Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to write good dialogue, buy this!
An excellent book. The author begins by exploring how people really talk, then moves on to examine how we need to adapt this when writing fictional dialogue, to retain the essence of realism without the boredom factor. He goes on to look at the different styles of dialogue, from realism and heightened realism to the highly stylised dialogue written by people such as...
Published on 30 April 2001

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably as good as can be expected for such a specialised topic
I think when I bought this book I was hoping for some real insights into dialogue and good techniques to use when writing. However after finishing I am not left with this feeling...But I don't think it's necessarily the author's fault.

To be fair I think writing advice on such a specialised topic is difficult and perhaps this is the most insight one can...
Published on 1 Mar 2009 by Flying Chumpino


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to write good dialogue, buy this!, 30 April 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book. The author begins by exploring how people really talk, then moves on to examine how we need to adapt this when writing fictional dialogue, to retain the essence of realism without the boredom factor. He goes on to look at the different styles of dialogue, from realism and heightened realism to the highly stylised dialogue written by people such as Oscar Wilde. Fascinating stuff, with gems of relevant info on every page.
Unlike many books on fiction writing, the author does not talk down to the reader. Neither does he include general fiction-writing info which is not strictly relevant to the title of the tome - a huge bonus, since it can be irritating when every fiction-writing guide you pick up, whatever its professed subject matter, tells you the same fundamental stuff you've read a thousand times before. Full marks for sticking to the subject and covering it in depth, rather than padding it out with "general" writing tips.
I strongly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shows you how to improve dialogue and avoid the many traps, 23 Jan 2001
Although primarily aimed at scriptwriting, this book reveals how inexperienced writers tend to come out with atrocious lines when they attempt dialogue. The author presents good examples of the common pitfalls. I particularly like the section in Chapter Four when he examines a stretch of crap dialogue and then proceeds to fix the material up. I found this kind of practical advice very useful. In comparison,Stephen King's recent book on writing is a disappointing swindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably as good as can be expected for such a specialised topic, 1 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Writing Dialogue for Scripts: Effective Dialogue for Film, TV, Radio and Stage (Writing Handbooks) (Paperback)
I think when I bought this book I was hoping for some real insights into dialogue and good techniques to use when writing. However after finishing I am not left with this feeling...But I don't think it's necessarily the author's fault.

To be fair I think writing advice on such a specialised topic is difficult and perhaps this is the most insight one can learn.
The author often slips into talking about what makes a good character/plot, and not specifically what makes good dialogue. But I can't blame him given that dialogue is so inherently linked to these other elements. I feel the overall message is: get the basics of the book right and to an extent the dialogue will come.

On top of that there are a few tips such as remembering to write how people speak i.e accents, verbal mannerisms etc. but that seemed fairly evident to me.

So in conclusion, it's probably the subject rather than the writing that makes this book unrewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book, 2 Mar 2006
This is a great book. It gives great advice on how to write good dialogue dealing with many different styles of dialogue and how it changes between the different mediums of theatre and screen. The writing style is very easy to understand with no jargon being used without being first explained. I started around the same time that I bought this book and can see a clear difference in the quality of dialogue at the beginning and where I am now which shows just how useful this book is. I would reccommend this to anyone wishing to improve their skills at writing good dialogue for scripts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, 28 Nov 2011
This review is from: Writing Dialogue for Scripts: Effective Dialogue for Film, TV, Radio and Stage (Writing Handbooks) (Paperback)
As an aspiring writer (sit-coms) I can't recommend this book highly enough. Full of advice that when you read it might lead you to think "well that's obvious isn't it?" then you realise - or I did - that obvious it might be, but you hadn't thought of it actually. If like me, you kind of know you have the talent but maybe not the confidence to believe in yourself, this is a must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gets to the heart of dialogue, 1 July 2008
By 
Stephen Ince "Steve Ince" (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Writing Dialogue for Scripts: Effective Dialogue for Film, TV, Radio and Stage (Writing Handbooks) (Paperback)
This is not a book about screenwriting but a book about dialogue and one which does the job excellently. I heartily recommend this to anyone interested in understanding the way speech works and how to transfer that speech into script dialogue that will come across as dynamic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars gained nothing, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing Dialogue for Scripts: Effective Dialogue for Film, TV, Radio and Stage (Writing Handbooks) (Paperback)
thought i might gleam something from this but it proved a waste of money. Unless yopu have never spoken to anyone in your life, I doubt this will be of help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if studying Creative Writing with OU - a helpful book, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing Dialogue for Scripts: Effective Dialogue for Film, TV, Radio and Stage (Writing Handbooks) (Paperback)
useful for OU Creative Writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it could have been., 24 Aug 2009
By 
There are far better books out there that are more rounded and more helpful. The problem with this book is that it is too specialised. It takes one aspect of a script and tries to explain it in far too great detail than dialogue should be attributed. When considering writing a screenplay or a script of any sort, most people automatically assume that dialogue is the main feature. Whilst dialogue may make up the majority of a script, it does not form a script. You would be better of buying a book which details the main points of a script and explains the key parts which form a script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really bad, 21 Mar 2002
By A Customer
Do not buy this book! It is a waste of money. There are a lot of books on screenwriting. Some are good. Some are bad. This is not a good one. If you are interested in writing film/short films then stay away from this really terrible book. This book is about writing dialouge for PLAYS/not film/not radio. The author writes plays and pretends he writes screenplays. He has only been a script reader. Look, if you want to write plays - then buy this book. But if you want to write for film - do not buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews