Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars69
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
66
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 December 2010
Without a doubt the best book I have ever read on Birds of Prey. Each species is treated individually and the book charts the decline, hazzards they have faced and re-introduction or conservation.
Usually I would skim over a lot of the text but found this book to be so interesting I read every word.
The author has a way of pulling you in to a greater understanding of these magnificent birds and the photographs are amazing
A wonderful book and thoroughly recommended
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2010
In my view, this is THE definitive book of British raptors. It begins with an insight of the raptor population over the last few centuries, in particular, persecution, and goes on to describe the reintroduction of the different species. Then there is an incredibly detailed account of every resident raptor in the British Isles, depicted throughout by absolutely stunning photographs by acclaimed wildlife photographer Stig Frode Olsen.
If you are into British raptors, BUY THIS BOOK! It's the only one you'll ever need. Stunning.
Dave Hall
33 comments|47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2011
I have many books on British Birds that have been collected over the years but none has actually ticked all the boxes for me until this one came along. I have hardly put it down since it arrived....the photographs are stunning and are a great help in identifying each of the featured birds of prey along with loads of information and a very useful Glossary at the back. It is a beautiful coffee table book except that everyone who sees it picks it up and is soon engrossed so this copy will not be pristine for long! A wonderful Christmas or birthday present for anyone with a keen interest in British Raptors and if any book will help to promote a more understanding and positive attitude to these much persecuted birds then it is this one.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2011
Lovely book, beautiful pictures and an easy informative read.
Would recommend to anyone interested in these beautiful birds.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
I fully concur with other reviewers - the book is pictorially stunning, the text providing a wealth of information. The book itself, its construction, is of the highest order. Buy it - you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2011
Bought as a present for eight year old as a keep sake. Photography excellent and content very informative for him now (I was unsure on ordering it if it would be too advanced for him to read) - no worries there!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2010
Excellent book. Brilliant text and fantastic awe - inspiring pictures. Cannot recommend highly enough if you're a bird fan, even if you're not particularly into Birds of Prey. Also more coppers for the RSPB !
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2011
To be Honest, the purchase of this book was a mistake, i was after a Raptor ID guide. Had even started getting ready for the books retunr to Amazon before i had received it. However, this book is not going back any where, a superbly wrtitten & illustrated book with a wealth of information, that although not strictly an ID guide will help in a lot more ways than the norm.

I would strongly recomend this book to any birder looking for more detail on raptors and extra help that you wont get in any guides.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2011
Stunning photos are a highlight of this "coffee table" style book written in a user-friendly style without too much jargon. Starting from their infamous nineteenth century persecution and then post second world war poisoning via agrochemicals the progress of raptors in the past half century is reviewed. There are chapters on each species breeding in Britain including owls plus notes on rare visitors (to which category snowy owls are now reduced) and vagrants. The diet, favoured habitat, mating, current population and U.K. distribution of each is outlined without becoming bogged down in the biological detail of, say, Leslie Brown's 1976 classic. Marianne Taylor is sufficiently up to date to both discuss the recent collapse of kestrel numbers and comment on the eagle owl controversy. Unfortunately no sooner had the book gone to press than Manchester's city centre peregrines decided that the skyscraper Co-op building was a more "des res" than that named in the book! This volume would be a brilliant birthday, anniversary or Christmas present for anyone, and especially at the Amazon price.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
This was a present for my son and he was delighted with it. Very informative with some excellent photographs will make a good reference source.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)