Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
13
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 2008
I have utilised some of the training drills in this book to teach Tag Rugby, generally only 10-15% of the drills can be used with tag rugby, but most will be used next year in contact. A good book to start off with
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2009
A pretty good 'primer' for junior level coaches responsible for contact age groups up to the age of 16. It doesn't focus as much as I had hoped into some of the technical issues behind the drills nor does it comment on the RFU continuum and the differences between the age groups but a useful handbook nonetheless for coaches without their own bank of exercises.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2015
Very basic, fine for someone who has never coached who is helping or starting out to coach small children. I would never pay the full price for this book, its over priced. However the kindle edition is a different level of pricing and at that price its good value.
I have coached at senior level, the book was a help in that the drills are so simplistic if coaching 7,8 or 9 years olds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
I was a bit disappointed by this book. There are one or two decent drills but from the PoV of an U7s Coach it isn't quite what I was after. It's a bit underwhelming. If I could give half marks I would have given it 3.5.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2010
Bought this recently as only coached to under 9s before and felt i needed to find appropriate drills for U12 that I've been asked to help with. Have found the book really helpful. Chris Sheryn provides a wide range of drills that allow skills development in all key areas of the game. It would be easy to criticise the book for what is not there but if you need the RFU continuum then download it, if you want to to coach the dark arts of the front row then you need a more specialised text. The book does what it says on the cover and does it well.Despite the weather recently i have managed to use a number of the drills with the players and am seeing the improvement. Sure there are other coaching books out there but why spend time looking when this does the job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2012
This was purchased for a friend for a group of starters and was exactly what was required. Arrived quickly and securely packed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
well written book, a very handy tool for all rugby coaches, will definatly put a lot of the drills into practice ..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2013
great for coaches. I use this reguqrly when looking for good ideas when I am coaching the mini rugby team
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
Good book with lots of good drills. Kids love the warm up sessions ive used from this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
great little book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse