Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 November 2010
Early on in the book Sheila Graber tells us of a valuable concept she learned at teacher training college. It was that everyone can be an artist in their own way and it was her job as a teacher to provide an environment in which the individual could find their own level. This is a philosophy she has followed through out her teaching career and follows in this book.

Sheila writes about animation from three different perspectives; the history of animated film making, advice for the student animator and Sheila's own experiences as an independent animator. They are grouped together in a way that brings the subject to life and makes it relevant to the student animator of today.

The accompanying DVD is the book brought to life. This triples the information given in the printed book. There are such extras as Student Stuff where extra pages of practical advice are presented in a comic format. There are buttons labelled Graber's Guide that lead to instructional movies. There are buttons labelled Big Movie and Small Movie that lead to movie clips. There is also a Flip Book that allows you to create your own animations, frame by frame, play them back and save them to your computer.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
ANIMATION A HANDY GUIDE - from pastels to pixels - SHEILA GRABER

This unassuming title belies a wealth of knowledge and techniques essential to anyone who wants to develop greater awareness and understanding of animation. The author adopts a unique style, sharing her own life's journey of discovery and the opportunities and encounters that have inspired her. She de-mystifies animated recording techniques and discusses low cost self -made equipment through to state of the art computer techniques. The reader is taken on a journey from creating marks on paper, using mobile phone devices, budget cameras and movie cameras to manipulating 3D graphic images on screen, enabling everyone to access animation.

The book is accompanied by interactive disk material, lavishly illustrated and of course animated to inform and inspire the reader to express their own creative thoughts and achieve personal aspirations.

Now in semi retirement the author wishes to `encourage others to make their own animations' and ` produce materials to encourage others to learn.' Judged on these criteria the book achieves these aims admirably. Few books have assembled knowledge, hands on action, history and inspiration in such an effective and enjoyable manner. This is an essential book for all involved or wishing to be involved in the world of animation.

Geoff Miller
Media Consultant
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2009
The clip is from the DVD that goes with the book showing how Sheila started in animation. Buy the book and have a go yourself!

Sheila Graber's book `Animation - A handy guide' is both welcome and timely. The book is a guide, as against a manual, and approaches the subject conceptually and historically so that the reader gets a feeling for the ideas that animation is best suited to, and importantly, the fun of animating for its own sake; anyone who has taught children to animate will know the delight and amazement they find in seeing their first attempts work.
The book is well and profusely illustrated, and presented in a conversational way that is easy to read and understand. Though stating that it is aimed at professionals, students, and total beginners, my guess is the market is more likely to be in education as animation is now regarded and an `enabling skill' along with literacy and numeracy.
I would recommend this book to anyone starting out in animation, but also to teachers exploring new ideas, and media professionals who need to get a broad understanding of animation applications and techniques for use in their own field of work.

Stan Hayward - Scriptwriter for Bob Godfrey and many other animators
review image review image
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
The book is brilliant, I attended the university where Sheila Graber guest lectures, and she is a joy, offering wonderful advice to students, and to have this advice and experience in printed form is extremely beneficial. I felt extremely privileged to have had the opportunity to not only speak with her directly but to have my work used as an example for the book.

The different sections use examples of students work to illustrate points and the DVD includes the films, providing a useful reference for the different animation techniques documented in the book.

The history provided is also useful, as it gives more depth into the subject of drawing, and how animation has developed, the timeline at the beginning, giving a concise account of important moments in history.

I would recommend this book to anyone interested in animation, whether a beginner, a student or a more seasoned professional, as it is an indispensable source of knowledge.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
Sheila Graber's book is a warm, relaxed, yet hugely informative overview of animation techniques and approaches. It is inspiring, creative and delivered in clear and exciting bursts, which are so easy to grasp. I have added this book to my student's reading list. It is indeed a 'handy guide' and lots more besides. A must for animation students and enthusiasts! Lovely!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2012
This book is packed full of valuable, accessible information which really makes you want to animate. Sheila Graber certainly knows her stuff and I would imagine she's a great teacher. Many techniques and ideas are included, and there's a helpful dvd as well. I think that this package will be an inspiration at all levels of education. Terrific!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2010
This is the much needed guide to animation, for A 1level to Degree (written by my sister-in-law !)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2016
very excellent book, I knew was not new but it did not say the dvd with the book was not enclosed with it.When it arrived no dvd. I did get 50 per cent off the price when i informed them as they could not supply the disk.still made me very unhappy as it was supposed to be a gift for my daughter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
A brilliant, brilliant visual history of animation. For me it brought back many memories of things I watched and loved as a child and so interesting to see the developments and what they meant. Superb service, thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.