Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars11
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 November 2009
I needed a field guide for a short trip to India and this book was recommended on an Indian website. I have not regretted buying it. The illustrations are excellent although some plates are very busy due to the vast region covered. A brief text is found opposite the plates with the all important notes on voice. Distribution maps are usually on the page preceding the notes or the page following the illustration. All in all a very usable field guide. I have since bought the Grimmett and Inskipp "Birds of Southern India" to cut down the species treated. However without distribution maps and voice notes it is not a patch on this field guide and subsequently will not make my next trip. If you need a field guide for India, this is the one I would recommend.
0Comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2010
As an amateur this seems to me to fill the bill for taking on a trip not dedicated to birdwatching. The only caveat is the absence of the promised distribution map key on the inside back cover (thus the absence of the 5th star): but full marks to the publisher for service here. I emailed them about this and received a courteous response the same day with an attachment containing the key. So all ends well.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
This is a comprehensive field guide with decent illustrations, descriptions and maps. The only issue is that I could not find a key to the maps anywhere. As there is quite a range of colours and shading used in the maps, this makes them hard to interpret. In the text it suggests that the key is on the inside rear cover but it clearly is not. I have contacted the publisher to ask for a copy of the key and am awaiting a reply.
22 comments|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2010
I have a special interest in birds and wildlife because,since 1958, I have been a professional international bird painter. I study birds in depth from familiarisation with the actual bird and from study specimans of which I have many.

Birds of the Indian Subcontinent is a very informative book to have on one's shelf and as a field guide. The lavishly arranged illustrations are very accurate and attractive. No less so are the colourful maps showing the location of each bird. It is a relatively small volume but packed with information. It gives me a great deal of pleasure every time I open it.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
A very useful book. Not as big and heavy as some and good for the average birder. Perhaps not quite detailed enough for the more experienced. Maps are easy to sort out as each page is arrowed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
A really good comprehensive book.to take bird watching in India. Possibly the best and definitely worth buying. Shows many subspecies
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
Brilliant field guide. A must for a birding tour in the Indian sub-continent. Clear maps - essential for such a diverse area.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
A really excellent book, very easy to use but as others have noted the key to the distribution maps is missing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
brilliant book with superb illustations and information .provided all the information I needed.would recommend this book to birdwatchers going to india and the subcontinent
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
Not used in the field yet, recommended to us
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)