Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British birds of prey, 17 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB British Birds of Prey (Hardcover)
Stunning photos are a highlight of this "coffee table" style book written in a user-friendly style without too much jargon. Starting from their infamous nineteenth century persecution and then post second world war poisoning via agrochemicals the progress of raptors in the past half century is reviewed. There are chapters on each species breeding in Britain including owls plus notes on rare visitors (to which category snowy owls are now reduced) and vagrants. The diet, favoured habitat, mating, current population and U.K. distribution of each is outlined without becoming bogged down in the biological detail of, say, Leslie Brown's 1976 classic. Marianne Taylor is sufficiently up to date to both discuss the recent collapse of kestrel numbers and comment on the eagle owl controversy. Unfortunately no sooner had the book gone to press than Manchester's city centre peregrines decided that the skyscraper Co-op building was a more "des res" than that named in the book! This volume would be a brilliant birthday, anniversary or Christmas present for anyone, and especially at the Amazon price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book!, 11 Feb 2011
This review is from: RSPB British Birds of Prey (Hardcover)
I've always had a slight interest in birds of prey and decided to buy this book just as a reference but it is truly amazing and I fully intend to read it cover to cover. It gives so much detail and the pictures are brilliant. I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars British Birds of Prey, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB British Birds of Prey (Hardcover)
This is a lovely book and has much more information than I expected. I recommend it and have found it very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dad thrilled, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB British Birds of Prey (Hardcover)
Very well illustrated with lovely photographers easy read lovely addition to any bird of prey lover dad loved the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RSPB Birds of Prey, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB British Birds of Prey (Hardcover)
Good informative book with high class photography. I wanted a decent book of British raptors and this gave value for money and all the information I wanted and needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB British Birds of Prey (Hardcover)
Husband bought this book for my birthday which arrived on the exact day. Lovely photo's, each bird has their own chapter. I will enjoy reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. Fab price and delivery, 7 May 2013
This review is from: RSPB British Birds of Prey (Hardcover)
Great book. My husband is obsessed with spotting birds of prey on our journeys so we bought him this book. It's got lovely pictures of birds and birds in flight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Birds of prey, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB British Birds of Prey (Hardcover)
Beautiful book, bought as a gift specifically for sea eagles, lovely section on them. Fabulous pictures and ino. Great value!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB British Birds of Prey (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift for my boss. A very impressive book full of stunning photographs and interesting info. Highly recommended for all bird lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars birds of prey, 20 Feb 2013
By 
G. I. Forbes (edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RSPB British Birds of Prey (Hardcover)
This excellent book from the RSPB deals with all the British birds of prey-that is 15 raptors and 5 owls and how they have fared over the passage of time considering conservation,survival,reintroduction and multiplication.
Each of the 20 birds has a story to tell and has its own chapter. There is also a chapter on rare visittors and vagrants.
Very well written and researched but what must be noted and given credit are the magnificient pictures from multiple photographers.
A highly eecommended book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb13b69c0)

This product

RSPB British Birds of Prey
RSPB British Birds of Prey by Marianne Taylor (Hardcover - 22 Nov 2010)
18.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews