Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a guide for creatives by creatives, 1 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers, Essential Guides (Paperback)
This is a very accessible guide for students in all creative industries. All too often it becomes very difficult to extract key needs in a way that will engage young creatives and help them to realize what may in store after graduation - but more importantly, prepare them for it.

Branagan has hit the nail on the head for me. Purists might not be happy and up to date finance info is nigh on impossible... and will always change. If you are an educator who cares about the future potential of your young creative students, then this goes a long way to demystify what its all about - in a way that engages with innovative minds. It even considers dyslexic creatives in the way that it has been designed.

Bravo

Prof. Andy Penaluna, Chair - Enterprise Educators UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks, 4 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers, Essential Guides (Paperback)
I wanted to know about the art business but was apprehensive as to the complicated content.
I was relieved at the simple way the book is set out and how easy it is to understand.
As I am impatient I didn't want to trawl through loads of complex books to find a passage in one book and a passage in another one, so this book fits the bill nicely, coupled with Alison's 'Making Sense of Business' I had a good start to help me in my new business venture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic business guide for creatives, 12 April 2011
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers, Essential Guides (Paperback)
The foreword by Sir James Dyson sums up the contents of this book - 'it cuts through the clatter and jargon of business giving clear, simple advice about how to make a success out of your arts practice or creative business' Alison sets out the key areas of running a business clearly and succinctly and pitches the tone at just the right level, so much so that we recently bought 40 copies for our graduate business course for jewellers and silversmiths. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for artists & designers needing to make a living from their work, 30 April 2011
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers, Essential Guides (Paperback)
An extremely useful follow up to the author's 'Making Sense of Business', targeted specifically at the creative industries. Branagan's longtime experience in the field is evident, her pragmatic but inspiring approach enabling artists and designers to understand their practice as genuinely having the potential to provide them a living. With all areas of business shifting so quickly today, this is a worthwhile addition to your business reference library, even if you have already enjoyed and benefited from the author's 'Making Sense of Business'. The recommendations for further reading are numerous but in line with the depth of business understanding the artist or designer needs to develop. I keep the book close at hand for regular reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential indeed, 19 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers, Essential Guides (Paperback)
This book is a brilliant guide for those starting out as freelancers or setting up a business within the art and design industry. It manages to cover a great deal of what Alison has taught in her highly regarded lectures, and in many instances goes even further,illustrating the key points with case studies from a varied range of practitioners from within the industry.

There are also a phenomenal amount of highly relevant resources listed (both print and web) for everything from Tax issues to Self Promotion. It's the next best thing to having this extremely knowledgeable author on call as you set out on your venture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 6 Sept. 2011
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers, Essential Guides (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to everyone. its like a really good brainstorming session, you will feel refreshed with new ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers, 5 Aug. 2012
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers, Essential Guides (Paperback)
This book, 'The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers' covers everything a creative person needs to know to continue their career as an art practitioner. Its well written, informative and has a very practical approach to business in the world of Art and Design. Investigating the various roles an artist or designer has to undertake to become commercially successful, the book covers many subjects informally, from promotion, legal issues, book keeping and IT, all in a tone which is matter of fact and down to earth. A useful book to have for a variety of helpful tips and handy to have to hand. Great to see another book from Alison Branagan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entrepreneurship, 27 Aug. 2011
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers, Essential Guides (Paperback)
Having bought and read Alison's first book, I was keen to acquire this one. As a follow-up, this was equally informative and useful. I also definitely recommend this to any budding entrepreneur, and look forward to any of her future publications. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you really want to sell your art read this book, 30 Mar. 2015
By 
A. Saunders (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers, Essential Guides (Paperback)
I wish I had owned this book years ago. There is everything you could possibly need in here to be an artist who actually sells their work. Branagan has obviously been around numerous artists and understands the way creative brains are wired so there is no escape from her direct and relentless advice! I have been a freelance animator for 30 years and am now setting up my own business.I admit I knew nothing of business plans and (horror of horrors) spread sheets. All this is explained clearly and humorously with nice artist-friendly pictures to make it totally accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for Students, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers, Essential Guides (Paperback)
I am a student studying Decorative Arts at Nottingham Trent University. We have a business modules within the course and we have to write business plans etc etc, this book is great for everything. it covers everything specifically for a craftsperson. It is written in a friendly manner and it easy to understand. We were lucky enough to have a crafts council hothouse day at NTU and we attended, where we met the author and got to flick through the book. I bought it that night and have been impressed by it. The book is five star!! Can highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers, Essential Guides
£16.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews