramics) (Paperback)
A potter's journey is an experimental one, especially when it comes to the quest for a good glaze.The author achieves a good balance here. The right blend of technical and practical information and advice, with an array of useful illustrations.A text which gives me the confidence to continue the quest with an increased understanding of the processes involved and a desire to push the boundaries still further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beginner level, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour in Glazes (New Ceramics) (Paperback)
The promotion for this book gave the impression that it would be useful for those wishing to develop further skills in glaze making however it turned out to be rather basic. Would be a good buy if your just starting out but even then there are more comprehensive books - I would recommend for example 'The Potters Palette'by Constant and Ogden which has much more informative general information on mixing and applying and a fantastic and beautifully presented range of recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really good buy, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour in Glazes (New Ceramics) (Paperback)
It is very good in explaining the principles in glaze mixing and has helped a lot in understanding the processes. It was recommended by a ceramicist and I would agree that it is something of value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you only buy one book on glazing - make it this one!, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour in Glazes (New Ceramics) (Paperback)
As a potter just beginning to get to grips with glazing, ths book is an absolute lifeline for me! It includes everythng needed to get to grips with the basics in a readable, easy to understand way. It covers all the basic glaze ingredients, explaining their function within a glaze. Full of clear and very helpful photographs, it then systematically goes through each colour, with recipes suitable for each type of clay. More technical information is included in the appendices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok book, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour in Glazes (New Ceramics) (Paperback)
I would say, it's a beginner's guide on how to make basic colours. There is nothing in this book that one can't find on line (info about oxides, other materials, mixing ingredients, etc.). Pictures of test tiles next to glaze recipes give some guidelines on what to expect from the recipe, which might be useful (taking into consideration that the colour will depend on body, firing conditions,application and other factors). Otherwise, nicely presented and well illustrated book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of glazes to experiment with, 30 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour in Glazes (New Ceramics) (Paperback)
Lovely colour book with lots of different or unusual glazes in. I got it for the crystalline glazes. Very easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Just what was, 4 Aug 2014
This review is from: Colour in Glazes (New Ceramics) (Paperback)
Brilliant
Just what was needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ceramics, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colour in Glazes (New Ceramics) (Paperback)
I am sure I will love it when I get it! Not yet received despite having ordered 24 Oct. As per your second email, this should be arriving between 20 Nov and 28 Nov. Today 27 Nov and still waiting!! Shall I receive it before Christmas, I wonder?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Colour in Glazes (New Ceramics)
Colour in Glazes (New Ceramics) by Linda Bloomfield (Paperback - 8 Dec 2011)
15.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews