Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality writing
What can I say? Arthur Miller is a must read for anyone who wants to understand how a playwright constructs a play. Death of a Salesman is probably the most accssesible play here-but the Crucible is a good read too.
Published on 1 Mar 2009 by Mr. A. R. Brown

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Grubby
The book had too many written notes on the text. They were in ball-point,so couldn't be erased.This applies to "Death of a Salesman".
Published 9 months ago by sheila robinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality writing, 1 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. A. R. Brown "antov100" (uk-bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What can I say? Arthur Miller is a must read for anyone who wants to understand how a playwright constructs a play. Death of a Salesman is probably the most accssesible play here-but the Crucible is a good read too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 18 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miller Plays 1: All My Sons, Death of a Salesman, The Crucible, A Memory of Two Mondays, A View from the Bridge (World Classics): "All My Sons", ... Two Mondays", A "View from the Bridge" v. 1 (Paperback)
this is brilliant, and a must for all arthur miller fans! it includes all of his major and well-known plays, which are all fantastic. the book is lovely too, with a beautiful picture and cover. i am very happy with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the classics., 2 Sep 2010
By 
Arthur Blenkinsop (Lanarkshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miller Plays 1: All My Sons, Death of a Salesman, The Crucible, A Memory of Two Mondays, A View from the Bridge (World Classics): "All My Sons", ... Two Mondays", A "View from the Bridge" v. 1 (Paperback)
This set contains all Miller's truly great plays. Opinions vary but, apart from A Memory of Two Mondays (which is still interesting), every play in this set is a major masterpiece. Death of a Salesman is regarded by many as the greatest American play ever but the other 3 full-length plays aren't so very far behind. There is also an excellent 50+ page introduction by Miller himself. This was the collection that made me fall in love with Miller's writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Grubby, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miller Plays 1: All My Sons, Death of a Salesman, The Crucible, A Memory of Two Mondays, A View from the Bridge (World Classics): "All My Sons", ... Two Mondays", A "View from the Bridge" v. 1 (Paperback)
The book had too many written notes on the text. They were in ball-point,so couldn't be erased.This applies to "Death of a Salesman".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arthur Miller - that is all., 10 Dec 2012
By 
Ms. Fiona Allen "catlover" (edinburgh, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For my money, Arthur Miller is the master of 20th century writers in the English language, and these are some of his finest works, in one collection. Even if you don't particularly care for drama, they actually read quite well as short stories, just with a different layout. Unsurpassed artistry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A joy to read, 17 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Out of all the plays which are in this book, A View from the Bridge has to be my favourite. Miller writes about family conflict, betrayal and love. Each time I read the play my views of Eddie change, is he an over protective family man or is he a man obsessed with power? Alfieri, the lawyer acts as a dramatic device, and in a way like a Greek chorus, giving the audience clues to what is going to happen. As we read we can see the tragedy unfold before us and we know that Catherine will fall in love with Rodolpho and that it will not end happily. Much like All my Sons and Death of a Salesman we do not read Miller's plays for a happy ending but to know what is going to happen and how. This book really is a must for all Miller fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews