Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heartwarming and heartbreaking
If ever there was a story that demonstrated the genorosity of the human spirit then it is within this book. The story is heartwarming as Mr. Coogan tells the story of his formative years and in particular how his passion for running would literally save his life when he was a prisoner of war in Japan during the Second World war.
His experience of being held captive...
Published on 22 Aug. 2012 by Nicky Dorrian

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Andy Coogan's life story
I liked the book but felt that the title is not an accurate depiction of it (hence the 3 stars rather than 4). This is more a biography of Andy Coogan rather than a book which centres on the Japanese war camps. Much of the book concentrates on Andy's life before the war whilst his war experience is really secondary to the story of the man himself. Don't get me wrong, its...
Published 18 months ago by ps99


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars tommorow you die, 27 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well written. The authors background is vividly described, the hardship he experienced did not deter him from making a very constructive life. He was fortunate in this respect from having a loving family and the people who surrounded them. The dreadful experiences he endured during his years as a POW did not affect his faith, and with the comradeship of his mates he comes through and continues his life in a very full and understanding way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tomorrow you Die, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This should be compulsive reading to all teenagers; they might learn just what life is all about and perhaps act differently
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing story, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Andy Coogan told it just as it was to be a POW in the hands of the Japanese during WW2. I bought it as a gift for my husband and couldn't wait to get my hands on it. It was well worth reading. There are so few survivors left to tell their stories and Andy's contribution must not be forgotten
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous read, 13 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent reading by Andy Coogan ,from his early years of poverty ,his suffering during captivity as a Prisioners of war ,and finding happiness with Myra ,as well as his achievements as an athlete .I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good with a fair amount of pre-amble, 28 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found myself paging forward through the early part of the book until it reached the actual defence of Singapore as I wasn't really interested in the details of his childhood.

Once it actually reached the subject material it was engrossing enough. The actual title of the book was about being told to dig a grave each day for yourself tomorrow, but this particular torture only lasted two days.

Why the British authorities made the prisoners sign a gagging order is peculiar and the facts deserved to be told. The Japanese should really be paying reparations to all surivivors and relatives every year for what they did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different war book, 16 Jan. 2014
By 
Ryan "R.McC" (Northern Ireland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my Grandad who used to be in the war. He reads quite alot and he likes different stories like this which dont just focus on the basic war facts. He is sucked into this book and loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History we need to know, 12 May 2015
By 
Michael Miller (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One hell of a story, I have a new interest now this book started it, I want to know more about these people, it a story of survival, my heart alive I couldn't put this down, a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fighter during his time as a POW., 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well written book, Andy's early life very interesting. Only a person being in the hands
of the Japanese during WW2 can bring out the true story of the brutality of those camps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book written by an outstanding individual. Although faced with a hard life he never gave up and always tried to help others. In today's world many could learn from Andy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, 2 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting reading. My husband really enjoyed Coogan's description of his experiences of life in the Gorbals followed by the very harrowing story of his Japanese imprisonment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tomorrow You Die
Tomorrow You Die by Andy Coogan (MP3 CD - 1 May 2013)
Used & New from: £117.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews