Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for understanding Church Architecture!
The book is fantastic for those who want to learn about Church Architecture and the religious meanings behind the various sections of the various different kinds of Churches. The book provides the reader which many diagrams and images so you can appreciate and recognise the particular part of the church when you next visit.

I found it better than 'How To Read A...
Published on 30 Jun. 2012 by A. Nim

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as useful as it thinks
Possible purchasers should be careful. This is one of those books that you probably wouldn't have bought if you'd flicked through it in a conventional bookshop. It covers so much ground, in so many countries, as to be completely useless if wanted as a guide kept in the car while visiting, say, English churches. One small page might have an illustration from Rome, Mexico,...
Published 15 months ago by Atavus


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for understanding Church Architecture!, 30 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Read Churches: A Crash Course in Ecclesiatical Architecture (Paperback)
The book is fantastic for those who want to learn about Church Architecture and the religious meanings behind the various sections of the various different kinds of Churches. The book provides the reader which many diagrams and images so you can appreciate and recognise the particular part of the church when you next visit.

I found it better than 'How To Read A Church: A Guide to Images, Symbols and Meanings in Churches and Cathedrals by Dr Richard Taylor' mainly because it had much, much more images, literally images on every single page, whilst Richar Taylors one was mainly texts and describing the more of the symbols and images presented around the church rather than the architecture itself.

Anyway, its a great book for interest but also for any architecture students who want to study churches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as useful as it thinks, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Read Churches: A Crash Course in Ecclesiatical Architecture (Paperback)
Possible purchasers should be careful. This is one of those books that you probably wouldn't have bought if you'd flicked through it in a conventional bookshop. It covers so much ground, in so many countries, as to be completely useless if wanted as a guide kept in the car while visiting, say, English churches. One small page might have an illustration from Rome, Mexico, and Philadelphia - not much help if you're currently in Norfolk! But worse than that, the information given on each item is so minimal as to be hardly worth the bother, and not much more interesting than a simple glossary. Worse still is the quality of the print: this book is a triumph of style over substance. Unless your eyes are perfect, not only is the print on the small side, but by choosing a seriffed font it nearly disappears into the background. And since the print is not particularly dark, the only way I could comfortably read it was a) with my occasional reading glasses on; and b) with a strong reading light shining on the page. So quite useless for being out and about.

To repeat: if you'd seen this in a bookshop, you'd have looked elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class introduction to the subject., 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Read Churches: A Crash Course in Ecclesiatical Architecture (Paperback)
I enjoy looking at churches and their interiors (despite being an atheist). As a layman, previous attempts to learn something of ecclesiastical architectural terms has caused me to suffer from some academic indigestion and so this excellent little book is much more able to meet my standard of enquiry. It is clear, well illustrated and above all pocketable and will be ideal as part of my travelling library, to be my companion as I explore the wonderful churches of Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great little book for a complete beginner, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Read Churches: A Crash Course in Ecclesiatical Architecture (Paperback)
Small enough to put in your pocket this book will provide very interesting information for those. like me, who want to know more, but no too much about Church architecture. It contains a good glossary and will make your visits to churches all the more rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good books, 31 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Read Churches: A Crash Course in Ecclesiatical Architecture (Paperback)
It is a very clear guide book for the introduction of churches, divided by different types, period, and so forth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A learning experience for the non-architect, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Read Churches: A Crash Course in Ecclesiatical Architecture (Paperback)
Very interesting to use as a structure guide when visiting historical churches and small enough to carry in a small bag
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Read Churches: A Crash Course in Ecclesiatical Architecture (Paperback)
Easy to read, well illustrated, compact and fits in your pocket. All in all a very useful guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction book to church architecture, 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Read Churches: A Crash Course in Ecclesiatical Architecture (Paperback)
For my work this book is informative and a handy pocket size,
Just what I needed for when on site with arms of equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Read Churches: A Crash Course in Ecclesiatical Architecture (Paperback)
Excellent. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Read Churches: A Crash Course in Ecclesiatical Architecture (Paperback)
I'm not an expert on architecture, hence the purchase. I'm currently reading it from cover to cover. Plenty of illustrations but I wonder if it's a little bit too general for my ultimate needs, but I'm learning/refreshing my knowledge nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Read Churches: A Crash Course in Ecclesiatical Architecture
£9.99
Usually dispatched within 10 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews