Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spend a couple of quid...save a fortune!
This simple, easy-to-read book could get you into the habit of saving for life.
Alvin encourages you to keep a diary of not only what you spend money on, but how you felt after; sad, regretful, guilty?
There is also a chapter on dealing with debt, which didn't apply to me, but I realise I may come under the category of 'Cheapskate' in the section on defining...
Published on 28 Mar. 2010 by Sherlock

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic but good
I chose this edition because it was cheaper than subsequent books by Alvin Hall. It's very user friendly and covers ALL the basic elements to help self-analyse why we spend what we do; how to monitor and measure spending habits and how to start making changes. Suitable for teenagers.
Published on 24 Sept. 2010 by TG


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Practical, pragmatic book on money management., 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Knowing Alvin Hall from Your Money or Your Life, I was not disappointed by Money Magic. If fact his recommendation and advice is not magical at all, but practical, workable suggestions. I wished I had this book as a younger person, but i would recommend to those in their teens to help make sense of the concept of money. It's a book well worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A beginners guide, 24 Aug. 2014
It's a short, simple, easy to read book. It won't take long to work through and is suitable for beginners and teenagers. However, it is just about covering the basics; write down what you spend, obvious ways to cut back on spending and different types of savings accounts. There is certainly no profound or life-changing advice in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Common sense, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found the book made a lot of sense and most of the tips are really simple things. I guess that when you are in a lot of debt it is easy to forget these things, so it's probably worth a read if you're a little worried about debt. Especially since it's such a cheap book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money Magic, 7 Jan. 2013
By 
Alwyn Smith "wordsmith" (Stockport, Cheshire. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very useful account of the importance of being in control of finances from as early an age as possible.
Many otherwise 'mature' people have tunnel vision when it comes to money - they see the goal they want at the end of the tunnel, without much idea about how to work towards achieving that goal!
Alvin Hall puts it into clear, simple language, that practically anyone who wants to steer clear of the energy-sapping quagmire of debt, can not only understand but follow....and teach their children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful book, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I personally like alvin hall and his approach to money. I have read this book a few times and it indefinitely makes you think about handling money. I bought two copies to give children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Money Magic, 6 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alvin's advice is practical and easy to follow and the book is an informative and enjoyable read. Would recommend if you want to improve your financial understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading., 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This man knows what he is talking about. Even if you believe you know everything there is to know about your personal finances, you will be in for a surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simple but enjoyable, 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A shortened version of your money or your life, lots of helpful tips and tricks :-)
Would recommend this book to most people I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Useful information presented in an easy going easily understandable style. Gave this book optimistically to a young relative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Money Magic, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was ok i had to purchase it for my Literacy Class, useful points but not a book i would like to add to my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Money Magic
Money Magic by Alvin Hall (Audio CD - 1 Jun. 2010)
Used & New from: £13.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews