Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars12
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2003
Padriac opens the front door wide. Standing there are Christy, Joey and Brandon... Padraic laughs, happy to see them.
Christy: Howdo.
Padraic: Christy! What the feck are you fellas doing out this way? Come on in ahead for yourselves. I'm just in the middle of shooting me dad.
In Martin McDonagh's black comedy 'The Lieutenant of Inishmore', Padraic, a man refused entry to the I.R.A for being 'too mad', reacts badly to the news that his cat is 'ill'. Following his immediate return from Northern Ireland, having left his usual duties of torturing and terrorism, the situation goes from bad to worse for Donny, Padraic's weary father, and Davey, his teenage next door neighbour.
One of the funniest plays I have seen, this political satire is also the most shocking. Banned in many parts of Ireland, the play is characterised by a surfeit of violence that is fortunately mitigated by its humour. Significantly this is not, as many critics like to crow, violence for violence's sake; it is a deeply cutting, significant statement about the nature of Ireland and its troubles. A final twist in the story leaves the audience left with an inescapable sense of pointlessness, and of how so much is lost for so little gain.
Without its witty writing, 'The Lieutenant of Inishmore' would be unwatchable. However, humour is an intrinsic part of the play, and an aspect that makes its message all the more memorable. A play that draws upon a rich heritage of political theatre to create somethingthing unique, I would recommend it to all.
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2008
I got this play second hand. It is quite simply one of my favourite irish plays. Don't kid yourself, it is definately a BLACK comedy. But absolutely fantastic. laugh out loud all the way through but as the last reviewer said it is very satirical of how the political system (shamefully) once was. A great read
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2010
I love this play so much. I saw it a few years ago when it transfered to the Garrick Theatre from the Barbican, and it's so funny! The humour is very black, and seeing it is not for the squeamish - the first 2 rows of the stalls had to be taken off sale because the people sitting there always got drenched in 'blood'! But its a joy to read; the sheer amount of violence doesn't come through in the text as much as on stage, but it takes the violence to laughably ridiculous levels. A very black comedy indeed. Martin McDonagh is such an excellent writer, his dialogue is so memorable. Reading this on the train back from London, I kept getting odd looks from people because I was laughing out loud. A work of genius, and in my opinion his best play.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
Brilliantly written as always by Martin. Even his synopsises are a small masterpiece. There are many metaphors you can glean from this - which is always an attribute in a work of art - as with any anti racist argument, there are similar characters in all cultures, each with a different cross to bear - so to speak. As well as the enlightening research that accompanies the play, the actual thing itself is a fast paced, action packed piece of theatrical writing that is wickedly funny.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 July 2011
I have never been fortunate to see a production of this incredible play (it is not easy to stage, that is for sure) but it leaps off the page with enormous verve and comedic panache.

It is the blackest of black comedies and the better for it. The writing is incredibly assured and the plotting very taut. It is impossible not to laugh out loud as you read it.

Now, if I can solve the technical challenges (and train a cat or two), I shall have to book a theatre and direct it...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
I bought this book as i was asked to engage in a design project for it's set and costume design. I found the play very interesting and once I got over the slang used, I really enjoyed the play. I found it both thought provoking and also unexpectedly humorous. Worth reading!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
One of the best plays I've ever seen in the theatre. Martin McDonagh is now more famous for his film work on 'In Bruges' and '7 Psychopaths' but this is one of his earlier plays which is along the same lines of dark humour. Very funny.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2011
This play came like new, but I paid less than the asking prices for the 'brand new' scripts. Postage was quite quick, and the product came in good condition and fully intact. No problems whatsoever!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
Was a very good read, slightly more violent than McDonagh's other works. Ultimately with twists and turns an entertaining read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
Very happy with the order. Thank you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse