Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geat new field guide with expanded range!
This is a very fine new field guide for the mammals of Europe and its "surroundings". The good and new thing is that it has this considerably expanded range compared to previous European mammal field guides. Thus, it includes North Africa, north of the tropic of Cancer. And in the east, it includes the areas to the western shores of the Caspian Sea. In addition, it does...
Published on 20 Jan 2010 by Robert K. Furrer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but not great.
This is a compact, authorative yet concise account of the land mammals of Europe (and beyond...). It has been formatted in a way similar to many bird guides and so has detailed, punchy text and a map opposite a drawn picture or two of the species. For some species, there is good information on footprints, skull morphology and dentition. There are surprisingly good notes...
Published 12 months ago by Stage


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geat new field guide with expanded range!, 20 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Mammals of Europe, North Africa and the Middle East (Hardcover)
This is a very fine new field guide for the mammals of Europe and its "surroundings". The good and new thing is that it has this considerably expanded range compared to previous European mammal field guides. Thus, it includes North Africa, north of the tropic of Cancer. And in the east, it includes the areas to the western shores of the Caspian Sea. In addition, it does away with the purist attitude of only showing native species. Thus there are also range maps for Raccoon and Racoon Dog to just name two.

The book has the convenient, nowadays customary arrangement with colour plates on one side and text plus range maps on the opposite side of the same spread. In most cases, aside from a very appealing colour illustration, there is also a skull and often a tooth detail in b&w. Thus, the book can also be helpful for ornithologists studying owl pellets and the like.

The text includes information on size, weight, identification features, but also on habitat, biology, habits, food.

A very attractive and yet compact book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mammals of Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, 27 April 2010
By 
Dr. R. Rabett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mammals of Europe, North Africa and the Middle East (Hardcover)
As a archaeological faunal specialist, I bought this book to take with me into the field. It's compact and easily packed, yet very comprehensive and well-illustrated. I have found the additional skull and dentition drawings associated with the different species particularly helpful. I strongly recommend it for enthusiasts and professionals alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but not great., 26 Oct 2013
This review is from: Mammals of Europe, North Africa and the Middle East (Hardcover)
This is a compact, authorative yet concise account of the land mammals of Europe (and beyond...). It has been formatted in a way similar to many bird guides and so has detailed, punchy text and a map opposite a drawn picture or two of the species. For some species, there is good information on footprints, skull morphology and dentition. There are surprisingly good notes on causes of death, including diseases.

Unfortunately, for UK users the book seems written for the European market and so is poorly targeted for us. The species selected for inclusion works against the interests of the reader. For example, there are mammals from the very edges of the Western Palearctic range: Serval, Giant mole-rat, Siberian weasel and Saiga. There are 9 double pages of gerbils yet no whales and dolphins at all! This is a stunning omission in my view which may be OK for central European readers but if you live on the Atlantic fringes, you want a book on European mammals to contain at least the common cetaceans.

The other drawbacks:

The text needs better English editing as some of the phrasing sounds like a translation. European names creep in eg. a moose is a moose not an "elk".

The quality of the species drawings are variable: I think the jizz of the wildcat, pine marten, bank vole and hedgehog just feels wrong. Photographs would have worked better.

Many of the distribution maps (for the UK at least) are also way out of date, even when you take into account the 2009 publication date (red squirrel, wildcat, pine marten and wild boar).

So in the end it's OK but if you want a better UK mammal guide, there are many others out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of mammal book, 15 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mammals of Europe, North Africa and the Middle East (Hardcover)
I gave this to my brother as a Christmas present. He appreciated the book and was impressed with how comprehensive the book is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great size for field trips- But modernization neccesarry, 21 Jun 2011
This review is from: Mammals of Europe, North Africa and the Middle East (Hardcover)
I like very much the small size which is great for excursions.
I have similar books about the Insects, Spiders and Birds of Europe. I bought all of them from (or via) Amazon. Comparing to the REAL photographs and layouts of those books i was quite disappointed when i saw the drawings or colored illustrations in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mammals of Europe, North Africa and the Middle East
Mammals of Europe, North Africa and the Middle East by S. Aulagnier (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2009)
£22.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews