Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Play
This offering from feminist playwright Caryl Churchill is an uncompromising critique of the capitalist mode of feminism as advocated by the model of the eighties power women, most obviously personified by Margaret Thatcher.

'Top Girls' deploys an interesting technique whereby characters narratives overlap leading to complicated scenarios wherein meaning is lost...
Published on 18 Mar 2007 by M. Fermor

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good as an addition to the play~!
I was hoping to buy the play for Top Girls, and clicked on the link for this one as it was the cheaper of the two paperbacks. I didn't notice any information on whether this was the play, notes, or both, so I assumed it would be like books I've got before: the play accompanied by notes.
This is a book of notes to help with revision and analysis of the play. The play...
Published on 19 Aug 2012 by commedesfilles


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Girls (Student Editions) (Paperback)
Great, book needed for uni studies, good for those who are interested in plays as I needed this for my creative writing part of my English Degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good reading., 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Girls (Student Editions) (Paperback)
Needed the book for an assignment. Good reading along the way, have enjoyed it.
Will pass on to charity shop shop once read for someone else to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Girls (Student Editions) (Paperback)
Bought the item for school requirement. It does what it says. Happy. . . . . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Historical Story, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Girls (Student Editions) (Paperback)
Intersting plot consisting of famous women who love to dominate the conversation. Had a great historical story running through it, which kept me entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Book!, 28 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Girls (Student Editions) (Paperback)
This book was hugely useful for my University course. It is an intelligent and complex play, making it very interesting to read and learn about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AS-Level Text, 28 April 2012
This review is from: Top Girls (Student Editions) (Paperback)
I used this book for my AS-Level Drama coursework and I cannot find any faults with it! There are useful notes at the beginning and as for the text as a whole, Churchill doesn't fail to impress with challenging societies dictation to women!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Purchase, 6 Dec 2011
i purchased for the first time a 'used-good' book, and at first i wasn't too impressed by the condition; the book looked scruffy, had discoloured and some of the pages looked as though someone had put a cup of coffee on it.
However the play itself almost made up for that; throughougly recommend the play to anyone intrested in feminism, Thatcherite values, Artaud, and history in general. The first act is my favourite i have to say, and i feel much more 'culturaly enriched'.
I would advise anyone who intends on just reading the play to buy the 'used good' as it is a lot cheaper, but those intending to study it throughougly, annotating and analysing the play, to buy a new copy outright.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining & Thinking, 3 May 2011
By 
J. C. Chamberlain (Manchester, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Girls (Student Editions) (Paperback)
This play has been a joy to read and study in both creative writing and literature modules with the OU. The innovative way Churchill writes her scripts is interesting to the point where I've been wondering why every single script in the world hasn't been written in the same way.

Top Girls is essentially about the conflict between men and women, and capitalism and socialism. It was written in 1982 and incorporates the problems of that time in Britain - Thatcherism and it's consequences (and what it was a result of too, basically). There are only female characters in the play but it's not so easy to not compare a few of the characters to how we expect men to behave. However for the most part it's actually comparing women with women. The characters are all different from each other, even those who on the surface seem very similar until you really understand their back story. Knowing what they have given up to get where they are, and what they have taken on from other women, and what their prospects could have been or will be, is what really makes you think.

For female professionals like myself it's difficult not to see familiarity in the choices made so certainly any professional woman coming to this play will, at some point, be a little uncomfortable. But that's what makes you think and though it all it's an enjoyable play.

If you're a man I don't think you should be put off by talk of this being a feminist play, or by the all-female cast (we've had to put up with all male casts too you know) because it's a really good play and if it might just open your eyes to the choices ordinary women have to make about their lives, that men don't always have to consider in such detail.

Fully recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 6 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This play is amazing! The techniques Churchill uses to keep your interest are interesting in themselves. A fantastic plot that keeps you engrossed. A brilliant play that combines the issues of class and gender in an unusual way. A joy to study, going to see this play is is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Girls, 17 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Top Girls (Student Editions) (Paperback)
I purchased this text because I am studying Creative Writing with the Open University and needed an example of quality dialogue. It is, however, a beautifully executed piece of drama and would be of particular value to anyone interested in women's issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Girls (Student Editions)
Top Girls (Student Editions) by Caryl Churchill (Paperback - 15 July 2008)
7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews