Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential resource
This book is always on my desk. Yes it's quite large, but there's such a wealth of info inside that that's never a problem. Sometimes I use it like a directory, as it's a fantastic place to find useful names and addresses, or perhaps ideas for magazines to propose freelance material too. At other times, it's useful for giving advice as there are little editorial pieces...
Published on 9 Mar 2010 by P. Lomax

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great assistance
The book is very informative. And useful, but it does include a lot of unecessary sections. Overall good for writers seeking contacts.
Published on 19 Oct 2009 by Mr. T. G. Hallam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential resource, 9 Mar 2010
By 
P. Lomax - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2010 (Paperback)
This book is always on my desk. Yes it's quite large, but there's such a wealth of info inside that that's never a problem. Sometimes I use it like a directory, as it's a fantastic place to find useful names and addresses, or perhaps ideas for magazines to propose freelance material too. At other times, it's useful for giving advice as there are little editorial pieces from people who've made it in various areas of the industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Budding Writers' Gem, 11 Feb 2010
By 
P. Bryant (Churchdown,Glos) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2010 (Paperback)
I borrowed the 2009 version from the library but it was a pain having to keep renewing it so bought the 2010 version. This has got everything the budding writer needs to know - it's virtually the same as the 2009 version, just updated I think - but worth the money especially on how to present your work to an agent. It covers all aspects of writing from poetry to children's books to adult fiction to travel writing and gives pages and pages of useful information plus importantly the names and adddresses of literary agents for whichever genre you hope to get published. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a very useful resource, just a bit big, 25 Sep 2009
By 
Shereen Docherty (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2010 (Paperback)
A very useful resource for anyone looking for insider industry advice and - primarily - names and addresses of agents/producers who do (and do not) take unsolicited scripts.

Unfortunately if you are niche- and know you are only interested in writing television sitcoms, just for example - then the vast majority of the book is not of use... as it covers television, radio, theatre etcetera .... just a shame they can't break it down into smaller individual books ... but a very valuable resource for any budding artists and writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whatever you want to write, you need this book, 14 Mar 2010
This review is from: Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2010 (Paperback)
As a non-fiction author of more than 20 books (including one about how to write non-fiction!) I have been buying the "W&A Yearbook" every year for the last century, or so it seems. It doesn't matter how well connected you think you are, you can always benefit from the thousands upon thousands of contacts this book provides you with - not to mention the excellent articles and guidelines which are helpful for writers of all levels from beginners to veterans. Once you get used to its format you'll find every starting point you need to research publishers, publications, and every other imaginable resource. It's not a purchase; it's an essential investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Essential, 21 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. Colin R. Macdonald (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2010 (Paperback)
This book was recommended to me by a friend and fellow-writer. It was not something I had been previously aware of, and contains a wealth of helpful material. Anyone contemplating a career as a writer will find that the Writers' and Artists' Yearbook is money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YUP..., 6 Feb 2010
This review is from: Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2010 (Paperback)
...It deserves to be the number one bestseller.
Everthing you need and have to know to make it as a newbie or an old hack.
Although, having said that, you do need to ensure that the agency/publisher you're approaching is still extant. I found that the turnover for new agencies/publishers can be alarmingly fast.
Get it.
It's a heavyweight tome at the very least, so you're getting you're money's worth and you'll be able to lay a fire with it if you don't get published.
I use mine as a legal alternative to the old fashioned sand-filled sock when walking in Llanelli at night.
Frothy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The main guide for writers., 4 Jan 2010
By 
A. Kirk (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2010 (Paperback)
It is unusual to still have a printed guide which is useful in today's internet world, perhaps appropriate that it is aimed at writers. Simply a comprehensive guide to anything and everything regarding writing. The articles are well written, the information spot on with what is wanted.

One word of caution though if you buy any of the versions focussed on one type of writing you will get duplicates of many of the articles, you probably only need this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Invaluable Tool., 22 Dec 2009
By 
W. Couper (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2010 (Paperback)
The Writers' and Artists' Yearbook is one of those things that every writer starting out needs. Not only is it full of professionals giving their advice for various aspects of the publishing industry it contains pages and pages of contacts that are essential for getting a start in the writing industry.

One thing that it does need, and perhaps this will turn up next year, is a section on print on demand publishers.

That one oversight aside this is an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Writer's Resource!, 2 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2010 (Paperback)
I would be lost without The Writer's & Artist's Yearbook 2010. It's been very useful in locating agents & publishers in the UK especially, and other countries. The contact info. is very helpful and accurate. I also enjoyed the various authors' advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just another purchaser's review, 13 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2010 (Paperback)
I thought this was a worthwhile investment. Previously having purchased the writer's Handbook (2008) I thought the W&A Yearbook was clearer and better laid out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2010
Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2010 by A & C Black Publishers Ltd (Paperback - 30 Jun 2009)
12.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews