Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you read john72364's review, please also read this.
The review by john72364 does not do this book justice. I can only imagine that he reviewed an earlier publication, or attached his review to the wrong book.
The book covers 33 routes, and as far as I can see covers pretty much every navigable river in France.
I found it especially useful as I am planning to buy a pleasure boat for inland cruising in France...
Published on 9 Feb 2004 by A. L. Howell

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Through the French Canals
Very interesting reading, informative, a good planning guide, it's not much use as a tool once you are on the water but it does make interesting reading on your way through the canals.

If you're planning to take a boat onto the French canals as we did, I'd recommend this as one of the books to take, you can bore the crew to death with little tit bits of...
Published on 16 Dec 2009 by P. White


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you read john72364's review, please also read this., 9 Feb 2004
By 
A. L. Howell "Alwyn" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The review by john72364 does not do this book justice. I can only imagine that he reviewed an earlier publication, or attached his review to the wrong book.
The book covers 33 routes, and as far as I can see covers pretty much every navigable river in France.
I found it especially useful as I am planning to buy a pleasure boat for inland cruising in France. This told me all I wanted to know in terms of a suitable specification for the boat, which waterways had a million and one locks to negotiate, and gave a good indication of how enjoyable different routes might be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Through the French Canals, 16 Dec 2009
By 
P. White (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very interesting reading, informative, a good planning guide, it's not much use as a tool once you are on the water but it does make interesting reading on your way through the canals.

If you're planning to take a boat onto the French canals as we did, I'd recommend this as one of the books to take, you can bore the crew to death with little tit bits of information.

My advice is to use this book to plan your route and order the Navicarte map books for the canals you then decide to use, they have very detailed maps of all the canals, locks and moorings along the length of canal you're on. The numbers on the canals in this book will match the Navicarte book numbers 1-29, 19 altogether, (don't ask me). Sadly not many of them are available on Amazon UK, they are French with English and German translations of each entry but in less detail. Try searching for Navicarte on Amazon.fr

Carte marine : Navicarte : La Bourgogne Ouest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Through the French Canals, 17 Aug 2003
By 
J. Porter "JP" (Southern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not happy with the title of this book, it should be called French canals from Calais to Marseille, or something like that.
The Callais - Marseilles route is covered, a bit skimpily I think, but the other two main waterways of France are barely mentioned at all. Probably because the author has never been there.
If you are looking for a guide to the Normandy - Brittany - Loire Waterways, or the North East Waterways into Belgium and Holland, this is NOT the book to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well thought out book, 1 Nov 2011
This review is from: Through the French Canals (Paperback)
well thought out book, easy to follow descriptions of waterways in france, would have benefited from a decent sized map/ chart of the rivers and canals included, you really need a chart (imray) of inland waterays for perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars French canals, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through the French Canals (Paperback)
I bought this book as a gift for my husband who is planning a trip through the french canals. He hasn,t put it down.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Through The FEnch Canals, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through the French Canals (Paperback)
Through the French Canals was bought so that I would have information on a trip to Canal du Midi. There was a section on this and many more about all the canals in France. The book gave me was I was looking for and so met the brief. It will be a useful reference book if we do other canal trips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Through the French canals, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through the French Canals (Paperback)
What a brilliant book., loads of information and lovely pictures, really has inspired me to live my dream and this will help
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars all you need to know, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through the French Canals (Paperback)
All the basic info is in this book . If you are planning a cruise in France it is the ideal starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Packed with information., 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through the French Canals (Paperback)
I like the layout , the pictures, and the information this book has. It's a must have for any boater in or planning on going to France,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite as expected, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Through the French Canals (Paperback)
Wanted more details on marinas, at least websites. Require knowledge of pump-out stations as well as diesel, water and electric.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Through the French Canals
Through the French Canals by David Jefferson (Paperback - 10 April 2009)
Used & New from: £10.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews