Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what we've been searching for..............., 8 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This is a great guide for parents and children alike. If you need ideas of books to read or you like a certain book and want to find others like it,then this is a great guide for you.
With over 600 reviews - from classics, to books from our childhood to Captain Underpants and Tracey Beaker. Each book is reviewed, has an age range guide and the best bit - books you might also like to try.
My daughter and I read this book together and picked out lots of books to read - even some that I want to read. For a child that is an avid reader or a child that needs inspiration - this is a really worthwhile addition to the bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Friendly, fun book that exceeded expectations, 16 Feb 2007
I love children's books. My children are less keen but when I find the right subject and tone they can be torn away from the playstation, gameboy or computer. But finding the books is really hard unless you are a librarian or teacher.

This book is an answer to every parent who wants their children to become a book worm. It is also much better than any other children's book guide I have ever used.

Why is it so good?

First,it is fun to use because it is as clearly laid out as a Tracey Beaker novel.

Secondly, each recommended book has a review, clearly written with enough information to make a judgement but not so much you feel bogged down. Another strength is it is not just one person's opinion. A team of contributers recommend books. It is also straight forward to navigate around.; Each book is listed in alphabetical order of title.

Finally and best of all there is a box beside each title that gives ideas of what else you might like to read once you've finished the recommended book. It might include books by the same author or books which are exciting/scary/funny in the same way or which deal with a similar subject in a different way.

For example, my son who is not a great reader, is fascinated by WW2 and I was able to find about ten books I know he will enjoy.

I got my copy from the library but the next edition I will buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 31 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It always amazes me that this fantastic guide, and its teenage and younger versions, are not more widely known. I have worked in children's books for thirty years and it is by far the best guide I have ever come across, not only for its excellent selection but also because it is so user-friendly and interesting to read in itself. My copies are absolutely dog-eared and I constantly use it personally and professionally to refresh my memory! Most importantly, I give it to children all the time ( again both personally and professionally)and it never fails! The teenage version has a faultless selection of adult books suggested for teenage readers.The Ultimate Teen Book Guide: Over 700 Great Books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book, 6 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Ultimate Book Guide: Over 700 Great Books for 8-12s (Ultimate Book Guides) (Paperback)
My son is a voracious reader and I am always trying to find books for him that are exciting yet appropriate for his age (8) This book has been invaluable in suggesting new titles, many that I had not heard of before. No school or library should be without this book, it is inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great reference book, 20 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Book Guide: Over 700 Great Books for 8-12s (Ultimate Book Guides) (Paperback)
This book is very useful for helping your child find books he/she will enjoy. It's very clearly set out so that you can look up a book you already enjoyed and get suggestions for other similar books. There's usually a variety of recommendations depending on why you enjoyed a book - was it the subject matter, the author, the style, etc? It's great for encouraging reluctant readers. Also if your child is into a particular series and won't read anything else (Rainbow Magic anyone?) this book is good for finding alternatives to broaden their reading. A very useful book for parents of junior school children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reading aid, 27 Aug 2009
By 
J. M. Hastings "The Biblio Files" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Book Guide: Over 700 Great Books for 8-12s (Ultimate Book Guides) (Paperback)
Really good guide that selects titles and then related books. You may already know about half of the primary titles but it is the 'if you liked this, then try this...' sections that are the most useful. You will find authors that you were unaware of but that you can almost be sure that your child will enjoy. Most of them seem to have written series rather than just the odd book so plenty to get stuck into!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 4 April 2009
By 
J. Gurden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Book Guide: Over 700 Great Books for 8-12s (Ultimate Book Guides) (Paperback)
A helpful resource that gives useful ideas of the books that you child is likely to want to read. It is written in a clear, direct manner. It gives an idea of the difficulty of each book and on each review it gives a few suggestions of other books your child may wish to read. It gives reviews of old favourites like 'Fantastic Mr Fox' but also gives reviews of more recent fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for broadening reading horizons, 12 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Ultimate Book Guide: Over 700 Great Books for 8-12s (Ultimate Book Guides) (Paperback)
I was lent this book by my daughter's teacher after I moaned to her that if I had to read one more 'Rainbow Magic' book I was going to go completely crackers! It has helped me to find several other books/series which my daughter - age 7 but a competent reader - has enjoyed and given us both loads of ideas for authors to try when she is a little older. (Many of the books listed are within her reading ability but would be somewhat beyond her current comprehension level). I found lots of books in here which I remembered fondly from my own childhood, but there are also lots of recent books reviewed which we look forward to discovering. I've now ordered my own copy of The Ultimate Book Guide as it is definitely a book to be kept on the shelf and referred to frequently as your child's tastes and reading ability develop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Book Guide, 20 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Ultimate Book Guide: Over 700 Great Books for 8-12s (Ultimate Book Guides) (Paperback)
Pupils at school, parents and teachers all found this very useful. We had the previous edition and I couldn't find Diary of a Wimpy Kid which has really got some reluctant readers off the ground like a rocket. Unfortunately it still isn't included but is still worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 10 Mar 2004
This is a very good book but if you like this booi think you should read Get it off with Jono Coleman who is mentioned in this book so buy this and Get It Off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Book Guide: Over 700 Great Books for 8-12s (Ultimate Book Guides)
£10.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews