Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bittersweet and well salted, 24 Sept. 2013
This review is from: A Taste of Honey (Student Editions) (Paperback)
Delaney wrote this little play, about a working class mother and daughter struggling in Manchester when she was only 18. Joan Littlewood's Theatre Workshop developed and produced it in 1958.

It was a radical production because it starred two women. That Jo's nameless boyfriend (and therefore, to her mother's distress, her baby) is Black, that her kind and caring male friend is (implicitly) gay, and that her absent father's mental disability hangs troublingly over her must all have been highly provocative at the time.

I love this funny, painful play and other working-class dramas like those of Willy Russell in the English theatre tradition. The theatre has been a great place for the the British and Irish to shout back at oppression, ask questions, reveal their feelings and demand their rights. The tradition of radical theatre is still strong, growing and changing, and Delaney is one of its brilliant roots.

This student edition is fantastic - a really helpful introduction with questions and further reading suggestions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good , cheap purchase., 14 Jun. 2014
By 
Mrs. A. C. Adkins (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Honey (Student Editions) (Paperback)
Just right for what was needed - cheap copy for marking purposes. Quick dispatch and no problems. Thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Came really quickly and has been very useful with my studies, 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Honey (Student Editions) (Paperback)
Came really quickly and has been very useful with my studies. Text not too small to read and my eyesight is not great. Quality of pages good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars :), 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Honey (Student Editions) (Paperback)
Really good, not the same copy as displayed but came in good condition and time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Honey (Student Editions) (Paperback)
exactly what required
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Honey (Student Editions) (Paperback)
just what I expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Honey (Student Editions) (Paperback)
very helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Honey (Student Editions) (Paperback)
good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars book for university, 10 Mar. 2009
By 
C. I. Smith "c i c smith" (Kent,UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Taste of Honey (Student Editions) (Paperback)
Book for university course,easy to use and is required for the duration of the course,not a book i would have read before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Taste of Honey (Student Editions)
A Taste of Honey (Student Editions) by Shelagh Delaney (Paperback - 14 Aug. 2008)
£9.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews