Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shame on you....
As a mother of 2 scientist daughters I know how hard it is for girls to be taken seriously in science. Marketing this book at boys exclusively is appalling. Such a shame as this series helped to inspire both my GIRLS.
Published 5 months ago by Mrs G

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
My son loves these books so i was pleased to see an annual but he then told me it was just a repeat of what is in the book so i returned it
Published 6 months ago by cossmo6197


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shame on you...., 17 Jan 2014
This review is from: Horrible Science Annual 2014 (Hardcover)
As a mother of 2 scientist daughters I know how hard it is for girls to be taken seriously in science. Marketing this book at boys exclusively is appalling. Such a shame as this series helped to inspire both my GIRLS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For BOYS? Marie Curie must be turning in her grave., 13 Dec 2013
By 
J. M. Connelly (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Horrible Science Annual 2014 (Hardcover)
Amazon, the news may have bypassed you, but women are intelligent and ambitious people, who have been instrumental in many of the world's most important scientific discoveries. For instance, In 1911 Marie Curie won the Nobel Prize for chemistry. Before this in 1842-1843 Ada Lovlace wrote what is considered by many to be the first computer program.

Without these two women, your home and office might not be heated and you would not be reading this message on your computer.

These are only two examples of how women have helped to change the world. There are many more.

It is a huge insult to all women to assume that girls have either no interest in science, or should not be encouraged to develop one. I think you, Amazon should carefully review the quality and suitability of your copy before publishing.

P.S. I apologise to the author for a negative review. I hope Amazon changes the description before it causes too much harm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horrible Science Annual 2014 (Hardcover)
a very good annual, easy to read, simple for children to understand, very informative, would buy again for a presen t
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gift or a child, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horrible Science Annual 2014 (Hardcover)
Bought this for a friends son who is a fan of Horrible History and likes to experiment with science I am sure he would have liked the book it was of good quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horrible Science Annual 2014 (Hardcover)
My son loves these books so i was pleased to see an annual but he then told me it was just a repeat of what is in the book so i returned it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Looks good!, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Horrible Science Annual 2014 (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift but very pleased with it, looks exciting and plenty to keep the recipient occupied!! Bright colours and variety of subjects!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect gift for BOYS who love all things horrible ????, 5 Dec 2013
This review is from: Horrible Science Annual 2014 (Hardcover)
ERM Amazon.......sort it out. Since when is Science only for BOYS ????

You have made me not want to buy this book for my DAUGHTER now :(

Gender discrimination!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars science is for all, 9 Dec 2013
This review is from: Horrible Science Annual 2014 (Hardcover)
Science is also enjoyed by girls. Totally unacceptable to state that this is for one gender rather than the other. This is a great book for a child, full stop! The rating is not for the book but rather for the description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Say no to gender bias!, 12 Dec 2013
By 
MultiMum (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Horrible Science Annual 2014 (Hardcover)
Any of my 5 children would enjoy this and none of them are boys. I would have enjoyed it as a child and I wasn't a boy either! Wake up Amazon and give this product a 20th century description which doesn't make sexist assumptions. Star rating isn't for product but for Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Horrible Science Annual 2014
Horrible Science Annual 2014 by Nick Arnold (Hardcover - 1 Aug 2013)
6.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews