Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent compendium
Lots and lots of inspiration here. However, I would have liked to have seen more emphasis on contemporary hand embroidery as this is quite heavy on historic/ cultural references. These are great of course, and the images used are lovely (and mostly taken by a course mate of mine!) There is a particularly good bit at the back where they use images from the MMU Embroidery...
Published 23 months ago by Flurominx

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars *not* what I expected
This is a great quality book, however it is not what I expected at all. From the description and the beautiful front cover I thought it would be more of a manual looking at historical and global stitching techniques. What it is rather, is a collection of essays with just a few photos, which is probably very useful if you're writing a dissertation. However, I cannot relate...
Published on 10 Mar. 2013 by disgruntled


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars *not* what I expected, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hand Stitch, Perspectives (Hardcover)
This is a great quality book, however it is not what I expected at all. From the description and the beautiful front cover I thought it would be more of a manual looking at historical and global stitching techniques. What it is rather, is a collection of essays with just a few photos, which is probably very useful if you're writing a dissertation. However, I cannot relate most of the content to what I do or aspire to do, as it is about 'Art' and is very self-indulgent. The few images of historical and global stitched items are stunning, but they are few in number, considering the 200+ pages. Best bit is the stitch glossary (starts p208), but whilst it's fascinating to look at, there are no pointers or instructions. In short, I would say this book is for the thinker, not the do-er.

I am a do-er, and this, with heavy heart, is the first book I am ever returning to Amazon :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent compendium, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hand Stitch, Perspectives (Hardcover)
Lots and lots of inspiration here. However, I would have liked to have seen more emphasis on contemporary hand embroidery as this is quite heavy on historic/ cultural references. These are great of course, and the images used are lovely (and mostly taken by a course mate of mine!) There is a particularly good bit at the back where they use images from the MMU Embroidery archive to illustrate the different stitches in innovative ways. I may have a particular soft spot for this book as I studied on this course. However, I still highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a beautiful book with great descriptions and illustrations of all the ..., 16 Nov. 2014
By 
Misscacou (Stockport, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hand Stitch, Perspectives (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book with great descriptions and illustrations of all the works.
There is a whole chapter dedicated to the work the Staircase House Stitchers from Stockport ( of which I was one) did and I bought this book as a record to pass on to my family. But even if you don't know anybody involved in any of the works, it is a beautiful book to dip in and look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 6 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hand Stitch, Perspectives (Hardcover)
A fabulous book if you are at all interested in the history & aesthetics of embroidery & stitch. Insightful essays by many contributors with a wealth of knowledge & experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for any textile lover!, 26 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hand Stitch, Perspectives (Hardcover)
Great content, brilliant insight and reference for any textiles student, artist or enthusiast! I found the chapters on Indian hand stitch most interesting and beneficial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hand Stitch, Perspectives
Hand Stitch, Perspectives by Jane McKeating (Hardcover - 11 Oct. 2012)
£31.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews