Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good addition, 9 Dec 2010
This review is from: Introducing Pottery: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
The market for books aimed at pottery beginners is a rather crowded one with some well-known names providing either specialised advice or encompassing the entire field of ceramic practice. Dan Rhode's new book belongs to the latter as he deftly and concisely deals with a complete discussion from various making techniques to glazing health and safety guidelines ending with an overview of running a ceramic business. The text is well supported by numerous photos which illustrate techniques and objectives clearly and effectively. A section on toxicity and glazing also shows a welcome insight and Rhodes succeeds here where other potter/writers either avoid the subject entirely or provide minimal explanations. The editing is excellent so ingredients, temperatures and terminology have been made accessible to British readers while the photos of American potters' works reveal the writer's nationality. On the whole, this is a better beginner's book for a discerning library or collection. Clear, succint writing and good photographs give this book an edge over others but if you are building a library as a professional potter, I would also add Susan Peterson's excellent work "The Craft and Art of Clay", Phil Rogers "Throwing Pots" and if you work with porcelain, Peter Lane's "Studio Porcelain".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good overview, 23 Feb 2011
This review is from: Introducing Pottery: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
This book attempts to do a LOT in a relatively limited space. And it actually works. There's really good information on glazes, how they are made, mixed, and what they are made of. It also covers information on glaze formulation, an area where I have been struggling but the information is actually clear for once, which is a nice change. Its pretty much the same info about how to make pots as you'll find in most books, but the pictures are good and helpful. Overall, I really like it, even though its not altogether a new book--lots of similar info to other books, but a nice new addition to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, 27 Nov 2010
This review is from: Introducing Pottery: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
I found this book to be very useful. It covers a lot of information, but in an easily understandable format. The photos are helpful, and there are a lot of them. Good for the practicing potter but also for someone who just appreciates pottery and likes to see how pieces were made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating writing, great pictures, 3 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Pottery: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
I'd been looking for a combination of basics and higher-level teaching, and this seems to be it. I look forward to reading it in more depth than Christmas has allowed. The photos are splendid and instructive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introducing Pottery: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
This book gives you a complete guide to pottery- talking about wheels,kilns etc and about the different pottery types thumb/pinch pot,slab and coil techniques. In line with what my 'Tutor' has taught me and she's done pottery for over 30 years and has learnt commercially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, well written with superb photographs, 22 Dec 2010
This review is from: Introducing Pottery: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
If this book doesn't make you want to take up pottery then nothing will. You are straightaway plunged into a fascinating world that you just want to be part of. Enjoyable and informative - a great combination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, 5 Nov 2010
By 
Philip Ashmore (Buxton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Introducing Pottery: The Complete Guide (Paperback)
This is that rare thing: a book that is a superb guide for beginners, but also great for those of us who already think we know about pottery. Really refreshing to see a book like this come on to the market. Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Introducing Pottery: The Complete Guide
Introducing Pottery: The Complete Guide by Dan Rhode (Paperback - 26 Oct 2010)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews