Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 January 2011
Having just purchased this book, I can't wait for the days to lengthen and the temperatures rise so that I can go out and use it. Beautifully illustrated throughout, the book provides the key information required to spot each of the 58 species resident in Britain and Ireland, including habitat, flight period, distribution, description and behaviour. I particularly like the distribution maps for each species so that I can quickly see what I should be able to see in my area. Added to the distribution maps, the site guide provides a number of suggested places to visit and species to look out for around the country. As may be expected the site guide only provides a few places to visit for each county and will not guarantee a sighting but it's good to know where to start to look for certain species.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2011
The book was in my view exactly as described - a Field and Site Guide, comprehensive, detailed and plump with fantastic photographs and information. I think the site details are adequate - it doesn't lead you by the hand to a specific grid ref but butterflies and their colonies are mobile and giving such details would double the size of the book (and probably become quickly outdated). I'm very happy with my copy.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
What a wonderful book. Michael Easterbrook should be lifted aloft by all Lepidopterists and carried through the country to the sound of loud cheers. The book is well written and the colour photographs are superb. For each butterfly species there is information on identification, habitat, flight period, history and conservation, distribution with maps, description, life cycle, behaviour and good places to see the butterfly. This book will become invaluable to professionals and amateurs alike. I honestly could not find a fault within the books pages.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
This book contains all the information you will need to identify the Butterflies of the UK. Coupled with excellent colour photographs it is a fantastic guide. It may be a bit heavy to carry round with you all day but excellent as a reference when you get home, especially if you have taken photographs to refer to later.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
A comprehensive, informative and readable field guide to all fifty-eight species of resident butterflies present in Britain, as well as former breeders and rare migrants. Each species is described in detail, including identification, lifecycle, habitat and distribution, complemented by superb colour photographs of both adult butterflies and caterpillars. Particularly useful are the distribution maps (based on data from Butterfly Conservation), and region-by-region site guides to over 240 important butterfly localities. With the help of this excellent book, everyone from beginners to expert lepidopterists can observe butterflies as they are meant to be seen -- in their natural habitats.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
Written by a friend, but that doesn't influence my highly favourable opinion of this book. The carefully chosen photos aid identification admirably and the accompanying text is extremely thorough and yet concise. The site section is a real bonus. Well done, Michael.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
I have several different butterfly guides but this one is by far the best. Comprehensive notes and photographs for every UK species including flying period, life cycle and locations, plus a very useful list of UK butterfly sites with their species.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
As a site guide it cannot be faulted. I have used it to find, see and photograph most of our rarer butterflies - the directions are detailed and accurate, its never failed to get me to the butterfly I want to see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2012
Wonderful photographs, so good you can distinguish all the white butterflies from each other. If you are interested in butterflies, I wouldn't buy anything else!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
Brilliant clear,photos with different views, easy to use, everything you need to identify butterflies (if they stay still enough for you!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)