Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Packed with useful tips, 1 Sep 2010
This review is from: Greenlit: Developing Factual/Reality TV Ideas from Concept to Pitch (Professional Media Practice) (Paperback)
Highly recommended. As a Development Producer with a fair few years in the field, I wasn't sure how much I'd get out of this book. Totally wrong - it was worth every penny. The writing is lucid and amusing and as the previous reviewer says, while it's a bit of text book, it's never dry.

I realised a couple of basic mistakes our development team were making and have already begun to implement changes. There's nothing you can do about the madness of the commissioning process, but there is something you can do to improve your pitches and the odds: buy this book. Now I just need to get the boss to read it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicola Lees is a friend who is on your side, 21 Sep 2010
This review is from: Greenlit: Developing Factual/Reality TV Ideas from Concept to Pitch (Professional Media Practice) (Paperback)
I keep Greenlit on my desk in front of my computer, many pages now have the corners turned down, and as I get to different stages in my pitches I will consult it before going on to the next stage. Clear, practical and without hype - just a good solid book that is easy to read and very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for anyone who wants to get their ideas on TV, 31 Aug 2010
This review is from: Greenlit: Developing Factual/Reality TV Ideas from Concept to Pitch (Professional Media Practice) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book and is jam packed with valuable information. Each chapter also includes several case studies that give you the inside track on factual television success stories that until now, you may have only admired from afar.

This book looks like a text book and the content has been structured with an academic vigour, but it's written in a very easy to read style that will have you speeding through the pages and then re-reading again to make sure you didn't miss any thing. I expect my copy to become well-thumbed in no time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST BOOK YOU CAN BUY FOR DEVELOPING TV IDEAS, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Nikalas Catlow (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greenlit: Developing Factual/Reality TV Ideas from Concept to Pitch (Professional Media Practice) (Paperback)
This book is the whole package! Everything you need to know about developing an idea for a TV program. It's a step by step guide but you can also just dip in and out of it as and when you need information. I've read the book cover to cover 4 times and have found it incredibly useful. Having read just about every single book there is on the subject of developing ideas for TV I can confidently declare that this book is by far the best and most comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really useful advice, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good points, really well made. Food for thought and extremely useful info for navigating the commissioning jungle. A very comprehensive "Rough Guide" style manual. Pitching is not an exact science but author removes some of the mystique, which is inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great starter for any one considering tv development and a invaluable refresher resource, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greenlit: Developing Factual/Reality TV Ideas from Concept to Pitch (Professional Media Practice) (Paperback)
great starter for any one considering tv development and a invaluable refresher resource, well written, easy to understand, great as reference book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need!, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was reading this book from the perspective of someone with various ideas, but relatively little production experience. Whilst I found the book much more aimed at established development producers, the overview of the entire process from idea to conception was invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Absolute Development Bible, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greenlit: Developing Factual/Reality TV Ideas from Concept to Pitch (Professional Media Practice) (Paperback)
If you've just arrived in the television industry and want to shine, this book is the perfect catalyst for your career. It's concise, packed with brilliant anecdotes, and takes you step by step through each facet of developing factual ideas with real potential. It's referred to daily, tabbed in coloured post its, highlighted, and often quoted. Money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful read, 20 Oct 2012
This review is from: Greenlit: Developing Factual/Reality TV Ideas from Concept to Pitch (Professional Media Practice) (Paperback)
It's an interesting read. Much is based on the author's personal opinion and includes experiences from others in the industry. However, every experience is different so don't use this as a bible. The spelling mistakes and grammatical errors (much US/ English spell checking) are irritating but if you can cope it's worth it. I'm hoping it will be updated regularly too.
Nicola seems to be supporting self-starters in our industry and, therefore, deserves our support in return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Your guide for TV land, 31 May 2011
This review is from: Greenlit: Developing Factual/Reality TV Ideas from Concept to Pitch (Professional Media Practice) (Paperback)
I was fortunate enough to get an idea in front of a commissioner who loved the format and straight away wanted to develop the format and commission a pilot - trouble was I had never done anything like this before and was way out of my depth in terms of understanding the TV production landscape - to the point I nearly backed off but fortunately read Greenlit that not only reassured me of what I was going through but also gave me confidence that I could get an idea on television. An invaluable companion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews